We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mapperton gardens cafe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mapperton Gardens

Mapperton Gardens
Beaminster DT8 3NR, England
01308 862645
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Attractions in Beaminster
Type: Historic Sites, Gardens, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This Elizabethan house has a marvelous valley garden.
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Mapperton gardens cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

The cafe at Mapperton Gardens is very basic seating wise, but the food is amazing. The staff are always helpful and friendly, the coffee is refreshing and the BLT is to die for!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    12
    5
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Gardens you should visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

These are beautiful Gardens, tucked away slightly, off the beaten track, but very well kept and definitely worth a visit. There is a small shop and light refreshments available

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Lovely Gardens, shame about the filming!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This is a lovely garden surrounding a stunning manor house which is not open to the public. for those used to the manicured gardens of NT properties is is a little untidy and "normal" but there is something appealing about that. Lovely topiary and water features. The experience was somewhat marred by the filming of "Far from the Madding Crowd" with a Hollywood film crew. Although this was interesting to see how they had made the set and the house "authentic" for the period and I now understand why films cost so much to make ( loads of crew & hangers on) We were kept waiting in the cold and in total silence by officious film people while the "stars" walked about in costume covered with duvet coats - apparently thinking about how they were going to act the scene. This combined with the fact that the tea room closes on the 30th September rather marred our visit! Suggest waiting until the filming has finished and taking a flask of coffee!

Garden would be difficult to visit for those with access issues.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leighton buzzard
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
103 attraction reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“lovely gardens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

These gardens are a little bit off the beaten track but well signposted so not hard to find and well worth the effort. The house is sometimes open and we hope to return again to visit this for a guided tour.
There was some filming going on when we visited and I am not surprised as the location is lovely and the house and gardens very picturesque.
Normally there is a café open Apr- Sept but this was closed as we visited in October. We knew this in advance so had a flask of coffee with us.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berks
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“lovely grounds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

not bad to while away a couple of hours but there were filming far from the madding crowd,bit expensive for what it is but worth a visit

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mapperton Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Mapperton Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mapperton Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.