We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointment down the Avenue” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Avenue

Avenue
33 West Street, Bridport DT6 3QW, England
01308 456686
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 106 Restaurants in Bridport
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Description: We serve a delicious menu specialising in contemporary English cuisine. With a good vegetarian menu, we also accommodate special dietary needs, including gluten free. All meals are made to order. Bread is made daily in the Avenue kitchen, and you can enjoy freshly made cakes and scones, with a selection of coffees, teas, soft drinks and milkshakes. We use fish from sustainable sources, and locally sourced seasonal produce from suppliers including: Washingpool Farm Davy's Locker Capreolus Fine Foods R J Balson & Son, Eeuropes oldest family butcher since 1535 Luscombes The Dorset Wine company
Totnes, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Disappointment down the Avenue”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Dropped in here for a coffee, hoping it would be better than the other coffee shops in Bridport and wanting to avoid the chains. Staff friendly enough but there is something “untrained” about them; my guess is that they are Saturday staff, probably from the local school. It’s an old building, nicely redecorated with a modern extension but I am not encouraged by the extra decorative touches: framed pictures of rope (Geddit – Bridport, rope) and hat stands with hats (Geddit – Bridport, hat festival). Its just feels soulless.
Anyway, we ordered a latte and a soya latte. Both too hot and either the machine is set too high or the milk has been scalded. Probably the latter as the rather copious layer of foam is basically “cooked” so that it is like expanded polystyrene. Also any sweetness and any breadth of coffee flavour have gone and only bitterness remains. Why do people do this to what can be a very nice drink?

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    5
    4
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Do you have a steak night because you need the practice??”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Tip!...Don't go on the steak night!! (Thursday)
We were advised not to eat here in the evening but did we listen....
I chose off of the main menu (which got questioned by the waitress?? - the very same waitress that had forgotten to ask me and at least four other tables how they would like their steaks cooked...!)) a more expensive steak 10oz Rib-eye at £18 as opposed to the cheaper ''steak night special' 8oz rump at £10. Under interrogation, I confessed to the waitress that I prefer the better, more tender cut of meat. What I got was the chewiest, fattiest £18 badly cooked waste of an animal part that I struggled to believe came from an actual cow.
The limited but delicious wild mushroom sauce was spoiled by the bowl of tasteless triple cooked but still yellow chips that was sat in it - presentation, presentation, presentation.
My partner wasn't faring much better...the muscles came complete with huge barnacles attached .... did you wash them or was I supposed to do that in the bowl of water served with it!?!

The unpeeled apple and plum speedily assembled barely cooked crumble was completely tasteless. It came as though each ingredient had been cooked separately and them assembled at the last moment with the uncooked un-sugared crumble sprinkled over - with a dollop of clotted cream sat on the top. Now, Clotted cream is for scones, if you apply clotted cream to anything hot, it melts down just like butter and you end up with an inedible yellow oil slick on your plate. I couldn't eat it but rather than send it back I just left it and proceeded to get interrogated by the inexperienced slightly aggressive waitress that really should take a look at the food and go have a chat with the chef before questioning the paying customer about it.

2 courses & 1 glass of wine each = £30per head
You have been warned...

Tip: for a truly fabulous meal pop up the other end of the street to the OLIVE TREE and Steph (proper chef French-Canadian) will cook you the very best melt in the mouth tender rib-eye steak or for the fish lovers - The Spectacular is phenomenal!
3 courses (and a cheeky third desert- Ooo very naughty) & 2 glasses of wine each = £39per head
Bon appetit

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“Great place to eat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This is a new Restaurant opened in Bridport - the food is FAB - beautifully cooked - service is excellent without being too formal. Prices reflect standard so not a cheap night out, but well worth it. We will go again without hesitation - just need to wait for the next special occasion!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A Great Bridport Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

What a great little find The Avenue is.
Fabulous breakfast, great morning coffee and gorgeous lunches, can't wait to try it in the evening.
The staff were so friendly, eager to please and very smiley, such a joy.
A great addition to Bridport.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem In the middle of the town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

What a nice surprise to discover this hidden gem in the middle of the town. On a market day can be a challenge to find a place where to have a nice and relaxing lunch; but if you visit avenue you wont be dissapointed: Fresh local resourced food, plenty of choice to please everyone and I couldnt fault the service, which is refreshing to find in
Bridport; we will be coming back maybe for dinner or some wine tasting.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avenue also viewed

 
Bridport, Dorset
 

Been to Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.