We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and lovely hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bridge House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Bridge House Hotel to your Saves list
Bridge House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Prout Bridge, Beaminster DT83AY, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Spring Break
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beaminster
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great food and lovely hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Stayed on a travel zoo offer so exceptional value, but would happily pay full price for the food which was excellent. Very good balance of meat and veg but still looked great on the plate. My guest for the evening was vegetarian and they produced great food for her as well. We stayed in room 5 which was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BridgeHouseHotel, Owner at Bridge House Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your 5 star review. Great to hear we satisfied your vegetarian guest. I very much hope we can tempt you back another time as our Travelzoo offers are limited.
Mark Donovan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    66
    30
    5
    1
See reviews for
56
213
Solo
0
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hook, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We stayed mid-week for one night. The room was spacious, very comfortable and spotless. We had booked for the 5 course taster menu. The food was excellent as was the service.
We were offered tea / coffee and home made biscuits on arrival and we were also offered canapés and Prosecco in the lounge bar prior to having dinner.
Everything about or stay achieved our expectations.
Well done to all staff members. Thank you.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5 which was spacious and very comfortable but it did not overlook the garden which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BridgeHouseHotel, Owner at Bridge House Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Guest,
Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and that we met all your expectations. Our staff appreciate your comments too. Thank you and we hope to welcome you again.
Mark Donovan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

Nice bedroom, friendly staff, great ambiance in lounge for tea/pre-dinner drinks. True that tasting menu not quite up to London standards, but at under half price we enjoyed it just as much on a pound for pound basis. You pay for what you get, and we thought our one night package represented excellent value. We'd do it again without hesitation. (Excellent walks from hotel in countryside around)

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed for a night on Sunday 23rd March, upgraded to a deluxe room which was large, wonderfully furnished, garden view, and immaculately clean. Coffee and biscuits on arrival and free wifi. It's a truly cosy hotel, tastefully furnished. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Dinner was superb, a delicious seven course tasting menu. Wine was reasonably priced, service excellent and the whole evening relaxing. There was a wide choice for breakfast. We'll go back one day.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for room 7, garden view, roll top bath, queen bed, perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stayed for one night in the coach house?. The room was small but immaculate, very clean, beautifully furnished and a very comfortable bed, the bathroom again compact but really nicely done. Car parking could be a bit tight. Dinner was excellent and although the staff were very pleasant I have never had to chase a wine list before.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

My Wife and I stayed there with my Brother & Sister-in-law using a voucher to celebrate my birthday. We were upgraded and had tea & biscuits on arrival. We had a rest period before going down for a 3 course dinner which was absolutely delightful, full of flavours and beautifully presented. After coffee and a night cap we all retired to our respective rooms highly satisfied. The large 4 poster bed was very comfortable and if you like things that go bump in the night, have room 3! There's an old Priest Hole. Breakfast in the orangery was also an absolute delight and the Dorset Snails were a triumph. Don't be shy next time - they are delicious!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Amazing stay and the food was second to none.

The room was clean and comfortable and we both had an excellent nights sleep. We both felt immediately at home when we were greeted and for the remainder of our stay. Service was impeccable and not too formal - just how we like it. Please don't over fuss me but notice me when necessary - all boxes ticked on this one.

But the icing on this fabulous cake was the food. I could taste every ingredient that was listed and I enjoyed every mouthful I took. A Travelzoo deal that was a bargain amongst bargains.

The breakfast was a triumph too - the porridge was rich and creamy, the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs was perfection.

I have read some of the previous negative comments and cant believe they stayed or ate in the same place.

Signing off one happy bunny - keep up the good work and I will hopefully return very soon

Room Tip: If you are coming from London or Essex - pop into the Mulberry factory on the way home its in Shepto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bridge House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridge House Hotel

Address: 3 Prout Bridge, Beaminster DT83AY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Beaminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beaminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bridge House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dorset Hotel of the Year 2013/14. Stunning 13th Century former priests' house within pretty town - Beaminster. Thirteen luxury bedrooms all with Italian linen, Molton Brown & flat screen tvs. Taste of the West Gold award winner & 2 AA Rosettes. Al fresco dining in summer overlooking a pretty, walled garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Bridge House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridge Hotel Beaminster
Bridge House Hotel Beaminster, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bridge House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.