We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abbotsbury Subtropical Gardens

Abbotsbury Subtropical Gardens
Bullers Way, Abbotsbury DT3 4LA, England
+44 1305 871387
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 attractions in Abbotsbury
Type: Gardens
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Voted the Historic Houses Association /Christie's Garden of the Year 2012. Acclaimed by Alan Titchmarsh as "one of the finest Gardens I have ever visited." Regularly featured on TV, most recently for a BBC Gardeners' World feature on camellias, with the excellent Carol Klein and expert Jennifer Trehane, and in James Wong's outstanding episode of the BBC's Great British Garden Revival series, on tropical gardens. Established in 1765.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Lovely place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Visited as part of all inclusive ticket for swannery and farm and enjoyed the peace and history of the place. Good on site restaurant. Will return in the summer.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    66
    27
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
england
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Ok but expensive especially at this time of year”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We visited during an October afternoon and were disappointed to find that they still charge full price despite there being less to see at this time of the year. the restaurant is very nice, though quite expensive (£3.25 for a latte) and food is of reasonable quality. The gardens were being prepared for an evening of illumination and we could have returned during the evening for no extra charge, though as the plants were well beyond their best we declined this offer.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Lovely time at Abbotsbury Gardens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Just returned from a lovely walk around the gardens, so special with the lights and fires around the plants and trees, quite spookey corners in certain areas with it being Halloween. Great that dogs can join you on the walk on a lead of course, lovely shop with items for Christmas and many plants available to purchase, cream teas were good in the cafe, will return here in the spring where I am sure I will see a different garden, great for the kids too.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, Hampshire
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Very pleasant afternoon's visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

If there were a "Good" rating, then I'd have used that. My wife and I spent a very pleasant afternoon here. She is a very keen gardener and specialises in exotics and tropicals, so felt right at home. Nice tea room and lovely staff.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Samey and pricey”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Thought the gardens were way over priced, thought everything looked the same, will not be returning.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abbotsbury Subtropical Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Abbotsbury Subtropical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbotsbury Subtropical Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Abbotsbury Subtropical Gardens to your Saves list