We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay - exactly what we needed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gables

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bridport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Gables
West Road | West Allington, Bridgport, Bridport DT6 5BH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 54 Bridport B&B and Inns
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great stay - exactly what we needed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

Spent 3 nights here visiting family nearby. Had the best service. Would be happy to recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
16
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

We came to stay for a weekend with friends, and can say nothing but positive comments about the Gables.

The house has beautiful character, with period oak fittings & decor. The owners made us feel welcome as soon as we arrived, without being in anyway obtrusive.

The rooms are beautiful, with no detail missed: comfortable beds, chaise longues, space & tranquility. We especially appreciated the absence of a tv, & the fabulously comfortable lounge.

This is a great b&b to have a relaxing weekend in luxuriously comfortable surroundings that have great character.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steyning
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We spent two nights here with another couple and we had first class service in every respect. The rooms were spacious and full of character. The food was superb and the owners did everything possible to make our stay a memorable and enjoyable experience. We will return!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridport, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

My parents came from Spain to visit me in Bridport and they stayed at The Gables for three nights. Wendy and Donald greeted them warmly and I was invited to have breakfast with them two everyday. The hotel and the room was lovely, clean and warm and we were pleased with the hosts. They treated my parents and me as part of the family and were absolutely kind to us during their stay. They were also very patient with me trying to understand my not very good English. In short, The Gables is a highly recommended hotel for family and friends.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011 via mobile

We stayed in the lodge a self catering cottage in the grounds of gables. It was clean, well equipped, close to town, and very cosy. We were very happy to stay there and would recommend! Thanks don & Wendy

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed 3 nights from 2-5 September.
Very good experience from initial contact through to reluctant departure after three nights.
Genial hosts with valuable local knowledge; wonderful breakfasts made from locally sourced products much in evidence; and very comfortable rooms. All within a marvellous Edwardian property packed with original features and collected furniture and fittings.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the two en-suite rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

The Gables is a lovley place set in a quiet part of Bridport. Wendy and Donald greeted us warmly and showed us to room 2 which has good views to the south accross their well kept gardens. The room was a good size very clean and well equipped. Breakfast was super , all freshly prepared with a nice selection of locally sourced eggs bacon, smoked salmon and home made marmalades and jams.. I would definitley recommend the Gables as a place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables

Address: West Road | West Allington, Bridgport, Bridport DT6 5BH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Bridport
Also Known As:
The Gables Bridport, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gables, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Gables to your Saves list