We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Rising Sun Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Rising Sun Inn to your Saves list
The Rising Sun Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Pound Lane End | nr junction of A377 & B3227, Umberleigh EX37 9DU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Umberleigh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
sussex
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Pretty average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We went there for lunch.
Good points:
1. Main courses could be ordered in small, medium or large so no wastage
2. Food arrived pretty quickly
3. Friendly staff
Bad points:
1. Food uninspiring
2. very quiet
3. no atmosphere
4. bit chilly

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    12
    5
    3
    7
See reviews for
14
21
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

The food was good, the desert was expensive and average. It was cold and the bar had a few customers, no atmosphere. We had a meal there a few years ago and were disappointed with our visit. I think the management has changed. Go to the Bell at Chittlehampton instead.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We arrived at the Rising Sun just as they finished lunchtime shift but they went out of the way to make sure we could still get something to eat. They were such a friendly bunch. Really interested where we came from and the area we were visiting. Nothing was too much trouble. We can't comment on the evening meals but the snack we had at lunchtime was first class. I would have no hesitation in recommending this pub.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Went here for a meal one evening with friends. Food was good. Not particularly welcoming though. Loo was plastered with mildew. Probably wouldn't bother to go there again although the food was quite decent and good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umberleigh
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The land lord was a great laugh the staff were so friendly and coudnt do enough for us. the food was to die for especially the lamb rump on the specials board and the thurday steak night the best steak i have ever had. maybe that last comment they should have had meat lol. but our friends had the mushroom stroganoff and said it was lovely.

great stay.

Room Tip: dobbs a lovely room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Probably the worst roast dinner I have ever eaten. I ordered the Nut Roast but there was nothing ‘roast’ about it. Boiled Carrots, Peas and Cauliflower with a fried veggie burger from a supermarket served with gravy made from vegetarian gravy granules! And to top it off boiled Potatoes!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umberleigh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

4 visits to restaurant with current owners. Trip 1 ok trip 2 very mediocre, trip 3 OK and trip 4 on 26.11.11 very poor. 5 family members 4 meals below standard. Steak ordered medium rare came up medium to well done, chips were cooked in stale, reused oil. My wife ordered sea bass with a prawn sauce. It had clearly been left under heat lamps for some time as the sauce had dried out. My son ordered fish with prawn sauce but came with no sauce and was over cooked. Caesar salad, the croutons suffered the same fate as chips and were inedible. The steak was brought to the attention of the waitress. They did offer to cook another steak but the idea of a family meal is to eat together. They did take of the steak from the bill but when you complain to the waitress I do expect to see some personal intervention from management. If there had of been I probably would not have submitted this review. They were too busy taking to 3 or 4 regulars/friends at the bar. Indifferent and disappointing and will not return

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Rising Sun Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rising Sun Inn

Address: Pound Lane End | nr junction of A377 & B3227, Umberleigh EX37 9DU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Umberleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Umberleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rising Sun Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Rising Sun Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rising Sun Hotel Umberleigh
The Rising Sun Inn Umberleigh, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rising Sun Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.