We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little gem of a Tea room.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old School House Tea Rooms & Tea Garden

The Old School House Tea Rooms & Tea Garden
1 Back Street, Abbotsbury, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 6 Restaurants in Abbotsbury
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Bucks, uk
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely little gem of a Tea room.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We walked to Abbotsbury from Chickerell and were dying for a cup of tea and cake. We had a huge portion of the best homemade Dorset apple cake we have tasted with ice cream, and a pot of tea. Great pretty little courtyard garden and very friendly staff, we wouldn't hesitate to return on our next visit to Abbotsbury.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    18
    3
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Lovely English Tea Room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We love Abbotsbury. The climb up to St. Catherine's Chapel gives you some stunning views of this lovely area of the Dorset coast.

We had two meals at the The Old School House during our recent family holiday in Sydling St. Nicholas. We had a delicious freshly cooked Sunday lunch inside the tea room. It had a busy but relaxed atmosphere. The service was warm and friendly. Then we returned one warm and sunny lunchtime and sat in the terraced garden at the back to enjoy some very good sandwiches and home made cake. It really is a lovely spot to enjoy lunch outside. The School House Tea Room was the former home of the headteacher and the nearby parish hall was the actual school. Those were the days when the headteacher or 'master' lived next door to 'the job'.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axminster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Charming, welcoming, good food - but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We ate outside in the tranquil garden with ample shade on a lovely sunny day. The staff were very friendly, polite and attentive. We each had a sandwich platter, consisting of a sandwich, small side salad and served with crisps. Very tasty and fresh, the portions were adequate, but with a coke and a pot of tea bringing the cost to just under £15, rather expensive. There is no loo, so you're directed to the public toilets a short distance away.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Charming Tea Room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

My husband had the Sunday Roast Special consisting of a generous plate of sliced pork with gravy, stuffing, cabbage, apple sauce and carrots for 7.95 GBP. I had the same plus dessert for 10.95 GBP. My husband also had a shandy. We shared my slice of coffee walnut cake which was very good. All the ingredients were fresh. Service was a bit slow, but very friendly. The atmosphere homey.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Average scones in quaint garden”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Quaint, if small, seating area in garden with umbrellas for shade. Service was fine. However, the scones were just average and tasted like the cheaper ones from supermarkets. We had 3 drinks and 4 cream scones between us which cost a total of £14.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old School House Tea Rooms & Tea Garden also viewed

 

Been to The Old School House Tea Rooms & Tea Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old School House Tea Rooms & Tea Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.