We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“artisan cafe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Red Brick

The Red Brick
St Michaels Trading Estate, Bridport, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 106 Restaurants in Bridport
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
300 reviews 300 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 176 cities Reviews in 176 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“artisan cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We were visiting Dorset Art Week, and down on St Michael's Trading Estate we found the cafe with a mixture of chairs and tables outside. The cafe was busy, and had a lot of young workers behind the counter preparing all sorts of food from soup, main hot dishes, salads, sweets, teas, coffees and cold drinks. Reasonably priced, friendly and prompt service. Seating inside also, and upstairs to a toilet.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    4
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lyme Regis
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“friendly happy chilled out unusual venue with fab food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We have visited a couple of times when able to get to this fab place hidden in a corner of a brilliant vibrant unusual hub of small independant arts, crafts, bric a brac furnishing and many other types of small businesses.
The food here comes from the heart and is well made with an eclectic menu of plenty of choice from vibrant salads, good bacon butties, stews, and curries to cakes and great coffees.The choice is different at every level.
Sometimes local produce is on sale too, we were lucky and got some lovely grapes on ou last visit.
The little jem has a long scrubbed table & benches in one room, with a roaring lovely wood burner and flowers in big jugs on the table and a brightly coloured room with smaller tables and chairs. All very interesting.
The food is yummy and the coffee great.
Only draw back is the loo is up some exciting steep stairs, a little difficult for those with mobility problems..
Fab place, well thought out, with a very exciting menu and brilliant ambience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilminster
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“happy cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I stumbled over the red brick cafe whilst exploring the antiques quarter,i nearly didnt go in but fancied a cuppa! i was surprised at how nice it was inside,shabby chic with all sorts of bits and bobs around, but comfortable and very freindly. I had a great bacon sarnie but wished id had the chilli the guy next to me had it looked fab!,I sat there and absorbed the great community and freindly atmospere and left there feeling very relaxed and very happy!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Kenyan curry night in a home cooked setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We had a delicious chicken curry cooked by a Kenyan lady who was doing 'pop-up' night at the cafe. For £7.50 each you got a lovely plate of food. Kenyan curry is quite fragrant but not dissimilar to Indian. On the table were two types of lime pickle - Patak's and a less commercial one with ginger and lemon - both delicious! You can take your own wine and they only charge a £1 corkage fee per person. My boyfriend had dessert which was lovely - a date and toffee pudding with custard for £2.50.

The meal and atmosphere were a lovely start to our evening.

(You might have to ask a couple of locals for directions as it is at the back of a trading estate called the vintage and art quarter of Bridport)

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Brick also viewed

 

Been to The Red Brick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red Brick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.