We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surf View Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woolacombe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Surf View Guest House
Save
You added Surf View Guest House to your Saves list
Beach Road, Woolacombe EX34 7AE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 20 Woolacombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“excellent B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We have not long returned from a Fabulous 3 night stay at Surf View. We stayed in Room 5, which was exceptionally clean, "roomy" and very comfortable. Steve and Shirley have thought about all the "home comforts" and little extras that visitors may want, and the fresh milk in the fridge which was replenished daily was the icing on the cake. The elevated position of the B&B allowed us to see and hear the waves crashing on Woolacombe beach from our own patio area ... which is a little slice of heaven to us. Steve and Shirley are very welcoming and friendly, the breakfasts were huge and delicious, with a good choice of both hot and cold options and nothing was too much trouble for them. We have only been back a week and we are already spreading the word about this exceptional B&B.... If you want a clean, modern, well equipped "home from Home" at a good price with great Hosts don't hesitate to book "Surf View Guest House".

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scwain, Owner at Surf View Guest House, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you so much for putting on such a positive review of your stay at Surf View.We were both so pleased when we read it. Hopefully we will be seeing you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
92
128
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed with steve and shirley for 3 nights. My friend and I arrived around 8 in the evening and steve was there to welcome us before we got out of the car. Extremely helpful and extremely friendly. Wonderful views of the sea. Quiet area and only a 10 minute walk to the beach and centre of Woolacombe. Not a single fault.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scwain, Owner at Surf View Guest House, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
It was a pleasure having you both stay with us and hopfully we shall be seeing you again.
So glad to hear that everything was without fault, and even the weather proved kind for your break.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We had a fantastic two night stay at Surf View. Steve and Shirley were both very welcoming and friendly - nothing was too much trouble! Breakfast was lovely with breathtaking views down to the sea. Rooms comfortable and spotlessly clean (loved the fridge with fresh milk for our tea and coffee). Great facilities to rinse out and hang up wet suits. Will definitely be returning in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scwain, Owner at Surf View Guest House, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the fact that you appreciated the fact that we are now providing real milk in the rooms as opposed to the UHT milk normally used. This is new for this season.
Hoping to welcoming you again in the neae future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I've stayed with Steve & Shirley quite a few times and always loved it! The rooms are bright and very clean with all the things you'd expect from mini fridges to Wi-Fi. Great showers with plenty of hot water and comfy beds are icing on the cake! You're made to feel right at home and Steve or Shirley are always around to help out with advice on the local area or anything else you might need. Breakfast is worth the stay on its own! Shirley cooks up an epic breakfast every morning never failing to deliver.
I could stay anywhere on the coast when I go away but my friends and I always end up back in Woolacombe beacuse of the fantastic hospitality at Surf View.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the outside rooms, you get your own little patio plus you can sneak in late at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scwain, Owner at Surf View Guest House, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
It was a pleasure seeing you again and thank you for the review, praise indeed, comimg from the assistant manager of Londons Hyatt Hotel.
Glad you enjoyed your weekend and hopefully we will be seeing you again later in the year, and incidently, no need to sneak in when late !!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Originally chosen due to the connecting gate for the Woolacombe Sands holiday park - I have stayed here around Easter time the last two years. The hotel itself is very clean, quiet and homely with beautiful views. The rooms are spacious, spotless, comfortable and modern. TV, Wi-Fi, mini fridge, hairdryer, etc. Amazing breakfast room and breakfasts! Steve & Shirley are so friendly and accommodating, truly one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in. I will have to visit in the summer to take full advantage of the wonderful outside seating areas! First class. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scwain, Owner at Surf View Guest House, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our guest house, it is most appreciated.
Hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Great hosts,clean and comfortable room, superb location, perfect breakfast only thing we would change is the weather! We will definitely be recommending to our friends and family. Chris and Caz from Bournemouth

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scwain, Owner at Surf View Guest House, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
So pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Welcomed by owners Steve & Shirley, we had a truly magical weekend break for our cousin's wedding. The service & rooms were exceptional. Extremely clean with a homely feel, the breakfast room was delightfully quaint with breathtaking views over Woolecombe. Will definitely be back especially for Steve's fab hot breakfast!!!

Thanks so much! :-)
Greetings from Milan!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scwain, Owner at Surf View Guest House, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for your review, so pleased that you enjoyed your weekend with us as did hopefully the rest of your party. Perhaps we shall see you again when you visit the UK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surf View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf View Guest House

Address: Beach Road, Woolacombe EX34 7AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Woolacombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Surf View Guest House is family-run and situated in a lovely location overlooking Woolacombe’s award-winning Blue Flag Beach with views across to Lundy Island, all set in the unspoilt county of North Devon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Surf View Guest House Woolacombe, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surf View Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.