We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park to your Saves list
Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park
4.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Beach Road, Woolacombe EX34 7AF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
plymouth, England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our time here. Myself and a friend had a mini break through the Sun newspaper holiday deal. Wouldn't hesitate to go back there. The two of us had a 6-8 birth caravan all to ourselves so it was huge. Really like the caravan, kitchen was high quality, big tv, nice cosy fireplace, beds were comfortable.
The facilities were great, the outside pool was closed because we went off season (1st week of October) but the indoor pool was warm and spacious and had a few swims completely on my own! There is a convenient shop on the grounds, and although we didn't partake in the activities, they had lots of events each night.
The location of Woolacombe sands is great, close to beach, and so long as you have a car you can drive around to local towns near by. Thoroughly enjoyed the Tarka trail at Barnstaple, Ilfracombe is a nice town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSHP, Owner at Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for such an amazing review & for taking the time to upload the fantastic photographs!

We were so glad you had such a lovely break & we look forward to welcoming you in 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    93
    16
    11
    3
See reviews for
286
63
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Friendly staff greeted us on arrival. We stayed in one of the Waney Edge chalets and were very impressed by how spacious, clean and well-equipped it was. The central heating was already on so it was also nice and warm! The location was lovely with views over the woods and the sea in the distance. It was also very peaceful, so suitable for the more mature holidaymaker (like us!) who prefers to be away from it all. Our only criticism would be the double mattress which needed some padding but apart from that a very enjoyable stay. Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSHP, Owner at Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for such a lovely review, we really appreciate you taking the time to leave us such lovely comments.

As mentioned before we are reviewing all our mattresses during this winter, alongside having 18 new caravans (Ocean View Golds), creating more Super Seasonal Pitches, Upgrading Tides Reach Bungalow and much more!

We look forward to welcoming you for another season!

Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This was our second sun holiday to this park and we were so pleased to have been able to return. We upgraded to a Sands Chalet which are lovely. The chalets offer great views and everything you could need and are very clean. The only complaint is that the mattress was incredibly thin and small for a double but that is literally the only thing I would have a little moan about.

The park has a footpath that leads down to the town/beach which is ideal to avoid the parking charges but BEWARE, in bad weather it can be quite interesting with water pouring down some sections and some real muddy bits. However, none of the establishments in town even batter an eye at muddy boots!! Also, don't forget to pack a torch, the path is literally a public footpath so there are no lights and our first visit ended with us using our phones as torches and we missed the turning for the park and ended up on the main road!! The park has a reasonably priced shop and good club house. We didn't make use of the entertainment, pool or restaurant.

The staff are very helpful and approachable and whilst I have a bit of an aversion to holiday parks (ok, I'm a bit snobby!) this one doesn't have that usual feeling about it. It is very much a 'make of it what you want park'. If you want to use it as a holiday park there is everything you could require here, if you want to use it as a base that is fine too.

Overall, this place is good value, ideally placed and we cannot wait to go back again. We had a great weekend. Just hope that next time the weather is a bit better!!

Room Tip: Definitely recommend upgrading to a Sands Chalet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSHP, Owner at Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review! We were so glad to hear you will be returning.

We are reviewing all of our mattresses on site during the winter and replacing where we feel necessary. The chalets will also be changed.

We look forward to welcoming you and hope for better weather!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed here for 4 days on a sun newspaper special 8th -12th oct.

Always a taking a bit of a chance when you book a break in the uk in October, so always fingers crossed. Unfortunately we hit a really bad wet and windy week!
However, this park is fantastic, so we were still able to enjoy.

As my husband is recovering from a long bout of hospital treatment, I e-mailed the day before and (cheekily!) asked for a good sea view. A lady called Roanne replied, informing me she had changed our allotted caravan. When we arrived we were delighted to find we had been given a free upgrade to a silver caravan (no. 20) with full heating and breathtaking views.

