We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our first tenting experience out of Cornwall and we were not dissapointed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park to your Saves list
Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park
4.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Beach Road, Woolacombe EX34 7AF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Our first tenting experience out of Cornwall and we were not dissapointed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

After spending the last 6 or 7 years holidaying in Cornwall (chalets, statics, B&B,tents) we were a little wary of what to expect for our maiden tenting experience in North Devon.
After a lot of browsing on the Internet we plumped for Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park for is great reviews and its close proximity to the beach.
After the lengthy trip down the M6, M5 and then the A361 from Morecambe, our first impressions of the site was WOW. Coming over the brow of the hill and dropping down the road to the park, you are greeted with a view of the beach, sea and Lundy Island in the distance.
As we can never be to sure of the traffic when you are travelling down the length of the country we arrived in masses of time (11:15) we took a punt and turned up to reception expecting the usual response "it clearly states on the booking form, arrival after 14:00". However the actual response of "if your pitch is ready please feel free to set up" was a nice welcome surprise.
The pitch size was ample, water and refuse close by and the showers were only a short walk away. The only thing that let the site down was the need for the showers to be updated. Our block was in need for a bit of repair and the bin in the gents block hadnt been emptied the whole week we had stopped there.
As the site is built into the side of a valley, it is hard to imagine a pitch that doesn't carry a stunning view of the ocean.
Parking is a little steep in Woolacombe itself (£7 for the day) but the site has its own footpath direct to the beach and this is easily accessible in 15mins on foot.
The pool is ideal if you are not looking to go surfing everyday, and the kids loved their evening fix of Bingo in the bar..... even if we never came close to winning!! The shop is well stocked and reasonably priced too which is surprising for a holiday park.
All in all we have thoroughly enjoyed our maiden tenting experience in Woolacombe and it certainly won't be the last time we stay in Devon.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSHP, Owner at Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for such a fantastic review, we were thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay & how clean and tidy you found our facilities at such a busy time of year.

We were pleased to hear how much you enjoyed Woolacombe after years of holidaying in Cornwall.

We do have 5 Toilet & Shower Blocks on site. 3 were renovated for 2012 and 1 of them is a new build for 2013 which has received rave reviews. We are sorry you felt the one you used needed updating. We do carry out extensive repairs and renewals during our closed season, with massive investments throughout the site.

We look forward to welcoming back to sunny Woolacombe you in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    100
    18
    11
    2
See reviews for
307
64
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We have been to this for 4 years on the trot now. I can honestly say that the guys who run this site really do make you feel welcome . We took our own tent and we just love the stunning sea views we wake up to and beautiful green surroundings. We really do just feel like we can relax here as we know if there was any problems they would be sorted . We stayed this year the first week in August and just know we will be back next year. From staff on reception, to the wonderful bar staff, kitchen staff , entertainment team (all of them ) and obviously the wonderful family who run it we have a great holiday. We love the walk to the beach too , very handy indeed

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSHP, Owner at Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you Claire for such a lovely review.

We were thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your camping stay in Avenue 10 again this year - and we were glad you decided to stay on a little longer!

We love welcoming you and your family, you are a pleasure to know.

We look forward to welcoming you again in 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Second time we have visited and it just gets better the more familiar you are with the site.
As ever, the staff are very pleasant and easy to deal with, the Waney edge chalets are superb and the evening entertainment keeps the kids happy until bedtime.
I wouldn't hesitate to visit again and I'm sure things would be just as good next time.
10/10, Wooly!

Room Tip: Waney Edge chalets are excellent and the couple of hundred yard walk is easy and welcome excercise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSHP, Owner at Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for such a lovely review.

We were thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed the Waney Edge Chalets again Cliff, and how much you enjoy the short walk through the valley from the chalets to the main facilities.

We love our loyal customers here at Woolacombe Sands, hence the loyalty scheme discount cards, and we look forward to welcoming you in 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

beautiful site, lovely sea views.
We camped and the pitces were well marked and easy to find. Nice quiet spot but plenty going on if you want it. Great to be able to walk to the beach (about 20 mins)
Well stocked shop
The staff were all very helpful and friendly.
We all had a lovely time.
would recommend

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSHP, Owner at Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for such a fantastic review, we were thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay & how you enjoyed our facilities and the walk to the beach.

