We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Middle of the road” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Cellar Restaurant

The Cellar Restaurant
12a Fore Street, Tiverton EX16 6LH, England
01884 259509
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 57 restaurants in Tiverton
Price range: $7 - $47
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Description: The Cellar Restaurant,a little gem found in,or rather under, Tiverton. Offering high quality, freshly prepared dishes using locally sourced produce.Fully licenced restaurant with an excellent wine list. A freindly and relaxed English Restaurant.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Middle of the road”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant was empty which instantly gave us a bad feeling for a Friday night,the waitress was very good and took care of our every need,the food was good but very overpriced for what was on your plate,the atmosphere is lovely but the place could do with a little makeover

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    35
    8
    4
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
south england
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“AMAZING FOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We visited this restaurant this evening for the first time. We found the food to be presented nicely and both our meals were extremely tasty.

The waitress was very welcoming and attentive. We would definitely visit this restaurant again and would recommend it to other family members and friends.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midalnds uk
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good value after initial apprehension!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Tiverton doesn't seem to have much in the way of restaurants and, needing some food, we ended up choosing this.

Walking down the stairs I wasn't holding out too much hope, but the menu looked inviting enough. Apparently it's recently re-opened.

The decor is friendly (wood panels etc), pretty good wine list and food was perfectly fine. The 2-1 mains were pretty good value as well and the starters that we had from the a la carte were good.

Shame they don't put a photo of the interior on their signs outside as I bet many potential customers walk on by.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Lovely meal. Bit of a shame that the restaurant was quiet for a thursday night. Would like to go back as I am sure the atmosphere would be even better if it were busier.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cullompton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Hurrah, open again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Having been to the Cellar a few times in the past and always enjoying it we were delighted to see that it had reopened after its recent closure. The ambience remains great, the food was superb as was the service with the new front of house lady, who was extremely bubbly and enthusiastic, and her new protege Jess. Excellent menu choice with every single item cooked fresh and to perfection....loved it and will be back soon......urge you to try it, you won't be disappointed!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cellar Restaurant also viewed

 
Tiverton, Devon
 

Been to The Cellar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cellar Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.