We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Tiverton Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Tiverton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Tiverton Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Blundells Road, Tiverton EX16 4DB, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Tiverton
GreenLeadersBronze level
Devon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“lovely hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

lovely hotel good sized rooms, comfortable beds,had another weekend here just to get away and will certainly go back. Staff very friendly and if you go you must eat in the restaurant the food is absolutely delicious.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
writerWestCountry, Owner at BEST WESTERN Tiverton Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear EllieDevon,

Thanks for your great review on our facilities and friendly staff, we love it when our guests relax and enjoy themselves whilst staying with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the hotel in the future.

regards

Rhys Roberts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    117
    125
    38
    13
    2
See reviews for
36
116
14
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My children and I were guests at a wedding on the 10th November, I'd just like to say that we had an amazing weekend.
We stayed in a family room which was very spacious, it was novel having blankets on the beds, reminded me of when I was a child! We had an abundance of towels, and also bath robes, I was impressed with the quantity and quality of toiletries that were provided.
The breakfast on the Saturday and Sunday morning was delicious, there was a very good selection of food, something for all tastes.
The wedding breakfast was out of this world, from start to finish I couldn't fault it and I am a very fussy eater!! The only thing I can find to complain about is the prices charged at the bar, I did feel that they were rather steep..
On a whole I felt that the hotel was clean, tidy and had very helpful staff, I would recommend and if we are ever in the area again would not hesitate to book here!
Thank you from Wales!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
writerWestCountry, Owner at BEST WESTERN Tiverton Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear catjos-12,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the wedding. The feedback we received from all the wedding party was just as strong and it was lovely to share the bride and groom's happiness on the day.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

regards

Rhys Roberts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Would recommend as great reasonably priced stop off M5. Clean, comfortable and good sized room, quiet at night and nice view of the river. Room decor good with nice extras - hair dryer, big fluffy towels and robes, toiletries and trouser press! Very friendly and efficient staff who were helpful. Came for a wedding which was managed really well. Impressed with quality, quantity of food & was nice & hot! Will definitely stay again when in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
writerWestCountry, Owner at BEST WESTERN Tiverton Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Maggie C,

Thanks for taking the time to write your kind review. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and we've already received great feedback for the bride and groom.

Thanks again and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

kind regards

Rhys roberts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I have stayed here several times as I lead training weekends for a charity. The rooms are always clean and well-serviced. It is a little dated, yes, but not hugely so. The staff, led by Wayne the manager, are delightful and very well trained, even the very young trainees were professional and polite. The food is both plentiful and delicious and breakfast, although served at a buffet, is manned by staff and served piping hot on good hot plates! If on a working trip the executive suite has good large rooms with a huge desk and all the facilities you need inclduing free wi-fi. On the business side again, this hotel organises rooms and facilities for training/business events with great efficiency and flexibility.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
writerWestCountry, Owner at BEST WESTERN Tiverton Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear FairyGrandmother,

You must be a FairyGrandmother!, seriously thank you for your kind and considered review. The team here will be delighted to get such feedback and we do try very hard to give our guests as enjoyable experience as we can. We recognise we don't have the most modern of hotels to say the least but it's all about the people for me and we try and treat all our guests as friends.

kind regards

Rhys Roberts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I have stayed in this Hotel years ago when it was called the Tiverton Motel. Thats showing my age ! On arrival the two female receptions were paying more attention to the computer, when I was eventually acknowledged the staff member was extremely morose and lethargic. On checking in the room which was very dated and probably hasn't been upgraded for quite a few years (the only exception being the TV which was a flat screen) I found the room to be in quite an unclean condition. Flakes of chocolate were found on a comfy chair and pubic hair in the bathroom. In addition, the corners of the room were also dirty. I am unable to comment on the breakfast as I chose not to have one due to the cost of it combined with the hotel fees which in my opinion was expensive for the location. On checking out of the hotel the receptionist (a different one) was robotic, miserable and slow. At no point was I even asked if I enjoyed my stay there. For morale to be so bad there must be some management issues and training that needs addressing before I would even consider a second visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
writerWestCountry, Owner at BEST WESTERN Tiverton Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Country-Gent-66,

To say we are all shocked by your review would be putting it mildly, this is easily the worst review we have ever received and to read of uninterested staff and dirty rooms is very disheartening to say the least and if true describes a hotel I can't recognise.

Something obviously has gone wrong from the moment you arrived and it may be that you did not have time to bring it to anyone's attention during your stay however I would ask that you contact me personally so I can discuss all aspects of your visit.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Rhys Roberts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stopped off on way to Barnstable on business - very convenient for M5. Accommodation was spacious with all you would expect for a business location with large desk and comfortable chair and easy to connect and free access to WiFi. Food plentiful and good quality. Not somewhere I would spend my holidays but perfect for business and reasonable price

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
writerWestCountry, Owner at BEST WESTERN Tiverton Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear pb56422,

Thanks for your great review, I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Trust your business trip was successful.

kind regards

Rhys Roberts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the Best Western on a business trip and although it could do with some redecorating it was clean, had good service and the breakfast was lovely. I only paid £57 for a large room with a double and single bed in it.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
writerWestCountry, Owner at BEST WESTERN Tiverton Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Louise H,

Thanks for your great review particularly on the quality of our cleanliness and breakfasts.

Your right to point out that from time to time we have great offers available and I would recommend checking out our website which details which offers we have available at the time.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future and showing you some of our superior rooms which feature king size beds and power showers.

Kind regards

Rhys Roberts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Tiverton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Tiverton Hotel

Address: Blundells Road, Tiverton EX16 4DB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Tiverton
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Tiverton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Tiverton Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set In 2 acres on the edge of the market town of Tiverton in the heart of beautiful Mid Devon, we are a 69 room mid-market hotel with extensive conference and banqueting facilities. We are very accessible from junction 27 M5 motorway and we offer free on site parking including recharging facilities for electric vehicles. We have a range of standard and superior rooms and we also offer free Wifi. We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Tiverton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Tiverton Hotel Devon
Tiverton Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Tiverton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.