We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great few days in Devon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Maltsters Arms

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Maltsters Arms to your Saves list
The Maltsters Arms
Tuckenhay TQ9 7EQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Tuckenhay B&B and Inns
1 review
“Great few days in Devon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

What an wonderful spot and a great little hotel and restaurant! Excellent food and friendly service and overall an enjoyable few days. Thanks to George and Alison and their team for making our stay so entertaining!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    32
    13
    7
    6
See reviews for
27
70
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

This is my new favourite pub! We live in London, and my wife and I like nothing more than to get out of town for the weekend and find a nice little pub (and B&B ideally) where we can let our hair down, have some good food, great wine and enjoy being in the countryside. We were down at The Maltsters Arms 2 weeks ago, which has an idyllic spot right on the River Dart, in a little place called Tuckenhay. The food was great, service was friendly & efficient and they had a great wine list, which we spent two days ploughing through. We stayed in the B&B as well, which was clean and well made up and enjoyed a full traditional English Breakfast they way it should be, before making our way back into town. Nothing more to say. Loved it! Well done guys

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totnes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Eaten here a few times and the food has never let me down. I've always thought the service could be a little 'happier' but the food makes up for it. On this occasion, a few of us decided to try out breakfast as it was such a lovely day. No staff seemed to know if they did breakfast, and when they did, it took the lad 20 minutes to find a menu (with no prices on!). Ordering our breakfast seemed too difficult for him, as we had a couple of simple modifications. It arrived, and for the price it was pretty small. I suggest if they are to do breakfast, they train the staff about it first!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

This has to one of the most idyllic settings for a pub i have ever stayed at. We used it as a base to explore the wonderful countryside and other pubs, but ended up eating at Maltster most of the time as the food was head and shoulders above the rest. Very friendly staff make it a very relaxing stay. I cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

My husband have just returned from another wonderful weekend at the Maltsers Arms. The location, the food, the service, the rooms, the staff were all wonderful. Thoroughly recommend it for a great weekend away.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Great service, very friendly family run pub and good food. Would highly recommend.we spent a very happy weekend at the pub and saw that is was a key part of the local community as well as being a destination in its own right. A perfect spot for a weekend away break.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Food rubbish, service rubbish, waited over an hour for food to arrive and then only when the waitress was asked again. So no change in service since 2011. Plus point, lovely location but my advice is buy some good local produce in Totnes and enjoy a nice picnic on the River Dart. Lots of good pubs in Devon, this is NOT one of them.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Maltsters Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maltsters Arms

Address: Tuckenhay TQ9 7EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Tuckenhay
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Tuckenhay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Maltsters Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Maltsters Arms Hotel Tuckenhay
The Maltsters Arms Tuckenhay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Maltsters Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.