We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Brasserie Bar

Bay Brasserie Bar
Woolacombe, Woolacombe, England
01271 872115
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 36 Restaurants in Woolacombe
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Part of the Woolacombe Bay Hotel
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

The food here was very, very good.

That being said, my husband and I never dreamed we would need to book in advance. We probably should have. But when we walked into a completely empty restaurant at opening time (6pm), we were asked whether we had a booking. When we said no, we were given an absolutely shocked look and felt completely chastised for not having thought ahead. (And the reality is, we'd just hiked several miles. We weren't thinking ahead - we were just hungry, and the options for vegetarian cuisine in Woolacombe are not many. And yes, we'd showered and changed and made ourselves look presentable.)

The correct response to our situation would have been: "I'm sorry, I can't seat you right now, but I do have an opening in half an hour. Can I book you in for then?"

Thankfully, a very astute waiter took over and booked us in for 6:30, just half an hour later. We went and had a pleasant walk around Woolacombe while we waited... and when we returned, we were still the only ones in the restaurant. The waiter who stepped in to save the day was obviously very experienced and is the only reason we bothered to stick around.

I would recommend this restaurant very highly for the food. However, I think the staff needs a few lessons in how to be a bit more welcoming to their customers. We are, after all, the reason they're in business. Even if they had been completely booked and couldn't have served us at all, there would have been a much better way to deal with the situation rather than making us feel like idiots.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    27
    19
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
leamington spa England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Do not order the "beef sandwiches"”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

My husband and I went for a bar snack here - he ordered a crab sandwich and I had a what was supposed to be beef one. The sandwich was cut in half and the other half cut into 2. I started to eat one of the smaller pieces, all that was in it was fat and grissle. The same for the other, which had a morsel of beef surrounded by fat and grissle. We called a member of staff over. I said this is not a beef sandwich - he said he would check with the "chef" if it should look like this! He returned and asked if I wanted something else, I said no please take it away and take if off the bill. He came over with the Bill and said he had taken half off as I had eaten some of it! I said no I wasn't paying for it it was unedible. He walked off! My husband asked for the Manager, he still continued to walk off. Eventually the Bar Manager came and said she had been "summoned"!! I said if they hadn't had any beef they should have taken it off the menu. She replied I am sure we do have beef..... well why was I given fat, grissle and dripping! she took the sandwich off the bill. No apologies!!! This was a 4 star hotel but acting like "bob's cafe". I just wish I had taken a photo of the sandwich to show on here....

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Ate here last week and couldn't fault it. My party all had different starters and mains, and we all thoroughly enjoyed our food. Like the earlier reviewer Hseeingtheworld I asked for chips with my rack of lamb, but unlike Hseeingtheworld I was not charged extra for the chips. Staff very efficient and pleasant. The food is not cheap, but I don't mind paying more for quality. I will return very soon. We also had a 10% discount for ordering before 7pm.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“poor over rated!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

very poor food,terrible value for money,portions so small its rediculous,i know a childs meal is just that,but the size off the fish is just an insult!!.i had camenbare,which was ok,but didnt even come with a side salad,and for 13.00,thats just not on.sederment in the wine,which to be fair,was appologised for,and taken off the bill.poncy,overrated place in my opinion,staff very pleasant tho,so a tip was left,purly due to the service.would bother again,im sticking to my hidden gem,of the cafe on barracane beach!!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Delicious cream teas!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Excellent cream tea with warm fresh scones, decent jam and lashings of clotted cream served in lovely surroundings - we ate in the atrium.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bay Brasserie Bar also viewed

Woolacombe, Devon
Woolacombe, Devon
 
Woolacombe, Devon
Woolacombe, Devon
 

Been to Bay Brasserie Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Brasserie Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.