We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing start but overall recommended” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Woodbury Park Hotel & Golf Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Woodbury Park Hotel & Golf Club to your Saves list
Woodbury Park Hotel & Golf Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Woodbury Castle, Woodbury Salterton EX5 1JJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Disappointing start but overall recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Woodbury Park hotel's own accommodation page says that they offer "accommodation with fabulous views overlooking our landscaped grounds and sweeping lawns to Devon countryside beyond". Well that sold it to me, and after booking through Booking.com we telephoned ahead to request such a room. Imagine our disappointment to be given a room with no view at all (101). There were shrubs blocking the view but even if they hadn't it would have been mainly car park, and I can see thaat many other rooms would also have car park views. I asked immediately at reception for a different room with a view, reminding that we had requested one. It didn't seem to have been noted. The receptionist asked if I had booked through Booking.com and when I confirmed I had, said there were no other rooms avaialble. I am not sure if this was an implication that if you book through Booking.com you get no view!
Anyway the room was other wise fine and very clean. i was very pleased that an iron and ironing board came as standard because you so often have to ask for one.
As we arrived over the Sunday and Monday of a public holiday the hairdressers and spa weren't open which was a shame.
The restaurant food was very good with varied choices and a real effort to include locally produced or inspired food. A couple of tips however for whoever trains the restaurant staff: could they please ask if you need anything else once they serve you - we had to wait for mustard and wine. In fact my husband had to stand up and find someone to get us some wine.
The gym is very well equipped. the pool is very nice, except like most hotels of this type rather overun with children, which is great if they are yours, but not so good if you want a quiet swim and only a third of the pool is given up to non child swimming.
However overall we liked this hotel and would return. The golf course looks terrific and the view from the lovely golf club terrace and coffee shop cum snack bar is amazing. the setting for the hotel in the middle of the Devon countryside is lovely and they have lots of other stuff we didn't sample like football pitches and tennis courts.

Room Tip: Although we didn't see the views, ask for a room with a view which is most likely to be an upper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    98
    47
    25
    14
See reviews for
41
109
8
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Just a one night stay at this large pleasant four star hotel. Not what we usually go for as a little of the "large hotel with lots of sports facilities " kind. We tend to go for Country House or Boutique or Quirky! Woodbury was none of these. What it was though, was clean, tidy, efficient and well run. The staff were friendly and helpful, the restaurant was spacious and the food excellent, The pool had a "recreation centre" feel about it, but it to was clean and tidy and large enough to swim our lengths with no difficulty. Comfy beds and a decent sized room adequately furnished for our needs. In all a pleasant stay (But without the Wow factor)

Room Tip: Sorry we can give no help for choosing a good room as we weren't there long enough to find out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

This is our 7th stay at Woodbury and we have just booked for new year. We love the location, facilities, golf, staff and hospitality.get some Woodbury park in your life! Golf course is absolutely fantastic at the moment. Good in the clubhouse gets better and better every year,
Always excellent value with great specials every time.tribute (beer) on tap, what more can I say!?

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Notts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Overpriced & not 4 star hotel!! Website needs to be updated to reflect this standard of hotel.

Stayed for Wedding Anniversary after seeing the hotel on Secret Escapes but they could not accommodate our dates, so contacted hotel direct but offer not the same.
Hotel is very tired. Wi Fi chargeable @ £5.00 per day! Evening meal good but self service breakfast was completely disorganised on Saturday 24th August - queues & waiting for food to appear, total disarray!! Website needs rewriting to reflect the standard of hotel.
Service from Reception staff is excellent.

Room Tip: Not Room 221 if your disabled!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed here for an overnight stay on a package deal including cream tea on arrival, 3 course meal and breakfast. The evening meal was outstanding, (the courgette and garlic soup was delicious) as was the main course where we both chose the creedy carver chicken breast with blue cheese risotto. The swimming pool has to be one of the best I've ever used and the changing facilities were very clean and I commend the owners for choosing to have a proper functioning family changing/combined shower cubicle - very handy to know for future reference. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel - and you don't have to be a golfer!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

My husband and I just booked a 2 night stay through the Secret Escapes website - there was a great offer where for £150 per night we got 2 x dinners, 2 x breakfasts, 2 x cream teas and prosecco in the bar pre-dinner each night. The room was fine, what you would expect from a 4* but the best thing about this hotel by far was the food. The evening meals were really excellent - it was not too busy and we were attended to really well by waiting staff. We went for the sea bream both nights - so tasty! The staff at reception were also unbelievably helpful and even let us choose our room on arrival. The spa was very clean and the facilties excellent. Really impressed - well done!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Booked at the last minute for 3 nights, great location with superb views over Woodbury Common and surrounding countryside, all the sports and leisure facilities anyone could want, great food in both restaurants, comfortable rooms, excellent staff, you could not ask for better.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room, superb views over the golf course and surrounding country side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Woodbury Park Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodbury Park Hotel & Golf Club

Address: Woodbury Castle, Woodbury Salterton EX5 1JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woodbury Salterton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Woodbury Salterton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodbury Park Hotel & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Woodbury Park Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodbury Park Hotel And Golf Club
Woodbury Park Hotel & Golf Club Woodbury Salterton, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodbury Park Hotel & Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.