We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not as good as it should be at these prices” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shave Cross Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Shave Cross Inn to your Saves list
Shave Cross Inn
5.0 of 5 Inn   |   Marshwood, DT6, Bridport dt6 6hw , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 54 Bridport B&B and Inns
Wellingborough
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Good, but not as good as it should be at these prices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The room had a four-poster bed, but was otherwise only average. We had expected more at this price.

We had a four-nights-for-price-of-three deal, but found out when we got there that this required us to eat in the restaurant every night. The first night we did eat in the restaurant, but found it to be a rather drab room with very little character and even fewer customers, even though it was a bank-holiday weekend. After that we were served the restaurant menu in the bar which is a very much nicer place with character and a nice open fire. The food was good, but at nearly £30 for two courses it was overpriced.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    16
    5
    3
    10
See reviews for
16
31
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I was really looking forward to revisiting the Shave Cross Inn after spending many happy liquid lunchtimes walking from Ryall with my Brother before the trudge back home for lunch. Today was a disappointment! I was "greeted" after some time by what appeared to be the female chef in a very off hand way. I asked for a half of Marshwood Ale and a very fine glass was presented with an appetizing colour. I thought London prices were bonkers but to be charged £3.80 for half a pint was rather mind blowing - or am I mistaken? I sat in the garden which was extremely peaceful and just put my grumpiness to one side - it's only money, I thought!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridport, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We went out for Friday lunch and had a lovely meal. The staff were friendly and there was a good range of cider and ales on tap. To eat I chose the "Pint of shell-on Prawns". These were delicious and plentiful. They arrived in a pint glass and there were so many they were 'climbing' over the sides! My husband ordered the crab salad - again extremely tasty.
In general the menu has a wide variety of food - traditional pub food, Caribbean and a specials board as well as a children's menu.
We sat in the garden which has beautiful borders and a wishing well. Around the corner at the end is a play area for children.
The location is the middle of nowhere so you will need to drive down some narrow windy lanes but it will be worth it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The old adage is true: you don't get a second chance to make a first impression. And that is true of our experience. Arriving on a beautiful summer's aftenoon we had been expecting to find a lovely old country inn nestling in the heart of the Dorset countryside. When we turned off the lane into the property we entered a car park in which there was one vehicle advertised for sale in the way you expect on a garage forcourt, a waste area in which various items of broken boilers were stacked and a paddock (I think this must double as the helipad advertised) in which there was more junk. Which is a real shame because behind this there is an attractive thatched country inn with lovely traditional gardens. The acommodation was also excellent. The breakfasts were good, but we chose not to dine at the inn as the menu is heavily carribean influenced (and we are not great lovers of carribean food). Oh, and a small gripe - why put plastic flowers in a room when outside there is such an abundance of the natural variety?

Room Tip: The views will be better from the first floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Late in the day booking to take two of our six year old grandchildren away for a 5 day break and what a find the Inn turned out to be. Set in Rural Dorset and fairly close to the beaches the accommodation was both clean and comfortable which allied to an extremely warm welcome from Mel and Roy assured a very enjoyable stay. The food was as good as we were led to believe including the grandchildren's meals as they can be fussy eaters. They even commandeered our in between course Mango Sorbets although when Mel saw this she quickly 'topped up' our allocation! Outside the garden was somewhere the grandchildren could play safely allowing my wife and I to concentrate on a pre dinner drink and a restful after dinner cup of coffee! Plenty of attractions and places in the area to visit both for ourselves and the youngsters.

Overall, we would have no hesitation in returning for further visits and exploring more of the lovely Dorset countryside which more than stands comparison with both Devon and Cornwall.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We booked a 3 night stay on the spur of the moment after a heavy week at work and we were rewarded with the perfect break. We adored this inn and could not have been made more welcome by the owners, Mel and Roy. Our room was lovely and we slept very well. The restaurant food was interesting and it was fun to try some new dishes, which were all delicious. When we return to Dorset it will be to The Shave Cross Inn.

Room Tip: We were very happy with room 3 which is ground floor with French doors opening onto a pretty seating...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

What more could you want? Luxurious rooms, wonderful hosts, amazing countryside - I don't think Britain has anything better to offer!
Roy and Mel have put their heart and soul into making the Shave Cross Inn a perfect place to stay, and for me it was the best ending I could have had to my long holiday in England.
I think everything has already been said about where to go, and what to see, so I can only add - just try the Shave Cross Inn yourself - you wont be disappointed!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shave Cross Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shave Cross Inn

Address: Marshwood, DT6, Bridport dt6 6hw , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Bridport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shave Cross Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Shave Cross Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shave Cross Hotel Bridport
Shave Cross Inn Bridport, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shave Cross Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.