We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two night stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lundy House Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woolacombe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lundy House Hotel
Save
You added Lundy House Hotel to your Saves list
Chapel Hill | Mortehoe, Woolacombe, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 20 Woolacombe B&B and Inns
Kinver, South Staffs.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Two night stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We chose this hotel as dogs were allowed and we just needed a place to stay whilst visiting friends. On arrival and seeing the superb location, we decided to upgrade to a sea view room (Millcombe) but apart from the wonderful view, there was little else to recommend it. The decor was tired, with peeling wallpaper in the bathroom and a barely working shower.
With the exception of the breakfast room, the public areas also had the same air of needing an update.
Plus points were the friendly & helpful staff (although we only saw two young girls during our stay) and the very good breakfasts.

Room Tip: Make sure you check out the photographs on the website before booking a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LundyHouseOwner, Owner at Lundy House Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thank you for your review. We’re sorry that your stay at our hotel has been less than excellent. If we had known you were unhappy with the room, we would have offered you alternative accommodation at no extra cost. We do have a strategic plan to refurbish a selection of rooms and bathrooms each year and it is Millcombe’s turn this winter. We care very much about what guests think of our hotel and will address the points you have raised. We do hope that you will contemplate returning to us in the future. Kind regards, Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    12
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
31
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay - the hotel is situated in a beautiful setting. The room was fantastic - overlooking the sea. Fantastic coastal walking from right outside the hotel. There was absolutey nothing to find fault with - the owner and the staff were extremey helpful and polite.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LundyHouseOwner, Owner at Lundy House Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us such a good review. Hope to see you next year. All the best, Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed for 6 nights with our dog and found it an extremely good experience. We had a really nice spacious room, Tibbits, with a spectacular view and lots of room for relaxing in and a very comfortable bed. The costal path at the bottom of the garden gave me access to a lovely exhilarating walk with the dog before breakfast allowing my husband to have a leisurely start to the day before enjoying a very nice breakfast. Tim the owner was very welcoming and helpful in giving us information and taking time for a chat ! We would really like to return and could confidently recommend a stay there to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LundyHouseOwner, Owner at Lundy House Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
We at the Lundy House Hotel really appreciate you taking the time to write such positive feedback. Do hope to see you again next year. Regards, Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

Recently stayed here for 3 nights in the room 'Rat Island' and it was just perfect in every way!! Cannot recommend enough! Also for anybody staying we strongly recommend the 'Boardwalk' restaurant just down the hill!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LundyHouseOwner, Owner at Lundy House Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
I am so pleased you chose to stay with us and that your time here was enjoyable. Thank you for taking the time to give us positive feedback and I do hope to see you again next year. Regards,
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights, myself husband and 2 year old. We booked very last minute and all sea view rooms were full, so were given the Hamners room. I have to say for a road view, it was still lovely to look out at over the hill side. The hamners room was ideal, huge bed and probably one of the most comfortable beds i have slept in, massive room, spotlessly clean, lovely en suite bathroom.. toiletries provided, and also tea coffee, hot chocolate facilities in room too... Breakfast in the morning, everything from fruit, croissants, toast, cereals, cooked breakfast, and all very delicious, and served always with a smile from the very friendly staff.

Location is in Mortehoe, im not sure walking distance as we drove everywhere. 2 mins drive (if that) to Mortehoe village and a few mins drive into Woolacombe.

The views from this bed & breakfast were breathtaking!!!!! We will definitely be staying again and next time will book in advance and take advantage of one of the sea facing rooms, with the magnificent views.

We love Woolacombe and Morethoe, and this B&B is a true gem!!

Room Tip: Book a sea facing room! Views are breathtaking!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LundyHouseOwner, Owner at Lundy House Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thank you for your great review. I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Regards, Tim Cole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at the Lundy House Hotel. It is perfectly situated between Woolacombe and Mortehoe, with a couple of different entrances to the South West Coast Path just nearby. On our first day of hiking, we didn't have to drive anywhere - we just walked straight from the hotel!

Breakfast was delicious, and we got to overlook the coast while we ate.

We stayed in Hanmers, which has been recently redone. It doesn't have sea views, but that's reflected in the lower price and we were happy with that. The bathroom was lovely and the spacious shower had decent water pressure and temperature. The room and hotel were very clean and comfortable. I'm not a fan of two single beds pushed together to make one large bed (I'd much prefer a smaller double bed to the inevitable gap), but this seems to be a constant issue throughout Europe. To Lundy House's credit, they did do their best to join the beds and make them into one.

We would certainly stay here again if we're in the area. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LundyHouseOwner, Owner at Lundy House Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Thanks for your feedback. We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stourbridge
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

Lundy house was the first hotel or B&B me and wife stopped at before we were married not that long ago,we had the top floor room with ensuite fairly big room with comfortable bed,breakfast was excelent with a variety of choice,and on the Saturday evening we sat outside with a bottle of wine watching the sum go down,magnificent views from the Lundy and also buttons our dog loved it here too

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LundyHouseOwner, Owner at Lundy House Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Thank you for the feedback. We're pleased that the three of you enjoyed your stay.
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lundy House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lundy House Hotel

Address: Chapel Hill | Mortehoe, Woolacombe, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Woolacombe
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lundy House Hotel is set directly on the North Devon coastline, with views across to Lundy Island and placed midway between the quaint old village of Mortehoe and the seaside resort of Woolacombe in North Devon.The Lundy House Hotel is a small family run Bed and Breakfast where we aim to give our guests a comfortable, relaxing and truly memorable holiday in idyllic surroundings.The Lundy House Big Breakfast has earned us quite a reputation, especially the porridge served with Devon clotted cream! Vegetarians are always catered for. No need to leave behind the family dog – Pets are most welcome. Only a small charge! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lundy House Hotel Woolacombe, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lundy House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.