We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, friendly staff, nice atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Art Garden Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Art Garden Cafe
Bridport Arts Centre | 9a, South Street, Bridport, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #65 of 106 Restaurants in Bridport
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly staff, nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We saw the billboard outside the Art Centre as we were looking for somewhere to have lunch and thought we would give it a try. What a great choice we made. We went round the side of the building thinking this was the right way in only to find the door locked. Some people preparing an exhibition let us in and directed us to the dining room. The only reason I am not giving an excellent rating is that my sister and our friend made two choices that were no longer available but had not been deleted from the menu. However, two of us had the goat's cheese crostini and the other an omelette and both dishes were superb. The accompanying salads were delicious and contained flowers and some interesting vegetables. The organic squash was very refreshing.The staff were clearly busy, but their smiles never wavered and our meals were served quite quickly despite being made freshly and entirely from scratch. The room is pleasant with interesting pictures and fixtures, and the garden looks nice (it was too cold to dine al fresco). We will be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    6
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Honiton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This is a very pleasant small little cafe hidden away at Bridport Art Centre. The atmosphere is comfortable and the staff friendly. The food is fresh and delicious. This is a great place to lunch or meet up with friends for coffee.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“An accidental find - What a gem!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Homemade cakes and fantastic coffee, what else do you need from an art centre cafe. This little place is off the beaten track but does well in terms of food and service. Prices are reasonable and staff friendly. Oh and they don't just do cake, they seem to do a wide selection of lunches too, unfortunately I just couldn't fit one in!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croyde, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“delicious unusual salad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We found this café by accident and were so glad we did! The meal was really tasty with a salad including some really unusual leaves, apparently sourced very locally (which made it even better!).
We sat out in the courtyard garden which we always prefer on sunny days and were served by very jolly, chatty young ladies.
We will certainly eat there again when we pass through Bridport and would definitely recommend it to friends.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Hidden Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Bridport on a Saturday in August is just bustling.It's a great combination of farmer's market type stalls and people selling just about anything else.They usually have a brass band playing and there is always something on at the Arts Centre.Tucked at the back ever so discretely is the Garden Cafe.They have a lovely little courtyard where you can sit when it is dry or there are tables inside.The food is great,all home made and reasonably priced and if you fancy a teacake they use the renowned Leaker's bakery,yum. You go up to a little hatch to place your order and there is a lovely old fashioned feeling about the place.There are loads of places to eat in Bridport, but we always find ourselves here.It just feels right.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Art Garden Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Art Garden Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Garden Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.