We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit oversold, but very good nonetheless.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Woolacombe Bay Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Woolacombe Bay Hotel to your Saves list
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   South Street, Woolacombe EX34 7BN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Woolacombe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Bit oversold, but very good nonetheless.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I came on business. This hotel was sold heavily to me as being "wonderful". Certainly charming. Lots of quirky features although you can get lost very easily. Location stunning. Gardens amazing. Service good although I did have to explain I needed gluten free food, even though I had been assured it was all taken care of. Spa facilities OK. Nowhere near as good as some of the ones I have experienced.
I ate in both the Brasserie and the main restaraunt. Advice is to stick to the main restaraunt.
Probably be back, but on business not leisure.

Room Tip: Eat in the main restaraunt. Don't bother with the Brasserie.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoolacombeBayHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Woolacombe Bay Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review. We are very pleased that you will be back on business, and perhaps the next time you are here you would like to try a treatment in our Haven Spa - whilst the spa is not huge we often have great feedback on the quality of the treatments our highly experienced therapists provide. We hope that you were happy with the gluten free offerings and are sorry that you had to remind us of this when you were here. We always ensure that these important details are noted on our guest profiles and therefore you should not have this problem again. We will look forward to welcoming you again at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    138
    59
    29
    11
See reviews for
164
164
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed in the hotel's self catering apartments ( Woolacombe Court Apartments -very good) for a holiday week arranged around a family wedding in the hotel itself. We ate the first night in the Brasserie courtyard and enjoyed the very best smoked haddock tartlet starter I've ever eaten. I also enjoyed the excellent Spa facilities with its lovely swimming pool, jacuzzi ( the best! ) and sauna plus a very relaxing aromatherapy massage from the highly competent resident Canadian Devonian therapist. The weather was characteristically British ( mist, wind and sunny periods) and the beach superb if you wore a wetsuit or a warm jacket with your bare feet. Lovely place. great wedding venue. Great food.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoolacombeBayHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Woolacombe Bay Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review of our self catering apartments, Bay Brasserie and Haven Spa - we are very pleased that you enjoyed the wedding you attended and that you also had the opportunity to have a relaxing stay whilst you were here. We have passed on your kind comments to our Canadian/Devonian therapist (Claire!) and will very much look forward to seeing you again soon at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed at the Woolacombe Bay Hotel for 3 nights and the hotel room was clean, pleasant and warm. The hotel food is pretty good and drinks not too expensive. We would recommend eating in their Doyles Restaurant on the first floor of the hotel rather than in the brasserie on the ground floor although the menu's are the same the ambiance is much better upstairs!
Breakfast is buffet style and very good quality although we did find the food a little on the cold side.
The problem with this hotel is that it is not in a very nice town as we found Woolacombe more akin to a surfers paradise and not to those wanting quality shops, bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoolacombeBayHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Woolacombe Bay Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Bus Pass Holders, firstly thank you for taking the time to review our hotel - we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay, but sad that you were disappointed by our little village. Our blue flag beach has been voted the third best in Europe - the village is very clean and well looked after, and there are some fantastic local pubs both here and a few miles up the road in Mortehoe. It is very much a surfing village due to the fantastic beach we have, and there are some wonderful restaurants tucked away that we are only too happy to recommend to our guests - it is a shame you didn't find them when you were here. If you return please be sure to ask us and we will point you in the right direction. We will look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed here in August for a family holiday with my parents. The facilities are really good, the outdoor pool which I think is fairly new is really lovely and a bit of a sun trap. The indoor pool, sauna, steam room and spa were all immaculate and very relaxing.

There is a golf course in front of the building which my children loved. We surfed every day and there is surf board storage available for a small deposit.

The gardens are immaculate.

Our room was nice but lacking on storage space, no drawers whatsoever in the childrens room which meant we had to use the window sills to stack all their clothes up which was always a mess and not very relaxing. There was a disused door in their room which could easily have taken a chest of drawers in front of it. On the plus side we had a very spacious bathroom which we hung our wetsuits to dry every night without them getting in the way.

The brasserie is really good for an evening meal. We ate once in the main restaurant (Doyles) but found it to be very stuffy and we did not go back. The food was good though.

The best part was breakfast which was a delight every day. They do homemade pancakes which the children loved.

Would definitely recommend eating at The Boardwalk which overlooks Woolacombe Bay. The mussels were to die for!

Tip: Take lots of coat hangers!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely stay here last week with our 15 month old. Huge spacious rooms, proper cots for the little ones and the baby listening service is such a brilliant idea. Fantastic food and location. This hotel is a credit to the hardworking staff. The porters still smiled even after helping my husband with our luggage in the pouring rain and gale force wind.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flims, Switzerland
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
146 hotel reviews
Reviews in 130 cities Reviews in 130 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is a good hotel for happy holidays. An old lady well restored with modern facilities and at a perfect location. The staff is friendly and very young. They do their job well and professional. The hotel fits good for families and also for us, as a couple. We stayed in room nr. 302 which is in the little tower with a awsome view. The room is in good shape. It's more on the ordinary side than luxury. No wooden floors, only carpet. Breakfast is good. Dinning room is very impressing. Parking in front of the hotel is easy and free. The price is right. We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

It was last min booking but we were not disappointed, this hotel has cust service at it's core and reinvests in the whole hotel. Nothing was too much trouble and we had a lovely break, the brasserie where we ate often was very tasty even for teenagers. Having everything included really made the break, pitch and putt, lido all spot on.

Room Tip: Up high to avoid the patter of feet:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Woolacombe Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woolacombe Bay Hotel

Address: South Street, Woolacombe EX34 7BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Woolacombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Woolacombe Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Much of the Hotel has been lovingly restored from the mid 1800's, creating it's unique and tranquil atmosphere. High ceilings, chandeliers and comfortable, quiet lounges are a testament to that era, and where first class modern amenities are required, they have been skilfully incorporated into the existing Woolacombe accommodation. We place high value on our staff. Trained to be attentive yet unobtrusive and to provide the kind of personal service that is so often hard to find. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Woolacombe Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woolacombe Bay Hotel
Bay Woolacombe
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Woolacombe Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.