We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hello. Goodbye. Nice. But rushed.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Bull Hotel Restaurant

The Bull Hotel Restaurant
34 East Street, Bridport DT6 3LF, England
01308 422878
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 100 restaurants in Bridport
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Hello. Goodbye. Nice. But rushed.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The Bull had long been on a list of places I'd wanted to visit, so it was good to make it. Initially. We've left booking to late so had an early table. But on arrival were told we could actually have the table all night. Bonus. Why then did the starter arrive no sooner had my order been taken, and my main arrive as soon as the starter had been removed. The decor was nice, but dining room overly hot and stuffy. The food was indeed tasty, but the service far too rushed. After waiting so long to go, I won't be rushing back as we felt rushed out the door no sooner had we arrived.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    38
    32
    13
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Excellent meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We ate here on Saturday evening with our two children. We hadn't booked but arrived about 6pm and they happily fitted us in prior to another booking. We really enjoyed all of the food - in particular we both had a superb crab/fish gratin as a starter that was absolutely fantastic. The portion size was also very generous! Service was very friendly and attentive throughout, and our children were made very welcome.

We had a lovely meal, and will definitely return. Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, CA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely dining room in a refurbished hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The dining room is modern and comfortable. The food was well prepared and tasty. Great for a leisurely evening with friends, but even in that setting, we were wondering when our food would arrive.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent bar lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We came here by chance towards the end of lunchtime, and had a light lunch in the bar. The room is not pretentious, but service was good and the food (a very varied salad nicoise with mackerel, and a hefty crab sandwich) excellent. Toilets were exceedingly good. Don't let the unpretentious exterior or the bare boards inside put you off, it's the quality of the food that matters - though it was a bit expensive. They offer a simple hot one-course lunch (no choice) for about £7.50 if price is an issue.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winchester
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not up to expectation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Saturday night and very busy and vibrant. Seated at table in "bar area" which at times was just too noisey. Staff were excellant. Regarding the food the starters were very good so a good start! After the starters it went downhill particularly for two of us who had Linguini with crab, whilst the pasta was ok there was a distinct lack of crab so for £15 was very poor value for money. Would we go again - no.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bull Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Bridport, Dorset
Bridport, Dorset
 

Been to The Bull Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bull Hotel Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.