We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Return visit off season (but Wi Fi upgrade please!)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Woolacombe Bay Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Woolacombe Bay Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   South Street, Woolacombe EX34 7BN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Woolacombe
Haslemere
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great Return visit off season (but Wi Fi upgrade please!)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I speak for a group of 10 - "the shooting party" - who have switched a multi year allegiance from an Ilfracombe hotel to Woolacombe Bay hotel in the last 2 years, exploiting their Spring and Autumn "deals". I have reviewed this hotel before in a positive light, and once again we found the service and main restaurant food excellent, my room was very clean with flat screen TV with Sea View. They are clearly renovating the Pool area and bathrooms so the hotel is being well looked after. The location is great, a brisk walk along the whole beach (National Trust) and back again before breakfast really salved my conscience before tackling the excellent cooked breakfast buffet (although special orders catered for - eg freshly poached eggs). I arranged a brief birthday "fizz and nibbles" reception in the bar before dinner one night and the staff could not have been more helpful suggesting options within a budget.

This is an excellent 4* traditional feel British Hotel in a great location - the only criticism I have is the WiFi system is woeful, so if you want to www you may be out of luck, as they do not appear to have commercial capacity Wi-Fi hubs, a cause of frustration for all our group.

Management Please note - this is the 21st Century - and wi fi is now a basic utility, like water is to the bathroom!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    158
    111
    44
    25
    8
See reviews for
128
119
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Just stayed with a group of 10 others for a wonderful stay of 3 nights on a shooting break. We stay there each year at this time(just before Easter) hotel and staff are excellent
Great package with both super breakfasts and really good evening meals. Can't fault any of the service, and if the hotel sort out their poor internet connection then it will be faultless. Have to say when we where leaving this morning all the party members delighted but all moaned about internet......

Room Tip: Sea view are worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I have just returned from a 2 night stay over the weekend. I can not praise the hotel highly enough. I did not ask for a sea view room and whilst if I looked down I could see the roof of the pool, the views of the hills and Woolacombe were stunning and exactly what I expected. The service was second to none and the staff were all attentive and friendly. The facilities were excellent, clean, all in working order and all well presented. The food in the brasserie was top notch, well priced and all in all it was nice place to have dinner. I must say, the breakfast in bed service is truly brilliant!!!
The room was very well priced for the level of service and the facilities.
Thank you, I am looking forward to my next visit and I might even book it this week.

Room Tip: I will be booking a sea view room next time, the scenery is just too god not to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoolacombeBayHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Woolacombe Bay Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We’re delighted to hear you enjoyed your short break and found all the team to be so helpful. We’ll pass on your kind comments and will look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Wi-fi didn't work even after asking the staff etc, food was rubbish, I mean really basic and bad. Room was miles from reception but I guess some have to be, given the size of the place. Location in Woolacoobe was excellent and I think this hotel would be good for families just because there is lots of stuff to do in the Summer but for a couple not at all. Pool area very dark and dingy. We won't be back. The area is lovely. Good cliff walks and lovely beaches. I think there are very few places to stay and this hotel is so ideally located that people pick it but they just rest on their laurels and if you can find somewhere else (if you are a couple) then I would advise that.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoolacombeBayHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Woolacombe Bay Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for your valuable feedback. I’m glad to read your comments about the setting of The Woolacombe Bay Hotel, our lovely grounds. However, I am concerned to hear about your experiences, which, as you have seen from other reviews of the hotel, do not reflect the level of service usually received by our guests. I sincerely apologise that in this instance you were left feeling let down.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed here for a 2 night family break. This review will cover all areas that my family and I tried at the hotel. The staff are mainly european and are friendly but requests with some had to be repeated for them to understand. It is the cleanest hotel that we have stayed at and the interior style is very nice, although the decoration on close inspection is a little poor. There are 3 comfortable lounge areas although the heating in 2 of these was so hot that you could not stay in them. Our family room was a standard priced room and was statisfactory, the room was located above the kitchen extractors and when the window or door to balcony was open you could smell the kitchen, this was not explained at time of booking. The room above and the landing outside of our room had terrible creaking floors that woke us up during the late evening and early morning. The hotel has lots of facilities for people who like sport or like to be pampered. If you plan to play snooker then bring you own cue as the ones available are broken or poor quality. The indoor pool is very shallow at one end and will disappoint serious swimmers although perfect for kids, lighting in this area is poor. The 9 hole pitch and putt was fun. The hotel is large and has lots of corridors and staircases and needs some signage to help with directions. We ate on both nights at the Brasserie because they opened at 6pm, ideal for families with children. We were shocked by the very dark eating area of the Brasserie, I asked if lighting could be improved and they handed clip on lights for the menu's and battery lamps for the table, this was stupid and needs attention. The food was good but lacked everyday favorites. We ate lunch at Doyles Restaurant within the Hotel and the roast beef was awful, it was inedible because it was so chewy, the worst beef we've ever had. I complained and after an hour of discussions and waiting around was finally handed a part refund on the bill, the meal was a Mother Days surprise and was ended in a very disappointing way. The staff all came across as helpful and friendly when approached but not very attentive to obvious guests needs. With the prices this hotel charge I was expecting to be impressed but I have come away a little disappointed

