We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good holiday on a budget” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park to your Saves list
Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park
4.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Beach Road, Woolacombe EX34 7AF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
manchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good holiday on a budget”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this park last August found it too be great value for money,we stayed in a caravan which accept pets so was abit wary of the condition of tha caravan but i needn't have worried as it was clean & didn't smell and in quite good condition,the park itself is small but got everything you need with having 3 boys, they were happy with 2 swimming pools,games/arcade, bowling & bar,shop on site was well stocked with everyday items,the site is only 5mins in the car away from the beach had great view of it from the caravan, beach is lovely and clean, kids loved it would definatley recommend woolacombe.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSHP, Owner at Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review.

We are really pleased to hear you enjoyed our site and were pleased with all we had to offer.

Woolacombe is a beautiful part of the world, we are so glad you think so too.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    93
    16
    11
    3
See reviews for
286
63
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Could not fault the bungalow it was warm clean and extremely comfortable.
The welcome pack was fab and had all the essential's in it. Many thanks for the staff at Woolacombe Sands making our winter weekend break so enjoyable. We will be booking again for next year.

See you in the summer.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSHP, Owner at Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review Sharon.

We were thrilled to hear you had another great holiday with us - and this time out of season!

Look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braunton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

As a family we have camped, stayed in a caravan, a chalet and this weekend stayed in the beautiful bungalow 'Tides Reach' at Woolacombe Sands.

Tides Reach bungalow has been recently decorated, with lovely new carpets throughout and despite being winter time was comfortably warm the whole stay. 'Tides reach' is beautifully clean and has everything you need. A starter pack including tea, coffee, milk, cereals, eggs, bread, etc was a lovely touch and for anyone arriving late in the day extremely useful.
All bedding and towels were also provided.
The master bedroom looks out to Woolacombe Bay, so you can lie in bed either watching the sheep run around on Woolacombe Down or look out to Lundy Island. These same views can be seen from both the lounge, dining room and outside on the patio and lawned area.
There were 5 of staying this weekend and we all commented that the bungalow would comfortably accomodate 6-8 (which is how it is advertised) there's plenty of lounge seating, a full sized dining table, plus breakfast bar and 2 patio tables outside.
Obviously staying out of season the park as a whole is closed at the moment but this didn't matter as 'Tides reach' is so comfortable and well thought out.

Each time we have stayed at Woolacombe Sands we have found the family and staff to be extremely helpful and always pleasant. The facilities are well maintained and looked after. Each new season it is noticable that work has been carried out throughout the closed season and the family/staff take pride in the park wanting to keep it looking good for their guests.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSHP, Owner at Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for such a lovely review of our Luxury Tides Reach Bungalow, we are so proud of it & glad you enjoyed it so much!

We look forward to welcoming you again during the summer season!

Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portishead, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

What an excellent time we have, we have been coming here for 10 years plus, we now have our own tourer and we are on a seasonal pitch. Nothing is too much trouble, everyone is always friendly and helpful. We are within walking distance of the beach. All the facilities on site are excellent. You will not be disappointed

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSHP, Owner at Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you Sarah for such a lovely review.

We are really looking forward to welcoming you again this year & really hope you'll be pleased with all the improvements we have made.

See you soon, and thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liskeard, England, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed end of Oct 2012 and had a great time! It wasn't just the excellent service of the entertainments team, or at Reception, but how they dealt with problems so well:

1: On arrival, we found the previous users of our static caravan had smoked in it, despite its designation as smoke and pet free - very important for my mum--in-law with 50% lung capacity - it was cheerfully dealt with by swapping our caravan promptly. Brilliant.

2: Mum-in-law forgot medication and when it was sent to Reception by post, again, it was received and ready to collect. Cheerful service again.

3: Son of four fell and bashed his head. Steve on entertainments was a complete natural and took care of him with all diligence. Outstanding.

