We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Marquis of Lorne Inn

The Marquis of Lorne Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bridport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Marquis of Lorne Inn
Save
You added The Marquis of Lorne Inn to your Saves list
Nettlecombe, Bridport DT6 3SY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Bridport
poole
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Second visit to this delightful country pub. Both times we have visited there were 13 & 14 of us. The staff were very welcoming, polite, friendly and very very patient..
The service is brilliant, food hot & very well cooked and presented. Lots of choice on the menu and at a very reasonable price.
Highly recommended, We will definatly be visiting again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    27
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
15
75
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheddar
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Ten of us stayed at this lovely village pub (there is no village!!) for three nights at New Year and we had a brilliant time. Steve's cooking was absolutely superb with the food very much of the quality you might expect to find in an expensive restaurant with a very good choice and it all tasted freshly cooked. All the staff were very friendly with Trace dealing with everything in an efficient and easygoing way - nothing was too much trouble and the wine bottles kept coming as required!!

The rooms were spotless and well appointed - I would recommend number one. The food at breakfast was excellent with a great choice and it set us up for the day. Trace arranged a separate room for us to eat one night after which we joined the festive celebrations - great.

For a quiet weekend away or with a group of friends it is a great venue especially if you like good food and wine/draught beer - we certainly tested the cellar capacity!!

Room Tip: Room one is best/largest
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

This is the best place we have ever stayed. It's heaven on earth. The food is Devine and the rooms are very spacious. The people are lovely trace is very welcoming, kind and lovely to talk to with her husband Steve cooking absolutely fantastic food that deserves a Michelin star! Their two daughters Hannah and Jess are always helping out where can and are very mature, intelligent, polite young ladies. There is such a strong family atmosphere and you can see the bond between them all it is lovely. The pub is situated in the best place possible with lovely sights around best thing about it is there is no mobile phone service! Perfect for a weekend away. For certain be returning and bringing all our friends!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Looking for above average meal? This delightful pub offers not just a warm welcome but warm bar and dining rooms even on one of the most miserable days this winter There is a considerable menu of starters two of which sufficed for my lunch. Both were interesting; seared scollops on a bed of mashed potato with a couple of rounds of blackpudding surrounded with a light white and green sauce. The other was soft herring roes with a sauce of red onion and capers. Both were very attractively presented. My wife had a similar experience with crab meat topped with fine sliced apple and pink grapefruit segments .may sound odd but was excellent.Also ate ham and eggs and chips all very well done .Ham had a excellent sweet crust and was not of the wet out of the packet variety. Food of this quality does not come at a bargain rate but very good value for money. Service very friendly and swift

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

If you eat here absolutely nothing - we have just spent two nights in this character full establishment - its a country pub - in a very small village in the middle of nowhere - absolutely perfect for a get away from it break. The whole atmosphere is friendly but very very efficient. The food is really first class - right down to a first class breakfast. The beers are excellent too.
It is in the middle of nowhere down narrow roads - it is a pub with rooms above the bar so there is a bit of noise filtering up until the bar closes at 11 & the building is beautifully old so don't expect a new build perfect interior however the place is spotlessly clean.
Overall a fabulous place to get away from it - we will return without doubt

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This is our 3rd stay with hosts Tracey and Steve and we have had a fab time as usual, this is a beautiful old pub in a very quiet village off the beaten track - you are made welcome the minute you step through the door- the accomodation is clean and comfortable- everything is there you could want plus chocolates and home made cookies as an extra touch. the food at the Marquis is wonderful from the full english breakfasts to the sunday roast dinner- beautifully cooked and presented and ample portions. Thanks again Tracey and steve and yes, we will be back !!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Visited recently whilst on holiday in Dorset.Have been many times before.Palmers tenanted pub with decent ales,wines and spirits.Extremely popular restaurant with fanatastic food based on local ingredients which of course include seafood but also locally sourced meats and veg from their own garden.All staff very helpful and knowledgeable about the area and seaside.Have accomodation which we understand by word of mouth to be very good.Lovely garden with childrens play area and well kept flower beds.Ample parking,clean toilets.Because it is in deepest dorset countryside the lanes are very narrow in places and make sure you allow extra times to get there.They have been assessed recently by"anonymous eaters" without the knowledge of the tenants and have been in the local newspapers for their excellent food and service.They feature in numerous guides but especially as a main entry in the Good Pub Guide.We will continue to visit whenever we are in Dorset.
Well done Tracey and Steve.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Marquis of Lorne Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marquis of Lorne Inn

Address: Nettlecombe, Bridport DT6 3SY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bridport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bridport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
The Marquis Of Lorne Hotel Bridport
Marquis Of Lorne Bridport
The Marquis Of Lorne Inn Bridport, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Marquis of Lorne Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.