We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A haven for cyclists!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Angel Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Angel Guest House to your Saves list
Angel Guest House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   13 St. Peter Street, Tiverton EX16 6NU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 30 Tiverton B&B and Inns
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A haven for cyclists!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We were on a cycling holiday and arrived soaked through. Chris and Sue couldn't have been more helpful, providing somewhere secure for the bikes, a service wash for our kit, and an airing cupboard to dry trainers! They are well set up for cyclists. Sue is also a qualified sports physiotherapist and gave me an excellent sports massage for aching legs. The room was functional and the little stylish touches compensated for the fact that Chris and Sue still have quite a bit of work to do on the fabric of the rooms in this very old building. Excellent breakfast, excellent service. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    17
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
15
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
nellie20
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We booked into a double room with shared bathroom, but ended up with an en suite, which was a lovely surprise. The Angel is an old building, but I was surprised to find out it was 300 years old - it doesn't look that old!!

The owner was very friendly - and extremely helpful if we had any questions.

We were in Tiverton for a friend's party so knew we'd be back late - 3:30am in fact - having a front door key was fantastic (and the stairs don't creak!).

The breakfast was divine - what more can I say???

We would definitely recommend the Angel and would stay there ourselves if we come back down to Tiverton.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Really enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere, good views, happy dog, good food and thoughtful owners. I'd like to come back with my husband for a refreshing week's vacation. We had good hiking from here and there was good info available at the guesrhouse.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Very friendly staff and great cooked breakfast. This is not luxury accommodation but it is very good value for money. The staff were very accommodating and helpful and I would stay here again. It was also really helpful to be able to park for free at the rear of the property.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Angel Guest House on day 2 of our Land's End - John O'Groats trip and so had our bikes with us. The hosts are very happy having cyclists staying, which is great, it makes you feel less like you're being a nuisance with your bike in tow.

Our hosts were really welcoming and happy to help out. Our bikes went in their shed/garage at the back of the property. Apparently, we could also have opted for a sports massage as they're fully kitted out and trained to provide them in-house. I was disappointed I hadn't clocked this earlier!

Our room had all the basics and was bright and clean. It wasn't luxurious but that's not what you'd expect for the bargain price that it is.

Breakfast in the morning was good - porridge was thrust upon us with the sage advice "this'll kick in at 11am" and then there was the option for a full English afterwards (my boyfriend accepted, I just stuck with toast). It was nice to have someone fully appreciating the mammoth day we had lined up in a 'cyclists united' kind of way!

As we headed out of the door, we had our photo taken for their website - apparently they have a lot of LEJOG-ers and they like charting our progress. I thought that was a really fun touch and rounded off our stay nicely.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Picked here on the basis of trip adviser, and couldn't be more right. Particularly amenable and 'Customer focussed' (as we now say) hosts. A pleasant, clean, Georgian town house with some parking to rear and some street parking in front. useful offer of packed brekkers for those Hot air Balloonists who use it, and just a very pleasant 10 minute walk to the Festival site.

Room Tip: All windows are double glazed I believe, so quite nicely quiet. we were at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

What a great B&B. no it's not a boutique B&B - thank goodness!
Super value, very clean. Yep shared bath / shower rooms but no problems as there with plenty of towels and hot water.
Great little pub round the corner with 4 super local cask ales and 4 ciders.
A quiet and great nights sleep followed by a top notch English breakfast.
Finally thanks to Chris and Sue the owners.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Angel Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angel Guest House

Address: 13 St. Peter Street, Tiverton EX16 6NU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Tiverton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Tiverton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Angel Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'The Angel' Guesthouse is situated in Tiverton's central conservation area close to all the town facilities. 'The Angel' B&B makes an ideal base for visiting the unspoiled Devon countryside. Tiverton is centrally placed in Devon to visit Dartmoor, Exmoor and the North and South Coasts. Gary and Angela Mulligan look forward to welcoming you to 'The Angel' B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Angel Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angel Guest House Tiverton, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angel Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.