We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lundy House Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woolacombe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lundy House Hotel
Save
You added Lundy House Hotel to your Saves list
Chapel Hill | Mortehoe, Woolacombe, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 20 Woolacombe B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights in Pondsbury room. Very relaxing break, clean and comfortable, well organised and smoothly run. A delicious breakfast, fabulous views and great location. Staff were friendly and Tim extreamly helpful. Would recommend and love to return

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    12
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
31
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed at this hotel 2nd week in August, we also had a dog with us, but the room we had was exceptionally clean and the view was superb. The breakfast was top notch and the staff were always helpful. One point if you choose to walk into the towns it is half way up the hill, but we are not the fittest of people but we still managed a nice stroll along the numerous pathways available.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must for the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Having stayed at the 'Glenhaven Hotel' (now private flats) 40 odd years ago with my parents I wanted to return to the spot and see if I could re-capture some fond memories. The Lundi House Hotel is right next door.

We booked the Pondsbury suite for a week in July. On arrival the 2 lovely, friendly girls that look after most aspects of your stay gave us a warm welcome and even offered help with the luggage. The room was of a good size with amazing views directly onto the sea. A lovely 4 poster bed, colour TV, tea/.coffee, a small table and 2 chairs. The bathroom and shower were spotless. I could not fault the room in any way, it was perfect.

There is a very relaxed atmosphere in the hotel and all the guests staying there were respectful regarding noise and I never once got woken up or disturbed. The only sound I could hear was the sea..how lovely!

For those of you who like beakfast you are in for a treat! There is a wide selection of everything to choose from and all breakfasts are cooked to order. They are very flexible in what you can have so you can mix and match with no problem. The small dining room is opposite the lounge/bar so you can have a drink and relax if you want to before dinner. To be fair I never saw anyone use the bar, which is a shame.

I would recommend this hotel without hesitation. It has a warm charm about it and it is in a excellent location. One thing to think about staying here is you either have to go up hill or down hill to get to and from Woolacombe or Morthoe. You need to be pretty fit as the roads are steep.

Geoff, London UK

Room Tip: Pay the extra to stay in one of the Sea View rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Being totally unfamiliar with this corner of England, the reviews on Tripadvisor were influential in persuading us to try out this hotel. It has an ideal setting on the cliff edge between Mortehoe and Woolacombe, far away enough from both to be blissfully quiet at night. Woolacombe has horrendous parking problems so it was a major bonus to be able to walk along the Coastal Path to the beach. Our room was immaculate, with a large comfortable bed, and a bath as well as a shower, which always earns good marks. Neither of us are big breakfast eaters but we could see the other guests tucking into huge and hearty breakfasts. The tariff was very reasonable for midsummer in a major resort. There seemed to be minimum supervision but it all ran like clockwork. My only regret was that the hotel enjoys sensational views but if one does not have a sea-view room one gets much less than the full benefit of them. We would definitely go back but would book early enough to get one of the sea-view rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed here 18 months ago after a recommendation - excellent. Have recommended to our families who again have had totally relaxing and enjoyable stays here. Would have been down this week but have had to cancel due to surgery being brought forward but will defiantly be down for our August booking.
1st class service, food, rooms and views
Thankyou

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We found the Lundy House Hotel an ideal place in which to stay for our holiday. We explored far west as Tintagel in Cornwall, as far east as Minehead in Somerset and as far south as Tarr Steps on Exmore. The excellent hotel breakfast set us up for the day and the hotel was a relaxing place to return to after the day's activities. The room was extremely comfortable, our Bernese Mountain dog found the local facilities to his entire satisfaction. The hotel staff were very welcoming and helpful and were a credit to the hotel. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel as a base for exploring this area of the country.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhyl, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The "Tibbets" deluxe room was amazing, it had recently been refurbished we were told, and although there was only the two of us, it would offer a family plenty of space. We relaxed sat in the bay window, with the french doors open and were captivated by breathtaking views. The garden was well maintained and so private and sheltered. Our experience was enhanced by the friendly and helpful staff Abby and Sara, who went out of their way to be welcoming and friendly. Excellent breaktfast with the best 'EGGS BENEDICT' ever!!!

Room Tip: Tibbets deluxe room great for couples and plenty space for a family
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lundy House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lundy House Hotel

Address: Chapel Hill | Mortehoe, Woolacombe, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Woolacombe
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lundy House Hotel is set directly on the North Devon coastline, with views across to Lundy Island and placed midway between the quaint old village of Mortehoe and the seaside resort of Woolacombe in North Devon.The Lundy House Hotel is a small family run Bed and Breakfast where we aim to give our guests a comfortable, relaxing and truly memorable holiday in idyllic surroundings.The Lundy House Big Breakfast has earned us quite a reputation, especially the porridge served with Devon clotted cream! Vegetarians are always catered for. No need to leave behind the family dog – Pets are most welcome. Only a small charge! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lundy House Hotel Woolacombe, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lundy House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.