We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend away...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woolacombe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park
Save
You added Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Beach Road, Woolacombe EX34 7AF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great weekend away...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Having read all the reviews previous to arriving I had my fingers crossed that they were all true, i'm glad to say they were and we had a great relaxing, chilled out weekend away. The facilities were fantastic especially for it being mid October, free crazy golf, amusements that took me back to my childhood, bowling and we loved going to the clubhouse each night for bingo. The caravan was great only one negative was the tea pot hadnt been washed and the baking tray/pan was very greasy but nothing a bit of fairy liquid couldnt sort out, everything else was spotless. The view to the beach was stunning to wake up to and also to watch the sun set. Overall a great cosy/slightly rainy weekend exploring North Devon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    93
    16
    11
    3
See reviews for
286
63
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Have been trying to find a holiday park where we can relax and we have found it had a great time staff were great lovely views . Caravan was small but very clean and had everything we needed will come here again :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bournemouth
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The camp site not only has the best facilities and service in peak season, it continues throughout off peak. We were greeted by wooly bear when we arrived and a full list of activities and entertainments. Never disappoint woolacombe sands.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We have just returned from a long weekend at Woolacombe Sands (27-29 September) and wanted to take this opportunity to thank the team at Woolacombe Sands for a great weekend away.

I have stayed at Woolacombe Sands a few years ago and had a good time and was looking forward to returning - it didn't disappoint!

Roanne and Lynne on Reception were particularly very helpful and friendly. We were allocated a (Silver) Waney Edge Chalet (booking via The Sun holiday offer) and it was presented superbly. Thoroughly cleaned, light, roomy, a pretty bedroom, a bathroom with a bath (!) with shower and a lovely view. However, it was just over half a mile from the main site (accessible by footpath or main road) and a little too quiet/remote for our liking so Roanne and Lynne kindly offered a (bronze) caravan on the main site. We were worried about a theoretical 'downgrade' but this was not really the case. A quality caravan, it was also cleaned to a high standard, had all the basic equipment and was closer to the amenities - perfect for our short stay.

We visited the shop and the bar and each member of staff we encountered was friendly, helpful and enthusiastic - the management team should be very proud of their staff.

I would thoroughly recommend Woolacombe Sands and will return soon!

Hannah and Dave

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We had a lovely week at this site camping in a tent with our family on the next pitch in their tourer. The pitches were roomy and had a great view. The site shop was very good stocking just what you'd need. The club was busy and noisy but that's what you expect isn't it? The children were being entertained and Woolly Bear was a big hit. We had a few meals there and they were very nice. The indoor and outdoor pools were lovely - very clean but perhaps over chlorinated on one of our days there. I read another review about the slow wi-fi connection (which you have to pay for) and must say it was very slow. Perhaps something that could be addressed? My only gripe woud be that each morning when needing an early morning trip to the ladies, they were closed for cleaning. Not an ideal time as many people are up and about pre-7am. Maybe they could be cleaned a little earlier?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Another weekend at Woolacombe Sand. Cheesy, but so close to the beach (walking distance) what more can you ask for. My only grip is the quality of cleaning in the shower block, although it's not put us off going back.

Thank you, and see you again soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSHP, Owner at Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a lovely review.

We were thrilled to hear you will return, and we look forward to welcoming you in 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We've just returned from a break in an Atlantic Gold caravan and we have some mixed reviews. Caravan was lovely; clean and well kitted out in terms of china and cutlery etc. Unfortunately Woolacombe Sands site is looking old and tired. The clubhouse looks like something out of the 1980's and the children's small soft play area was dirty and scruffy with wallpaper coming away from the walls. Access roads around the site were in urgent need of re-tarmacking, The exit road from our caravan right towards the park exit has really poor visibility and this is a real safety issue as we nearly crashed on several occasions, despite going extremely slow. We bought WiFi and would like to say that it really isn't worth the money. It was painfully slow, slower than a dial up connection and made it difficult to browse internet. My almost 3 year old was disappointed that Wooly bear was only around in the evening, at 6.30pm, especially as she goes to bed at 7pm. It made it hard for her to ever see him! One wet morning we went to the clubhouse to see what was going on for little ones and there was a young lady with photocopied colouring sheets and colouring pencils - very disappointing and we wished we hadn't ventured out of the caravan. It wasn't clear what was on for children in the day, this needs to be better advertised and developed. This site has the potential to be lovely but unfortunately it is in need of a major revamp. I've seen on many other reviews that you have been critical of others comments but the point of this website is for users to make others aware of their opinions and should be used in a constructive and not offensive way. I am aware that you are a family run park but in the middle of September, the site was fairly full. We came away of the opinion that Woolacombe Sands have no need to improve and develop as due to being near to beach, people go there. The site could be wonderful but on this occasion it really wasn't and we loved Woolacombe but wouldn't visit this site again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSHP, Owner at Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time. We are sorry that you feel our replies are written in the incorrect manner. We simply reply to guests comments with facts, and never take offense - all comments good and bad are taken on board.

Last year we spent almost £500,000 on repairs, renewals and general maintenance during the closed season. We had 18 brand new caravans, a brand new toilet & shower block built, new super seasonal pitches, road repairs, redecoration of units and more. We do spend the winter doing as much as we can, but with only a 4 month break time is limited. We will be spending our winter this year repairing and renewing roads, redecoration and more.

Woolly Bear does visit twice a night, and during change over days, in the day. Guests tend to spend the day out and about, therefore the times are based around that. We will research him coming out slightly earlier however.

The WiFi is provided by a company called WiFi Spark, that deal with any issues including speed etc during your stay. They will offer refunds if you are dissatisfied with their service.

The free kids club offers different activities every day. This is advertised on posters around the Club House and Arcade and on the Entertainments board. The Entertainments Team do try to tailor it to the age of the children, and will change daily activities if asked.

We do have plans to redecorate the club house, and are hoping to do this in the very near future.

We try as hard as we can to meet expectations and ensure our guests enjoy their stay. We also try as hard as we can to afford as much work as possible. We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay and found the park dated. We hope you continue to enjoy the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park

Address: Beach Road, Woolacombe EX34 7AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Woolacombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park offers you everything you could wish for from a Self-Catering family holiday. Set in the beautiful rolling coastal countryside with spectacular views overlooking the sea and Woolacombe's fabulous golden sands - one of the few beaches to achieve both the Blue Flag and Premier Resort awards - it's fun for all the family & we are the closest holiday park to the beach! Enjoy our indoor & outdoor heated swimming pools, or club with daily & nightly live entertainment, crazy golf, new children's park, football & basketball pitch, footpath to the beach & much more! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park Hotel Woolacombe
Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.