We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would recommend it.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fortescue Arms

Fortescue Arms
Woolacombe Station Road, Woolacombe, England
+44 1271 870871
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 36 Restaurants in Woolacombe
Cuisines: European, Vegetarian, British, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Would recommend it.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Dined there twice. Family-friendly. Good food and friendly helpful staff. Steak pie, chicken dishes and Carvery all worth a try. Good selection of local beers. Reasonably priced. Don't take reservations, but we only had to wait in the bar with our drinks for about 10-15 minutes whilst they sorted out a table.

And, since the pub is away from the centre of Woolacombe, with it's own free car park, you don't get ripped-off with the usual parking charges!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    31
    10
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Mids
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Wonderful sunday carvery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We went for the carvery of sunday lunch time; I had emailed from their website to see if it was possible to book a table; but did not get a response, so don't use this method of contacting them. As we hadn't booked we arrived at 12, but it doesn't start till 12.30 (and is on all day- there is lots of room, so they said there is really no need to book)- we were first in and it was worth it; lovely cooked meat and veg, and the kids loved the chocolate fudge cake and ice cream they had for desert.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“End of road”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Dropped in here after walking from caravan site, which I wouldn't do again, no footpaths and cars too fast.

Beer cheap and food OK, usual pub grub, bit more expensive than we were used to but plenty of it. Watched some of the Olympics on the big screen. Friendly staff and friendly customers.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swindon
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Had a lovely carvery. Pub is clean but quite dated, staff all friendly. Not a huge pub so may have a wait, but good value. Close to all 3 woolacombe bay parks.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“really lovely pub!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Went for an evening meal with my husband and 2 year old daughter whilst staying nearby. lovely food and the service was fantastic! very child friendly :)

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fortescue Arms also viewed

 
Woolacombe, Devon
Mortehoe, Woolacombe
 

Been to Fortescue Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fortescue Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.