We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food - highly recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Three Horseshoes Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bridport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Three Horseshoes Inn
Save
You added Three Horseshoes Inn to your Saves list
Powerstock, Bridport DT63TF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 55 Bridport B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food - highly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We were a party of 6 for Boxing Day lunch. They were able to accomodate us even though we were a very last minute booking. We were given a lovely window table. We had fish and chips and the fish cakes. Fish was cooked to perfection. Fish cakes huge and delicious. Home made tatar sauce was to die for. All absolutely excellent. Would highly recommend a visit if in the area.

Watch out for tomtom's directions. We came from Melton osmond and tomtom's sent us seriously off piste. We ended up on a farm road perched atop a hill. Spectacular views but driving not for the faint hearted.

Room Tip: Watch out for tomtom's directions. We came from Melton osmond and tomtom's sent us seriously...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    15
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
11
40
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We went for lunch on a surprisingly sunny November day. We sat in the sun on the terrace overlooking the very tranquil valley and village. A rare treat to be able to sit out in the winter sun! It was not busy, not surprising as it was mid-week in the winter but for us that was perfect as we were able to kick back and enjoy the terrace to ourselves (there were some guests inside). We had a really great meal. I had calamari with a wicked garlic mayonnaise and sea bream for the main course with twice cooked chips. Totally yummy and didn't need to eat anything else that day! Lovely hostess. Definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umbertide
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We felt the menu could have been slightly greater. My wife's beer battered cod and chips cooked in dripping (as all fish and chips should be!) was good the triple cooked chips slightly over done the home made tartare sauce excellent. I thoroughly enjoyed char grilled mackeral, crab croquettes, braised fennel, little sweet tomatoes, aioli, sea purslane (small amount of the latter!). Beautifully fresh and well cooked. Rhe rhubarb and apple crumble with vanilla custard we shared was exemplary. I had walked in the night before from our holiday cottage and had a superb welcome from a girl who I thought was a reincarnation of Tess of the D'Urbevilles also some of the locals!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreton-in-Marsh, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

After looking at the web I thought we had found a real gem and with a really good star rating ? ,how wrong I was . This year I have travelled the length of Great Britain and ive stayed in about 25 b&bs my budget is around £80 , I've spent £29 on travel lodges and think I've had better value for money , why my gripe ? Well room was clean but very dated , bed was ok , towels poor with frayed edges , taps had to be left running to get any hot water , room was very cold in the morning and the shower was so poor I gave up . The only good bit was the breakfast was ok . Would I stop here again NO

Room Tip: Don't stop in room 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We were delighted to find this small, remote, dog friendly inn, and would not hesitate to visit again. We were made very welcome from the moment we said 'hello' and charmed by Susi who keeps an excellent front of house; meanwhile her partner cooks superbly - while the menu was relatively limited, this allowed him to produce excellent food with some very interesting twists, certainly not your typical pub grub.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTH WALES
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We visited the Three Horseshoes on a number of times whilst staying in a nearby cottage, we found the food excellent and the staff were very polite and helpful. the beer garden has lovely views over the surrounding countryside, we would certainly visit this pub again if we visit Dorset again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

What a great find a few miles from Bridport, even though the lanes are very narrow The Three Horseshoes Inn, Powerstock more than met our needs, set in great countryside with opportunity to explore and walk locally. Our room, the annexe of the Inn was excellently furnished to a very high spec. with a beautiful view. We had a very warm welcome and the staff were very friendly throughout our visit. Breakfast was more than sufficient and dinner in the evening (x2) was first rate, quality again 5 star for room and food. Would not hesitate to return to repeat the experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Three Horseshoes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Horseshoes Inn

Address: Powerstock, Bridport DT63TF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Bridport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The shoes’ is a Victorian inn tucked away in a peaceful part of West Dorset. Powerstock is a picturesque village centered on a beautiful Norman church. Dogs are more than welcome in our guest rooms and bar. There are three spacious double en-suite guest rooms. Two have superb views looking out over the valley, with the third ideal to make into a family room. Award winning chefs, a great reputation of excellent cuisine. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
3 Horseshoes Inn
Three Horseshoes Hotel Bridport
Three Horseshoes Inn Bridport, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Three Horseshoes Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.