We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quigley Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beaminster
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Quigley Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Quigley Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2 Whitcombe Road | Dorset, Beaminster DT8 3NB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Beaminster B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We stayed last weekend with Julie and David and they thoroughly exceeded all our expectations from a B &B. Lovely clean fresh rooms, comfortable beds, piping hot showers and all with a lovely welcome. Julie even fixed my hair for a wedding! Delicious breakfast at our timing .. all so amenable and friendly. Thank you so much and we'll be back soon I hope.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
31
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We opted to stay here because of the proximity to The Wild Garlic but it was more than a place to stay. Julie and David were welcoming and friendly. Tea and cake on arrival was a lovely touch. We had the front bedroom with a great view of the garden and village. Room was good size, very clean, and comfortable and the bathroom was a good size with plenty of elbow room in the shower! Bed was comfortable and we both had good nights sleep. Breakfast was freshly cooked to our order, and there was plenty of it. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoolsEngland, Owner at Quigley Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you very much for the wonderful review, hope to see you again, Julie (:-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Very friendly welcoming hosts, tea and homemade cake on arrival :0). Fresh clean, comfortable room with fantastic views. Thank you Julie and David .

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoolsEngland, Owner at Quigley Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you so much, yes, we are very lucky, views in every direction of the country, but minutes from Beaminster Square with Wild Garlic restaurant. Julie (:-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We were searching for somewhere to stay having booked in to the Wild Garlic and were fortunate in finding Quigley's. Our room was sumptuous. On our arrival, afternoon tea and cake were both superb and very welcome.

We had been encouraged to make full use of the lounge. However, based on previous experiences of B&B accommodation, we retired to our room and remained there until we were due to leave for the restaurant. Imagine our dismay when we realised that a fire had been lit in the lounge for us and wine and sherry had been set out for our consumption. This one disappointment was our learning curve and the next time we stay, we will make full use of the lounge.

Breakfast was good traditional fare, with locally sourced ingredients and home made bread and jams.

Room Tip: two rooms our fellow guests said that they had enjoyed their stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Pleasant, clean, cosy, modern B&B which felt like we were staying with friends or family! Presented with good wine and tasty homemade cake on arrival as we sat around the fire warming up. Would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoolsEngland, Owner at Quigley Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
We love to serve guests tea and cake by the fire, and share the days sightseeing stories and make new friends, thank you both (:-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

All you would expect from a real English B&B with charm and warmth. Professional hostsn with big,big rooms.
Thank you Julie and David

ps
Breakfast? just Wow!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hindhead
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

We received a very warm welcome from Julie & David ,a log fire was waiting for us in the guest lounge and we were given a cup of tea with home made cake ,very enjoyable and a wonderful start to our break.Our room was spacious and comfortable with a very good power shower and a quality mattress on the bed.We enjoyed a quality breakfast with local produce and lovely country views.We couldn't have asked more from our hosts.We definitely want to come back soon.Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoolsEngland, Owner at Quigley Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, December 3, 2011
Great meeting you both and really pleased you enjoyed your stay. It's a pleasure sharing our 'new' home with guests, especially the fire. THANK YOU so much for the kind review. Everybody seems to love our little thriving town! Look forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards Julie & David (:-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quigley Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quigley Bed & Breakfast

Address: 2 Whitcombe Road | Dorset, Beaminster DT8 3NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Beaminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Beaminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Quigley Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A detached elevated stone property set back from the road with great views, ground floor en-suite bedrooms, Visit England 4 stars, Silver Award & Breakfast Award. All rooms have wonderful beds and linen.Hot drink facilities, fantastic power showers, all modern conveniences and free wifi. Fabulous breakfasts with views over the hills..Julie & David serve afternoon tea by the open fire and breakfast in the Guest Lounge has comfortable sofas to read and relax. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Quigley Bed & Breakfast Beaminster, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quigley Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.