We look forward to welcoming you in the very near future, and thank you for recommending us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scunthorpe
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed 9th August until 18th August in No;2 Waney Edge.
Family goup of Mum Dad kids aged 16,13,9 and Dog
Facilities second to none.Chalet or should i say Cottage well equipped and spotlessly clean.Furniture and Beds comfortable, views to die for.
Most dog friendly site i have ever been on, but as not to upset non-dog owners. Fantastic dog walk, dog friendly club and dog friendly staff.
Woolacombe a superb place. Clean beach and clean village. Nice walk from site to village and beach.
Only a couple of negatives.
Walk from Waney edge chalets to main holiday park a nightmare.
Option one is along a drive uphill, then down a grass slope, then go through a bit of a dumping area for old stuff from the site, down a gravelly, rubble track into the main site. I recommend at night you are equipped with a good torch.
Option two is to walk along the road which has no footpath or lighting on a very busy road.
Perhaps the site could equip the accommodation with rechargeable torches or install lighting along with half decent paths on the through park route.
Other negative was the lack of dog waste bins, unless in Devon dog waste is encouraged in normal waste bins
A big thanks to all the staff at woolacombe sands,and we will be back because there is so much to do in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSHP, Owner at Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for such a fantastic review, we were thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay & how much you enjoyed the Waney Edge Chalets again.

Thank you for your comments regarding the walk. We have now added torches to all the Waney Edge Chalets, and check the batteries each week. The area you have walked through is a cut through. To avoid this, you can walk through the valley. However, this area has been tidied now.

The dog waste bins are situated in the dog walk areas exercise areas, but we will look to add more.

We look forward to welcoming you in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xchurch,Dorset
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Our pitch was good,we set up our tent etc, then we began to tour the site to see where different places were located like shops, swimming pool, the clubhouse etc. on the site there was plenty to do , a nice walk down to Woolacombe. The staff were friendly and very helpful,the entertainment staff were pleasing and did a good job. Bar staff were very helpful too . Overall our stay was better than expected. Prices were a bit steep though for food and alcohol .

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSHP, Owner at Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for such a fantastic review, we were thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay & how clean and tidy you found our facilities at such a busy time of year.

Our prices are in line with all our competitors and locals bars and restaurants.

We look forward to welcoming you in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Upon booking woolicombe sands me and my bestfriends were most excited. We had spend a small fortune on camping gear to ensure we had the best items for the trip!
We traveled a long 6 hour journey in convoy only to turn up and our pitches were ready streight away which we were most pleased about!
The swiming pool was amazing with stunning veiws overlooking the countryside and cows which was nice to look at whilst worshiping the sun in the glorious weather. Although there was a slight niggle i would of found a small bar and snack hut sutiable for this area as i was parched and peckish at times whilst playingwith the kids. The night time entertainment was really good me and my besty especially enjoyed dancing to wooy bears song and playing bingo ! The bar was a little pricy especially for us young drinkers wanting a good time and a night feuled with booze !
Geoff was amazing he did a micheal bubble act and me snd my besty danced the night away with geoff ha !!
The shower blocks were brilliant they blasted the sand right off you when we had been bodyboarding at the beach always making us feel fresh and clean ! Overall a brilliant holiday in july and we will look forward to booking again next summer! Especially if it is to travel all that way for a cherry bakewell which were bad boy from the onsite shop.
Thank you woolicombe sands

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSHP, Owner at Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for such a fantastic review, we were thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay & how clean and tidy you found our facilities at such a busy time of year.

We look forward to welcoming you in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park

Address: Beach Road, Woolacombe EX34 7AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Woolacombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park offers you everything you could wish for from a Self-Catering family holiday. Set in the beautiful rolling coastal countryside with spectacular views overlooking the sea and Woolacombe's fabulous golden sands - one of the few beaches to achieve both the Blue Flag and Premier Resort awards - it's fun for all the family & we are the closest holiday park to the beach! Enjoy our indoor & outdoor heated swimming pools, or club with daily & nightly live entertainment, crazy golf, new children's park, football & basketball pitch, footpath to the beach & much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park Hotel Woolacombe
Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.