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We had a weekend at the hotel 1st to 3rd March 2013. There were 11 of us - 6 adults and 5 children. It was an utterly fantastic experience and every family member had an amazing weekend. The children were given an excellent supper every evening, there was a listening service so the adults could eat in the hotel, the facilities were great. We spent many happy hours in the heated pool and the adults enjoyed the sauna, steam room, jaccuzi, and the various treatments on offer. The staff were very friendly and helpful and we can't wait to go back for a repeat performance.

Ita Kelly

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the beach and a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall england
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We have just returned from a short break at the woolacombe bay hotel. The hotel itself is in a great location and we paid extra for a sea view room. Although all the staff were very pleasant and efficient, we were left with the overall feeling that the personal touch was missing. A couple of examples, we checked in and were handed our room key - the hotel is a maze of corridors and stairs, so took our own luggage and eventually found our room. We had a look through the hotel info and were aware before we arrived that there was a spa. We went back down to reception to ask further details about the leisure facilities to be asked if we were guests at the hotel, by the same person who had just checked us in? It was not exactly busy at the hotel maybe we were just not very memorable! We eventually found the spa where we advised that someone was working and we could get towels etc but having eventually found the reception at the spa there was nobody around to help so we left again. Our room was small and probably had too much furniture in it, so there was nowhere to put any of our belongings the dressing table was full with the tray for tea and coffee tissues and mirror, our bathroom was very small and no surfaces to put anything which became frustrating after 2 days. There was a fire alarm in the hotel as we arrived back on one of the days and everyone was evacuated. We were eventually let back in and understand a small fire had happened outside on a flat roof. We returned to our room which was quite near where we understood the small fire had happened outside but there was no explanation or checking if everything was ok. Our room smelt of smoke so we opened the windows but the smell lingered. A follow up call to guests would have helped. On the positive side, the location is great as is the food in doyle's restaurant. The hotel has good facilities and many nooks and crannies it would just be great to be told a bit more about it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoolacombeBayHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Woolacombe Bay Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for posting a review regarding your recent visit, we are always very interested in receiving feedback from our guests, the majority of which is positive. I’m glad to hear you enjoyed the food in the Doyle’s restaurant and our fabulous location. We do apologise you weren’t given any explanation following the small fire. Please be assured that we take great pride in the quality of service we provide for all our guests and sorry to hear that not all your expectations were met on this occasion. We hope that we will be given the opportunity to restore faith in our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Woolacombe Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woolacombe Bay Hotel

Address: South Street, Woolacombe EX34 7BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Woolacombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Woolacombe Bay Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Much of the Hotel has been lovingly restored from the mid 1800's, creating it's unique and tranquil atmosphere. High ceilings, chandeliers and comfortable, quiet lounges are a testament to that era, and where first class modern amenities are required, they have been skilfully incorporated into the existing Woolacombe accommodation. We place high value on our staff. Trained to be attentive yet unobtrusive and to provide the kind of personal service that is so often hard to find. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Woolacombe Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woolacombe Bay Hotel
Bay Woolacombe
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Woolacombe Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.