We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bull Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bridport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bull Hotel
Save
You added The Bull Hotel to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 East Street, Bridport DT6 3LF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Bridport
Devon
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

We have just had a two night stay here booked through Mr and Mrs Smith and whilst not cheap we really enjoyed it. We stayed in room 101 which is at the front of the hotel and was lovely. There was a lovely bath and I love Neals Yard so this was a welcome addition. One comment could hotels put in Conditioner as well as Shampoo as I don't know of many women that don't use it.
We had cocktails in the Venner bar both nights and there was a lovely selection. Try the serendipity it was divine and I Am going to try and make it at home. The food was very good we ate in the restaurant both nights - the mussels weren't quite as good as at the Rising Sun in Lynmouth.
One other tip for the hotel would be to put more than one tea bag in a pot of tea for two.
I would definitely recommend it to friends. The staff were lovely, very friendly and helpful.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    106
    44
    31
    14
See reviews for
66
246
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for work trip with 3 colleagues and we all loved it. The rooms were quirky and characterful. The sheets and towels were quality. The 3 course meal was exemplary and the breakfast could not be faulted either, particularly the bacon which was amazing. Friendly staff and great atmosphere, we'll stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here from Friday through to Sunday. Service was superb at every encounter - we were upgraded at check-in but due to a frozen pipe burst, we needed to move again. All handled very smoothly, free drinks in the bar while our upgraded suite was prepared. Our luggage was also moved. All rooms we saw were individually decorated and furnished, the style was 'shabby chic'. This worked really well with the age of the hotel, and the open fires everywhere. We loved the cosy bar area, especially Sunday morning with the papers. The cocktail bar was a real hidden gem, and the Cocktails were authentic and taken very seriously. We ate an evening meal in the restaurant and it was good fresh food cooked very well. Breakfast was also a great meal, eggs Benedict were perfect. Other real positives were the supremely smooth mattresses and silky smooth bedding. So what is there not to like? Well if you like granite, polished chrome, straight lines and high pressure showers you might want to look elsewhere. If you want a cosy, authentic, town center coaching inn retreat for you and your lover, you'll love this. Don't hesitate.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Just back fro a 2-night stay at the Bull on one of their special breaks. Pizza and pies in the Stables on the first night -tried several of their 27 ciders- and and a 3-course dinner in the restaurant on the second evening - all splendid.
The bedroom decor is well over the top -you must look at the website, words won't convey just how weird they are!
Everyone was very friendly. Just one gripe, about the non-functioning free wifi which was new and suffering teething problems.
Recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

My husband and I have just spent a wonderful night at the Bull Hotel in Bridport. The rooms were beautifully decorated, the beds were amazingly comfortable with gorgeous sheets. The staff were exceptional nice and fun. Nothing was too much to ask. The food was delicious and we were made to feel incredibly at home and welcome. What more can one ask for???? Bliss. Cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Me and my fiancé stayed here late January for his 30th birthday.we stayed in the deluxe room "the Nandi" and I would recommend it to everyone! The room was beautiful and uniquely decorated. The complimentary toiletries were amazing and having a bath in the bedroom is always a bonus! We had dinner in the restaurant and the food was delicious and of great quality and all the staff were friendly and welcoming. The venner bar in the hotel is a lovely cocktail bar. The barman was knowledgable and friendly and didn't mind making a cocktail off the menu for my fiancé. The breakfast that was included was brilliant and all made from local produce which is always nice. Overall would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone and will definitely be returning for a longer stay!!!

Room Tip: Pick the Nandi room if you want a bit of romance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We arrived quite late and were shown to our room 206 ( The Fushia Flock) which was stunning.

The staff are so friendly and willing to help you out wherever possible.

Breakfast was delicious and there is even complimentary prosecco for a breakfast Buck's Fizz !

A meal in the restaurant was a real treat and great value for money, the best chunky chips ever!!! The waitress and host were brilliant!

Cocktails in the secret bar to the back of the ball room were amazing , such a lovely place to relax.

The room with roll top bath was great, and there are doors which open up so you can bathe in private or infant of whoever you are with. I have to say that the bed was probably one of the most comfortable beds that I have ever slept in! The complimentary Neals Yard products were a treat and made he room smell amazing. Only downside (very minute) was that the door to the room blew a bit in the wind or when someone opened another corridor door but didn't really spoil the trip.

We booked this as part of a romantic getaway trip through Mr and Mrs Smith and it was absolutely fantastic. Would definitely visit again.

Room Tip: 206 , The Fushia Flock room is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bull Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull Hotel

Address: 34 East Street, Bridport DT6 3LF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bridport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bull Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Bull Hotel Bridport
The Bull Hotel Bridport, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bull Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.