This caravan is quite modern, prob. No more than 2 years old and was warm, cosy and perfect for the 2 of us.few rough edges ie. gas fire was difficult to light, and had one of those annoying smoke alarms that go off when you make toast, but great caravan overall.
This was a dog friendly unit and our young German shepherd loved her little holiday.we took pieces of carpet off cut, anticipating slippery laminate flooring(which it was in the living area) so she didn't slide around the place in her excitement!-worked a treat.it also protected the caravan from her body mud as she got plastered everyday as the area was like a bog, due to the the record breaking amount of rain. Despite the weather I braved the wind and rain every day as the area around the camp is lovely with great dog walks and one of the best beaches I have seen in the uk and MASSIVE. The walk down to the beach was a nightmare in the mud though, but pretty and would be great in the summer.

One of the best views we have ever had in a self catering holiday and that is what makes this place so special, rolling hills and coast with Lundy island in the distance.

Excellent facilities. Everything very reasonably priced (shop etc). Couldn't make use of many of the facilities, due to my husband not being well, but the pools looked fantastic and play areas for kids looked top class.would love to come here with the grandchildren and already told my daughter she MUST try this place!

As woolicambe sands was such a great place to come during the awfull Autumn weather I can't wait to go back next summer when we should see some sun.

Thank you so much to all at woolicambe sands.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view. Bronze caravans ok in the warmer weather
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSHP, Owner at Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review, we really appreciate you taking the time to leave us such lovely comments. I have passed your thanks onto Roanne, who for getting a name mention, received reward vouchers.

The Ocean Silver Caravan you stayed in will now be an Ocean View Bronze as we are having 18 new Ocean View Gold caravans. The current Ocean View Gold caravans will become the Ocean View Silvers!

We really look forward to welcoming you & hopefully your family in 2013, please make sure you come & say hi!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed here 8th - 12th October, and stayed in the basic bronze ocean view caravan. We had lovely views of the sea from our caravan. I was expecting it to be basic, but on arrival it was grubby in places, like the kitchen area hadn't been cleaned properly and bits in the shower. The only thing was the caravan was freezing. We had a bad week of consent heavy rain and wind, and even though the caravan had a small gas fire (which didn't work unless you used matches) it was still very cold at the opposite end to where the fire was. The bedrooms were located by the main door which was very drafty and no heat went into the bedrooms at all. A simple curtain over the main door would be ideal to stop any drafts coming through. The cooker didn't have a ignition button to light the gas hob or gas oven - again had to use matches.

We heard of the high carparking charges in Woolacombe so decided to take the footpath down to the town / beach, big mistake - not suitable at all in bad weather and we also had a toddler in a pushchair making it even more harder. Going back up was so much harder - as up hill, but again it was heavy rain so the ground was very slippy and muddy. We decided to drive into Woolacombe after that and found the main carpark in the centre by the beach was only £4 all day or £2 if you leave by 1pm. Maybe it was out of season prices and defintley worth paying than that footpath!

Woolacombe itself has a lovely beach but only a few shops, nearby Illfracombe was much better, more to do and see and lots more shops and cafes etc. We also drove to Croyde - although nothing there and drove to Barnstaple which is more like a town city centre with big shops.

The entertainment was ok, but my 2 year old was unsure of Woolly Bear, and wouldn't join in - but a lot of kids loved it and the entertainment team seem to work very hard. The childrens soft play room was small and basic though.

The food onsite was reasonably priced and huge portions. Good value childrens meals with drink and icecream. The acarade bit was ok but just the slot machines and a couple of teddybear mahines that never grab the teddy! The indoor swimming pool was nice and warm and the toddler area was great as my little boy could stand up in it.

Overall it was a nice break, although the weather spoilt it for us (not anyone's fault!).

Room Tip: If staying in colder months, go for a gold caravan with double glazing and heating in every room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSHP, Owner at Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for your comments.

