We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vintage charm overlooking rolling green lawn to beach.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Woolacombe Bay Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Woolacombe Bay Hotel to your Saves list
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   South Street, Woolacombe EX34 7BN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Woolacombe
San Francisco, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Vintage charm overlooking rolling green lawn to beach.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

First time in UK, wanted to see the coast life for a couple of days. Great old school style resort. The victorian building overlooking huge golf course style lawn was classic England.
Beach is fantastic, very clean and massive . Surfing and wetsuits available at beach. We had a family room suite, very funky but lots of space. I would try to get view rooms if possible. Kids loved the indoor pool. ( Nice outdoor pool but too cold outside) Doyle's restaurant is strict on dress code for dinner but casual and great for breakfast. The brassiere bar was excellent for eating lunch or dinner . Day trips check out Lynne and Lyneford and Clovelly if you have time .

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    131
    57
    27
    11
See reviews for
156
147
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

When we arrived the the Woolacombe Hotel, it gave a great first impression! The tudor facade was very handsome. The enormous lawn was very well manicured. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful. Our apartment room was good quality, and was comfortable, but was poorly designed and was sparse. The bathrooms were very nice, and the rooms were very clean. The room did not have a good view. The food was excellent! The indoor and outdoor heated pool were very nice. The huge beach was fantastic! The beach is a must see if you are in Devon. The hotel is nice and the service is good.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tormarton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

From the moment that we arrived in Woolacombe for the first time in our lives, we could see the amazing building from above the hill descending into the town. The setting and situation of the building was magic and the facilities were very good but the quality of the staff's interaction with us was second to none and made it the major reason why we would come back here. In a day and age where service and attention to those personal details is removed as a cost saving exercise by other companies, we found the two days a refreshing reminder of what it feels like to be totally relaxed and catered for. For examples, the gentleman serving in Doyles at breakfast that not only gave us details on the area and the neighbouring 'seashell beach' but also followed up the following morning on how we found things. Also thanks to the Brasserie staff for causing me admit to my wife that theirs was the best piece of Sirloin - so much so that I repeated the meal the following night.

Many thanks to all of you. Looking forward to trying Doyles at some stage (we will bring something other than Jeans for evening wear for that as it looks nice)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoolacombeBayHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Woolacombe Bay Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review of your recent visit with us. I will certianly pass your kind comments about the hotel, stunning location, excellent food in the Bay Brasserie & service onto all the team who will be very pleased. We're very glad you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you and you both back to the Woolacombe Bay Hotel very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

the appartments were fine, clean and well appointed the hotel facilities were great, outside pool was spectacular and inside the hot tub and sauna was truely relaxing. Helpful and friendly staff. No wifi in appartments and poor connection in the hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
london
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Just returned from a half-term stay in the self-catering flats. Stayed in a 2 bedroom, sleeps 6 (1 twin, 1 double w/ bunk bed). Great location and added bonus of being able to use hotel facilities - swimming pool, kids clubs/activities, play area etc, whilst using self-catering. Flat clean and fine for 5 of us. Parking sometimes a bit of a problem, but you can always park at the hotel and walk 5 mins up the road if no spaces outside flats; overall - location great (10/15 min walk to beach/ 5 min to shops) and clean accommodation, with towels/linen provided. The Bay Brasserie restaurant is good - friendly staff, great lunches/cream teas; expensive for kids meals tho - but decent, local food; looking forward to staying next year!

Room Tip: Ground floor flats easily accessible with parking outside; Some upstairs flats have sea views;
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We have just returned from a stay at The Woolacombe Bay Hotel and had the most amazing time! Everything about this hotel is wonderful; it's location is superb, it is beautifully decorated and furnished, all the staff are friendly, polite and welcoming and the facilities are marvellous.
We transferred to this hotel on the last night of our stay, having had a very bad experience at another hotel in the area. I'm glad to say that our experience at this hotel created good memories of what was a very special break for us. Sharon and the rest of the team on reception couldn't have been more friendly, helpful and welcoming; whatever you are doing to train your staff in customer service skills, keep doing it because they are brilliant!
We chose to eat in Doyle's restaurant whilst we were at the hotel and were very impressed with the food. Not only was it beautifully presented, it tasted delicious and the waiting staff were extremely efficient in their duties. The wine list was excellent, with lots to choose from and we thoroughly enjoyed the champagne and wine that we chose. We really feel that the meal and wine was excellent value for money.
The location of the hotel is superb; only a short walk to the beach and a short drive away from lovely restaurants and pubs in surrounding villages if what Woolacombe itself has to offer doesn't take your fancy.
We will definitely be returning to The Woolacombe Bay Hotel and thank you all very much for making our stay with you so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea-view room; it is well worth the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoolacombeBayHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Woolacombe Bay Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review of your recent visit with us. I will pass your kind comments about the hotel, stunning location, excellent food in the Doyle's & service onto Sharon and the team who will be very pleased. We look forward to welcoming you and you both back to the Woolacombe Bay Hotel very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

There is nothing intrinsically wrong here, the staff are OK, the rooms are OK, the food is OK.
It's OK. But for the price one is being charged I would expect more than OK; the experience should be like the view, outstanding, but it's not.
It's almost like they are going through the motions of providing 5 star service and achieving 3 due to lack of motivation. It's a shame as with a little more focus on customer service and experience this could be a great hotel.
The kitchens close at 9pm, which is more like England in the 60's. These days it's usual to find kitchens open to 10pm at least.
On a positive note, the new pool area is fabulous, very contemporary, private, good for families.
Wish I could give a rating of 5, but in my opinion it currently only deserves a 3.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Woolacombe Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woolacombe Bay Hotel

Address: South Street, Woolacombe EX34 7BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Woolacombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Woolacombe Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Much of the Hotel has been lovingly restored from the mid 1800's, creating it's unique and tranquil atmosphere. High ceilings, chandeliers and comfortable, quiet lounges are a testament to that era, and where first class modern amenities are required, they have been skilfully incorporated into the existing Woolacombe accommodation. We place high value on our staff. Trained to be attentive yet unobtrusive and to provide the kind of personal service that is so often hard to find. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Woolacombe Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woolacombe Bay Hotel
Bay Woolacombe
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Woolacombe Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.