We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful house in a stunning location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Howden House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Howden House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Howden House Bed and Breakfast
Howden, Tiverton EX16 5PB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 30 Tiverton B&B and Inns
Brighton, England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful house in a stunning location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We travelled to Tiverton for a long weekend with our young family, including our 1 year old and 3 year old boys. Martin and Louise were very welcoming and made us all feel at home instantly. Our room was spacious even with an additional put-you-up bed and travel cot and had a stunning view to wake up to. The breakfast and jar of homemade biscuits in our room were delicious and the boys loved meeting the goats and the chickens. Great location too. Very glad we booked an extra night!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise S, Owner at Howden House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
We so enjoyed having you all here and being involved in the excitement of the skydive! Really pleased that you enjoyed your time here and thank you for your really kind review. Pepper says hello to the boys.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
9
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashtead
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We had a great weekend break here. Very peacful and Martin & Louise were perfect hosts. Good location for what we wanted and pre-stay, Lousie was very helpful with restaurant location. Stunning views from the en-suite. Fautless!!

Room Tip: One room does not have WiFi but otherwise all is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise S, Owner at Howden House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thanks very much for your lovely review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us - and the view from your bedroom. It was really good to meet you both and I hope you'll have reason to visit again. Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beautiful Shetland Islands
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night as part of a touring holiday in the southwest and Wales. The owner was very friendly and informal and this was just right for us. The room was comfortable, the brekkie was good and the location was perfect for accessing the town.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, Devon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Clean, quiet, comfortable. Good value. cycled along the canal tow path - saw a Kingfisher! Enjoyed it so much the next day we took out a rowing boat. Knightshayes National Trust House is nearby - the tour round the kitchen garden is a delight.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise S, Owner at Howden House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thank you very much for your nice review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found some of the lovely things to do in and around Tiverton. We'll hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aachen
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We didn't plan to stay at Howden House, but as our intended accomodation had to shortly cancel the booking, we were recommended this place. And it was great!
We only had one night at Howden House but we wouldn't want to miss it.
We received a very warm and hearty welcome, and the children felt very well cared for. They were taken to the chickens and the goats and could play with the dog.
Our room was transformed into a family room, had comfortable beds with a fantastic view over the valley. The bath was modern and spacious. Everything was very tidy.
Breakfast was served at a big table together with two other guests and was very tasteful.
We can recommend Howden House!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhosneigr, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Great directions meant we found this convenient but peaceful B and B with no trouble. Beautiful surroundings. Warm welcome from our hosts. Room was spotlessly clean. Very comfortable beds with lovely linen. A delicious breakfast was quickly whipped up to order. All in all we could not have hoped for a better place to stay, or to be hosted by a friendlier couple.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Stayed two nights to attend a family celebration in tiverton. First class B & B. Louise and Martin welcoming and helpful hosts. Bedroom most comfortable with fabulous views. . Breakfast equally good with fresh eggs from the hens in the garden. Highly recommended I would definitely visit again

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Howden House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howden House Bed and Breakfast

Address: Howden, Tiverton EX16 5PB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Tiverton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Tiverton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Howden House Bed and Breakfast, Tiverton, Devon is set in over an acre of garden and woodland on the edge of this historic market town. The house and garden enjoy magnificent views over the Exe Valley and the garden backs onto farmland. There are two comfortable twin rooms, each with an en-suite bathroom and stunning view. Howden House B and B is 10 minutes from junction 27 of the M5. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Howden House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howden House Bed And Breakfast Tiverton, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howden House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.