We were sorry to hear you experienced such bad weather during your stay that felt spoilt your holiday.

The bronze basic caravans are not advertised as having central heating, however there are options to upgrade at any time of year to caravans that do. We are however for 2013 having brand new Ocean View GOLD caravans, therefore our current Ocean View Golds will become Ocean View Silvers (full central heating) & the current Ocean View silvers will become our Ocean View Bronze caravans and will have heating in every room. The current bronzes are being removed from site - work has begun on this which you can follow online.

The path is most likely not suitable after heavy rain. It is a National Trust footpath through farmers fields. The parking in Woolacombe during high season can reach £8 a day. If the weather is fine, the path is only a 10 minute walk to the beach and Woolacombe.

We apologise if you felt the caravan to be 'grubby' if you had made us aware we would have upgraded you or re-cleaned your unit.

We were glad you recognised how hard the Entertainment staff work. They try incredibly hard to ensure all the children and adults have a fantastic holiday, although sometimes children are scared of dressed up characters, Woolly Bear is just a big friendly teddy bear!

Woolacombe is the most stunning village with lots other than shops to offer, beautiful costal walks, surfing, the beach, local sight seeing and much more, although if it is shopping you are after, Barnstaple (a town) is more suitable with high-street shops. Woolacombe being an endearing small village that is unspoilt and not built up, is one of the reasons so many customers return to the area for a relaxing seaside break.

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and we hope to welcome you in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Just had a 4 day break on a sun holiday, the park is nice and clean, indoor pool is great, the bar was good and the food looked ok. Staff were all very nice and helpfull. We stayed in a chalet which was clean & modern, my only criticisms would be that the matteress in our chalet was near the end of it's life, and the kids soft play room was tiny. Other than that a nice all round package & i imagine we'll be back for the views and walks. Also the onsite shop is cheaper than some other shops nearby which was nice.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSHP, Owner at Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review, we were pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you for your comments. During the winter we check all mattresses and change, for new, the ones necessary. We will be checking and changing the chalets mattresses.

The children's play area is really only meant for babies and toddlers as we offer such a packed entertainments schedule during the day and night for all ages. It has however, got soft play, ride on rockers, soft climbing, Woolly soft seating and kids TV - the entertainment staff will also set up colouring, arts & crafts, games and more.

We do ensure our prices are competitive and check products daily to be in line with competitors and local supermarkets.

Thank you again & we look forward to welcoming you in 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

went to the camp on a sun promotion adn had a fantastic time - no complaints at all - on arrival we were let into our caravan over an hour early and it was spotlessly clean with great views over the sea and lundy island on one side and hills withe sheep roaming on the other. The beach was a 10 minute walk away but this wasnt a problem to us. The food on site was quite good and of an averge price. The swimming pool was good as were the amusment areas and entertainment - there were different areas if you did not want to sit in the main club you could go out on the veranda and there was a childrens play area open till late so the kids can play while you are watching entertainment. Woolacombe was a fantastic village with a lovely sandy beach and lots of rock pools that kept my kids busy. Ilfracombe was a lovely fishing village with great shops and resturants as well as boat trips and fishing trips being available. This was the best hoilday i have ever had in uk and will be returning next year.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSHP, Owner at Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for such a lovely review. We were thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your first stay with us & we look forward to welcoming you in 2013!

Many thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park

Address: Beach Road, Woolacombe EX34 7AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Woolacombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park offers you everything you could wish for from a Self-Catering family holiday. Set in the beautiful rolling coastal countryside with spectacular views overlooking the sea and Woolacombe's fabulous golden sands - one of the few beaches to achieve both the Blue Flag and Premier Resort awards - it's fun for all the family & we are the closest holiday park to the beach! Enjoy our indoor & outdoor heated swimming pools, or club with daily & nightly live entertainment, crazy golf, new children's park, football & basketball pitch, footpath to the beach & much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park Hotel Woolacombe
Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.