We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Three Horseshoes Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Three Horseshoes Inn to your Saves list
Three Horseshoes Inn
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Powerstock, Bridport DT63TF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 54 Bridport B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in October. As the other reviews have said, the food is very good. An excellent menu with a good mix of the usual and the not so usual. The Pork belly and the profiteroles stuffed with caramel ice cream were both delicious. Portions are generous and good value for money. From reading other reviews we expected the food would be good, but hadn't realised how nice the accommodation would be. A well furnished, spotlessly clean spacious room, with a beautiful view of the rural rolling hills. The bed was very comfortable. Black out curtains and a peaceful setting led to a good couple of nights sleep. Would highly recommend this pub for a lunch, dinner, overnight stay or long weekend away.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    12
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
11
36
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Longfield Kent
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

If you want to visit Dorset, if you want a comfortable room and amazing food, this is the place to be. Only 15 minutes from Bridport and yet in the middle of nowhere, Karl & Susie make you very welcome, it is so peaceful and the view from the rooms is breathtakingly beautiful. Our room (No. 2) was large, airy, modern, had a comfortable bed and wonderful shower. The food (cooked by Karl) was some of the best I've ever tasted, beautifully cooked and all locally sourced. The chips are to die for, the steak & kidney pie outstanding!!! Dorset is so gorgeous and our days out were fantastic but knowing we were coming home to the 'Shoes' was lovely. We will definitely be returning to Powerstock in the future and we would not think of staying anywhere else. Thanks Susie & Karl - it was a joy.

Room Tip: We stayed in room No. 2. - large, airy, fantastic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed at "The Shoes" recently , Susi and Her Husband were great hosts , the food was so good we ate in every evening of our 3 day stay.

The Village location is excellent for walking and exploring the beautiful countryside and coastal footpaths . We will certainly return

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Good to see a chef who doesn't confuse size of the menu with quality. Unlike some reviewers, we don't consider a shorter menu a bad thing, but a good thing - especially in a smaller establishment. It means it's more likely to be fresh produce, freshly cooked - and this is definitely the case here. I had the scallops with chorizo, my wife had smoked salmon with beetroot, wild mushroom and horseradish sauce with warm soda bread. Both these were perfect. We shared the fantastic chips.

We received a warm welcome, space was found for our dogs - and the homemade fudge with our bill was a real bonus !! We hope to be back for an evening meal before we go home.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helier, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The views from this hostelry are amazing. It truly is in the heart of the countryside. And as the previous reviewers have written, the meals are superb with chips unlike those served anywhere else. It was great that our dog was able to stay too. We suspected that our room was mid-decoration and when finished it should be very nice indeed. The friendly staff are a bonus.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

The Three Horseshoes is an idyllic retreat in deepest West Dorset. It's a hamlet pub with character and stunning scenery. The food is locally sourced and expertly cooked with seasonal options. We had hare casserole and a rather special macaroni and cheese. We were not disappointed. The owners and bar staff are efficient and business like. The rooms in the annexe are beautifully appointed and very clean, spacious and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We have just came back from an amazing and wonderful meal at the three horseshoes. The food was unbelievable. I had the beef, Guinness and oyster pie with Kilpatrick oyster on top served with three times cooked chips. It was heavenly !!! My wife had the sea bass with clams which was wonderful. We shared a Creme Brûlée with coffee ice cream. Including drinks and coffee it was less than £50. The quality of the food was stunning and the staff were friendly and helpful. If I lived near here I would become a regular !!!!! It's a bit off the beaten track but the challenge is well worth it ..anyway that's is what sat navy's are for.i would book at weekends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Three Horseshoes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Horseshoes Inn

Address: Powerstock, Bridport DT63TF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Bridport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Three Horseshoes Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The shoes’ is a Victorian inn tucked away in a peaceful part of West Dorset. Powerstock is a picturesque village centered on a beautiful Norman church. Dogs are more than welcome in our guest rooms and bar. There are three spacious double en-suite guest rooms. Two have superb views looking out over the valley, with the third ideal to make into a family room. Award winning chefs, a great reputation of excellent cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Three Horseshoes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Horseshoes Inn
Three Horseshoes Hotel Bridport
Three Horseshoes Inn Bridport, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Three Horseshoes Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.