We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value holiday park” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woolacombe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park
Save
You added Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Beach Road, Woolacombe EX34 7AF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
gosport
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent value holiday park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

booked a Sun holiday and received three nights at this park expecting not very much.......but on arrival saw a spotlessly clean site, the bronze caravan was exceptional and HAD been cleaned before our arrival to a very high standard.
Great location and is the nearest site to a great sandy beach which the kids loved after a short 20 minute walk down a nice path from the site to beach, via a good chippy, the bank and post office and cashpoint.
The entertainment in the clubhouse was fair as probably at the end f season , mainly artists doing covers, would have liked a comedian or magician but can't ave everything. Oh and bingo!

Great value site, would recommend.

Room Tip: All pitches are excellent with great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    93
    16
    11
    3
See reviews for
286
63
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

First time camping (that wasn't at a festival) and everything was lovely. The site was busy but it was quiet. A group of young guys turned up on Friday night and were very loud before going out and again when getting back at 3 in the morning, constantly swearing and shouting which kept us all up and I presume everyone else in our field. We mentioned it to reception in the morning and they were gone when we got back that day. Very impressed and very thankful!

The pitch was beautiful, overlooking the valley and the sea. It's a fantastic site with everything you could want. A big well stocked shop, bar, pools, amusement arcade etc. A few niggles - It would be good to be able to adjust the temperature on the showers as they seemed to be set to scolding. Having to push the button every 15 seconds for the water got a bit tiring. A shelf or bench in the shower cubicles would be really handy. Also the taps on the sink only work when you are actually pushing them and so washing your hands one handed is quite difficult. I guess they are trying to save water but it seems a bit extreme!

Other than that, a top site, Woolacombe is lovely and the price was absolutely fantastic and I'm almost certain we will be back next year, maybe trying one of the caravans!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Briiliant site, friendly people and nothing is a problem! Beach is within walking distance over fields but ok for pushchairs. We have been several times with and without friends and their children. The bar has a local beer, decent sized meals and a verandah that you can watch the sun go down on.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Kids had the best holiday, lots of activities to do, staff were amazing especially the entertainment team, parties were brill for the kids with wooly bear, the shop sells everything u need, the food was lovely in the clubhouse especially the steak :) with lots of offers on if you spend over 20 get free £5 to spend in clubhouse which I got my bear with :). Everything was clean really impressed fab holiday :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Just come back after camping for 4 nights, very good place to camp- entertainment excellent- especially Geoff ( entertainment staff)!!! Showers a bit of a nightmare at times, could do with a wooden seat to sit on when drying etc! But would defiantly return next year- also could do with wifi in bar etc (free)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSHP, Owner at Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you very much for your review.

We were thrilled to hear what a lovely time you had and that you will return.

We do offer free WiFi in the bar with a minimum spend before 6pm. Vouchers are given that can be used at anytime. WiFi is available around the park, and in the clubhouse.

We do have seating in the showers and in the toilet & shower blocks, but we will certainly look to put more in.

Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you in 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

I camped here for 4 days with my husband and 3 children. The water was constantly on and off it was a nightmare. The shower blocks badly need updating in one block part of the ceiling is missing. The showers don't stay on long enough. I understand that they want to save water but 30seconds is not long enough so you were forever switching it on again. The clubhouse badly needs updating or atleast a lick of paint. The entertainment was ok at night. My son wanted to have a game of bowling we took him to the 'bowling alley' it was ridiculous. More like a strip of laminate with some dodgy balls and pins and you had to pay extra for the privilege. The laundrette isn't included neither is the WiFi. It is a long walk to the beach especially if you have a toddler and a pushchair. I doubt you would be able to use the path if you were in a wheelchair. The park needs updating and modernising. I wouldn't stop here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSHP, Owner at Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for your review.

You paid £126 for a 4 night break with a family of 5. This averages to £6.30 a night per person. We feel this is a more than a fair price to pay in peak season.

We were disappointed you did not enjoy your stay.

It is standard across most campsites that you would pay for arcade machines such as bowling, but at £1.50 per game, we do not feel this is expensive. Yes, we only have 2 bowling alleys, but we are a small family site that has a lot more to offer than bowling, and it is not a main selling point, more of an extra. The bowling is functional and in full working order. We also have 2 arcades. The kids club with activities throughout the day and night is free of charge, the crazy golf is free of charge, so are the swimming pools, children's play area and park, football pitch and basketball.

Again, it is very rare a laundrette would be free of charge.

The WiFi is free of charge with a minimum spend in the bar before 6pm, where staff will distribute you a voucher to use when you please. Otherwise, it is charged at a rate inline with our competitors of £12 per week, with daily and hourly costs too.

We are the CLOSEST Holiday park to Woolacome and the BEACH - therefore without driving you will not get closer. The walk is about 10 minutes and through the countryside. It does not claim that it is suitable for wheelchairs, however we have plenty of families that take their pushchairs through there.

Our showers are checked hourly, and we have checked during the dates you stayed, and there were no complaints. The time they run for is standard and again, inline with most other campsites. This is not a complaint we have had from our campers before.

As a small family and owned run holiday park, we put significant re-investment in the business each winter. This year we built a new toilet block, new Seasonal Pitches, refurbished self catering units, had 18 brand new caravans, plus much more. The clubhouse is clean, and suitable for its purpose, decor is a matter of taste. We will look to invest in it in the future but we prioritise spending.

We were glad you found the campsite clean and tidy, and although we did not have the free facilities you expected, we hope you enjoy Woolacombe again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

FANTASTIC AS ALWAYS!!!! Great weekend camping, pristine toilet/shower blocks, great entertainment (our friend Rosie is loving her giant ace of spades) defo goin back next year as we do every year. Just remember to travel early as roads get busy around woolacombe

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSHP, Owner at Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for such a fantastic review, we were thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay & how clean and tidy you found our facilities at such a busy time of year.

We look forward to welcoming you in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park

Address: Beach Road, Woolacombe EX34 7AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Woolacombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park offers you everything you could wish for from a Self-Catering family holiday. Set in the beautiful rolling coastal countryside with spectacular views overlooking the sea and Woolacombe's fabulous golden sands - one of the few beaches to achieve both the Blue Flag and Premier Resort awards - it's fun for all the family & we are the closest holiday park to the beach! Enjoy our indoor & outdoor heated swimming pools, or club with daily & nightly live entertainment, crazy golf, new children's park, football & basketball pitch, footpath to the beach & much more! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park Hotel Woolacombe
Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.