On top of it all, our son, Ethan had the best holiday doing crafts for a lantern parade, dancing with Wooly Bear and even sang Bare Necessities for a talent show. What can I say? A great holiday at a great price. Fully recommended. Keep it up guys!

Room Tip: If you want more room, upgrade to a bigger caravan, though upgrading is in progress over the winter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSHP, Owner at Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for the most lovely review, we were so glad to hear that although there were a few hiccups during your stay you all still enjoyed your holiday and the site.

We really look forward to welcoming you in 2013, with the arrival of brand new Ocean View Gold caravans, we think you'll love our improvements!

Thank you & see you in 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Facilities have been upgraded good adventure playground however drinks extortionate 2 pints beer 2 cokes 14 pound ...food just as expensive .. don't expect a cheap holiday there ..
Maintenance well ok if u don't have a problem . Yes go and report it they will acknowledge it and put it in their to do book but I don't think they realise that they are expected to actually do something about it

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSHP, Owner at Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
After reading your review, please could I ask you to consider if you stayed with us? There are a couple of discrepancies with your review.

We do not have an Adventure playground, although we do have a Children's Play Park, very different things.

If you were to purchase 2 pints of our cheapest lager (Carlsberg) & 2 Pepsi's (we do not sell Coke), the price would have been £9.40. If you had purchased 2 pints of our most expensive product (San Miguel) and 2 Pepsi's, the price would have been £10.60. Even if you made the Pepsi's pints, the price's still would only be £11.40 and £12.60 respectively. Therefore not amounting to £14.

Our Maintenance team are on duty for repairs and maintenance 8am - Midnight (11am Low Season) and we guarantee that any jobs reported before 8pm are rectified that day unless specialist parts or professionals are required. When jobs are reported they are logged and reported to the on-duty Manager in a designated log book in our main office. The jobs are checked half hourly (if not more frequently) and signed off upon completion. The on-duty Manager will not finish their shift until the jobs reported during their time have been completed or reports given as to why they haven't.

If for some reason there is a problem that may take a little longer to rectify, such as a boiler repair, the guest will be upgraded to another unit.

The comments you have left regarding our dedicated maintenance team (one of them being a Director) are extremely un-true and suggest you did not stay at our Holiday Park.

I have tried to search for your booking, but to no avail. If you did stay with us and can provide a booking reference, I would be more than happy to discuss your disappointments with you. Please email promotion@woolacombe-sands.co.uk

If you did not stay with us, I kindly as if you could remove your review.

Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My wife and I are regulars to woolacombe sands holiday park. We stay four-five times a year and have done so now for five years in our vw camper when on surf trips.The staff are very friendly and helpful and polite. The park is spotless, everywhere , and has everything you will need ,due to the hard working staff to whom we are very grateful.This place is some what of a rare gem these days ,a familiy run site that offers 110% to there guests. We will be returning again and again. for woolacombe or as a base for the north devon coast we would not stay anywhere else we cant wait for spring 2013 ,Thankyou to all the staff all the best ,Mark and Tina Fry.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSHP, Owner at Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you Mark & Tina for the most lovely review.

We love welcoming new guests but our regulars are so very important to us and we really look forward to welcoming you.

We look forward to seeing you in 2013 and hope you like the improvements including a brand new Toilet and Shower Block on Avenue 10 with a family bathroom!

See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park

Address: Beach Road, Woolacombe EX34 7AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Woolacombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park offers you everything you could wish for from a Self-Catering family holiday. Set in the beautiful rolling coastal countryside with spectacular views overlooking the sea and Woolacombe's fabulous golden sands - one of the few beaches to achieve both the Blue Flag and Premier Resort awards - it's fun for all the family & we are the closest holiday park to the beach! Enjoy our indoor & outdoor heated swimming pools, or club with daily & nightly live entertainment, crazy golf, new children's park, football & basketball pitch, footpath to the beach & much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park Hotel Woolacombe
Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.