We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect pub in perfect countryside” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Three Horseshoes Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bridport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Three Horseshoes Inn
Save
You added Three Horseshoes Inn to your Saves list
Powerstock, Bridport DT63TF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 55 Bridport B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Perfect pub in perfect countryside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We have stayed at this beautifully located pub about 5 times over the past 8 years or so, and seen three different sets of landlords over that time. This is by far the best incarnation so far - Suzy provides the warmest welcome with good natured enthusiasm, she clearly really enjoys her work and genuinely cares that her guests are happy. Her tolerance of our very drunken gushing over the wonderfulness of the pub was quite remarkable! The upstairs room was spacious and very relaxing, with a fantastic bathroom and lovely toiletries provided. We have also stayed in the downstairs rooms which both have stunning views over the beautiful Dorset countryside. Karl's food is absolutely superb - he is a very talented chef indeed, we just hope he doesn't move on anywhere else too soon. Fish in particular is excellent, also the partridge with home made, perfectly seasoned bread sauce and fantastic creamed cabbage with bacon and cobnuts was probably the best game I have ever eaten - and I eat loads of it! The pudding of burnt cream with rhubarb icecream and shortbread was the stuff of dreams. The pub is also perfectly located in a quiet picture book vilage, complete with chiming church clock, rose festooned cottages and rolling hills. We saw a herd of deer on nearby Powerstock common, a true wilderness that we loved even in the horizontal rain that assailed us. Unfortunately the weather was appalling so we couldn't sit on the terrace and look down on the hillside this time, but hopefully next time. Cant wait to return!

Room Tip: Upstairs room is spacious and soothing, downstairs rooms more modern but fantastic views over the co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    15
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
11
39
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Ruth and I cycled from Shaftesbury on the quiet roads to the Three Horse Shoes on 13th August - hilly, tiring and beautiful. The view of Powerstock from above heightens your expectations and finally we arrived at about 4pm. The pub was closed but that was not a problem. Suzy showed us to a lovely airy room which was spotlessly clean and comfortable. The pub opens on a Saturday at 6.30 and very soon it was buzzing with visitors and locals. Great atmosphere. The outside terrace is lovely with views across the valley and the village. As you can imagine we were starving and the food was great. Interesting without being poncy. Really well cooked and well priced. Great beer and a sensible wine list. After a sound sleep we had an excellent breakfast - the sausages were exceptional! Suzy and Karl are exemplary hosts and made us very welcome as they clearly did with all their guests. Sitting at home with slightly sore bits and pieces after our cycle back we are planning our next trip back to the Three Horse Shoes. Reading this back I realise that this review is plump with superlatives and I wouldn’t change a word!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Stayed for the night with friends while walking the Wessex Ridgeway from North Dorset. The welcome could not have been more friendly, with excellent food in the evening from the interesting menu. Very good packed lunch provided for the next day's walk. The downstairs rooms looked over the green valley and village, and the evening sun was flooding in and bliss to bask in after walking all day. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We are a retired couple with a boxer dog. We all stayed here for 2 weeks and had a
wonderful holiday.Our garden room was large comfortable and very clean.It has
pleasant views over the Dorset countryside. Karls food isexcellant and Suzy and all
the staff are extremely pleasant and very helpful. Our dog was made most welcome
as were his aged slaves. We will return.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

This is a wonderful place - charming hosts, lovely room, gourmet food. Highly recommended.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

We visited Bridport as we were unfortunately attending a family funeral. Two other members of my family had already booked into the Three Horseshoes so we decided to book the same place. I was a little concerned after reading some of the reviews on here but I did note that a number of people had said things had improved under the new tennants.

Well what can I say, it was perfect for our needs. We had some fun getting there as the roads are quite narrow and windy but that's obviously a very minor issue indeed. Once we arrived we were shown to our rooms which had a stunning view. The great thing for us was that the two rooms were enclosed in an annex. This meant we were able to lock the front door and leave our bedroom doors open for our 22 month old daughter to run between the two rooms. She loved it.

We spent the whole evening in the pub and had a great meal. Our daughter was made very welcome and she had a good sleep in her pushchair whilst we had a bite to eat. The owners were happy to heat her food when she woke up and basically did everything we could have asked of them.

Breakfast in the morning was spot on, they owners asked us what time we wanted breakfast and were polite and pleasant when we got there.

I would recommend the three horseshoes to anybody. Really good stay and great food for the same price as a travel lodge, perfect.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

Had a very enjoyable one night stay at this pub . The owners were very welcoming on arrival. The large room was clean with lovely peaceful views over the valley - we woke up to the sound of birdsong.

The food in the pub was quite imaginative and very good quality using locally sourced ingredents where possible.

The food and accomodation were very good value - I would definitely not hesitate to stay again or recommend.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Three Horseshoes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Horseshoes Inn

Address: Powerstock, Bridport DT63TF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Bridport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The shoes’ is a Victorian inn tucked away in a peaceful part of West Dorset. Powerstock is a picturesque village centered on a beautiful Norman church. Dogs are more than welcome in our guest rooms and bar. There are three spacious double en-suite guest rooms. Two have superb views looking out over the valley, with the third ideal to make into a family room. Award winning chefs, a great reputation of excellent cuisine. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
3 Horseshoes Inn
Three Horseshoes Hotel Bridport
Three Horseshoes Inn Bridport, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Three Horseshoes Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.