We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully refurbished rooms, fab bed linen” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hartnoll Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Hartnoll Hotel to your Saves list
The Hartnoll Hotel
Bolham, Tiverton EX16 7RA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tiverton
romsey
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Beautifully refurbished rooms, fab bed linen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

What joy to have wonderful soft bed, goose down pillows and glorious linen. Makes for a wonderful nights sleep, and I've so often found dreadful lumpy pillows in other places. Bathroom very modern, tho I prefer not to have the overhead shower. Breakfast was good, cooked excellent, but fruit and pastries limited on cold offerings. We had dinner for 5 on Sunday ecvening. Very good food, not cheap, £7.50 for scallop or carpaccio starters that were quite small. Nice selection for mains and the menu changes regularly. Cheeseboard was ample and good for sharing

Stayed February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hartnollhotel21, Owner at The Hartnoll Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you very much for posting your review it is very appreciated. I will mention to chef that you thought the scallops were a bit small, but I am very pleased that on the whole you had a good experience here. Hope to see you again at sometime in the future. Thanks for coming. claire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    47
    11
    10
    9
See reviews for
58
90
12
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tiverton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had tea at the hotel this afternoon. There were 5 of us celebrating my mother's 80th birthday (the staff didn't know this so we didn't get special treatment).

We were seated by the fire in the lounge by a charming man who I later learnt was Nelson. He advised us to mix and match our afternoon and our cream teas so we didn't order too much food and he was correct.

We had a lovely mix of sandwiches (beef and horseradish and ham and mustard) and a cream teas with exceptionally nice scones.

He was very attentive and extremely helpful. I hope his manager appreciates him.

The other staff were okay but didn't really pay us too much attention.

The decor and style of the lounge was just to my taste and everything looked lovely with the Christmas decorations. Glad to see there was no Emperor of Exmoor on display!

Thank you Nelson for making our visit so pleasant.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hartnollhotel21, Owner at The Hartnoll Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Hi, Thank you for your review for us. Nelson is a gem and is greatly appreciated by myself, all the stafff and most importantly our customers. I suspect that the other staff left him to it as too much attention can be very annoying. We have an excellent team here at the Hartnoll now. It has taken a while to get what we have and I shall do my very best to look after it. Best wishes for the new year. Claire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed at The Hartnoll for 4 days over New Year and couldn't fault it at all..The staff were helpful and friendly only wish i could remember their names..We stayed from Sat 29th-Wed 2nd Jan so i hope the owner will look at her rota and give the praise(and perhaps a little bonus) to the girls concerned.From breakfast right up until bedtime(1.30am on New Years Eve)they smiled.The rooms were kept emaculate and very clean.Even though we went out for New Years eve when we came back late we were welcomed into the celebrations,to which my son put on a great performance on the dancefloor lol.Overall i would just like to say a business is only as good as the people running it and The owner of The Hartnoll wants to be very grateful for her wonderful staff who make a stay at The Hartnoll a great one...Thanks Girls! x

Room Tip: We were in room 11,looks out over the conservatory,its on a little wing with only 1 room next to it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hartnollhotel21, Owner at The Hartnoll Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Mr. and Mrs. Turner, The staff and I are so glad you enjoyed your stay here at the Hartnoll. I have shown the staff your lovely review, as I always do, this way they can see how our customers feel with all the effort that goes into the running of a hotel. I do very much appreciate the good team that I have, they are all very happy and it shows. New Year's eve was a great night and glad you could join in the dancing, you missed the really good magician we had earlier. Hope you see you again at some time. Regards and best wishes for the new year. Claire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Hi Just a quick feed back, Staff excellent, apart from no heating in are room no 18 we had to use a fan heater not good for £110/night. Door had a 1/2 gap at the right hand side ,this needs sorting.
Bed good.
Dinner £85 bit over priced started dinner at 1.15pm finished 4.15. maybe its me but the soup came out in a expresso cup.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hartnollhotel21, Owner at The Hartnoll Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Sharon and Rob, Thank you for leaving a review regarding your Christmas stay. I know that the underfloor heating is on permanently but in extreme conditions it is not as efficient so we do provide additional heat source. Our course lunch does take a bit of time to serve and I do apologize if this was too long for you. We had a great many compliments on Christmas Day and I believe that everyone else found this time acceptable. I would like to wish you both a very happy New Year and hope to see you again, it is wise to book early to get into the main hotel building. Regards, Claire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedford
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

On one of the coldest nights of the year I arrived to a very pleasant welcome and a lovely snug and comfortable bedroom.
The rooms are modern and the bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept in for a long time.
All staff I came into contact with were great but my only slight niggle (and believe me it is slight) was the sniffing and coughing waitress at breakfast.
I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hartnollhotel21, Owner at The Hartnoll Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thanks for your review regarding your stay and I do remember the night, very very cold. I am sorry about the waitress with a cold, I have brought this to the attention of all of the staff, some of them were quite shocked that a customer had noticed and had put it in a review, but this is all good for them to be aware. I am very pleased with the team here at the Hartnoll, but there will always be something for me to pull them up on!!! Best wishes for the new year. Claire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Right from the very friendly reception staff through to waiters etc the staff were excellent all round the room was spotless as was the ultra modern ensuite lovely comfortable beds and pillows ensured we had a great nights sleep .breakfast was also very very good with service and food without fault we would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to stay in the Tiverton area ,we will return ,many thanks to all at the hartnoll.

Room Tip: Try for a room at the back overlooking the gardens we had room 1'lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hartnollhotel21, Owner at The Hartnoll Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Andy, Thank you so much for your wonderful review and so glad you enjoyed your stay. We do our very best and take pride in the newly renovated hotel. The bedding we have chosen is the very best that is available and it is worth every penny. Our guest nearly always remark on the quality of the beds and bedding. Again thank you and look forward to seeing you on your return. Claire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Fabulous welcome with a warm family atmosphere. The food was fantastic with loads of yummy choices locally sourced. The surrounding scenery was so beautiful.......we wished we had had more time for walking. There are plenty of local attractions including Knightshayes and the fabulous canal with horse drawn barges.......so picturesque. We will be back soon for another visit and will recommend you to all our friends. Thank you for helping to give me a birthday to remember!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hartnollhotel21, Owner at The Hartnoll Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thanks for the review and taking the trouble to let our other potential customers know what the hotel is like. We always do our very best to give everyone a good experience and it is lovely for myself and the staff the read comments like these. Thanks Claire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hartnoll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hartnoll Hotel

Address: Bolham, Tiverton EX16 7RA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Tiverton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tiverton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Hartnoll Hotel is nestled on the edge of the Exmoor National Park, in the delightful Exe Valley in Devon. With stunning decor, sumptuous fabrics, plenty of space to relax, eat and drink and exemplary customer service, it is the perfect place to relax with friends and family or meet with colleagues Each of the Hartnoll Hotel's 18 superior double rooms offers elegance and comfort. Our comfortable and spacious bedroom's have en-suite bathroom facilities and are fully equipped to the highest modern standards. Many enjoy spectacular countryside views. Attention to detail is the key at the Hartnoll Hotel, with Egyptian cotton sheets, plush duvets, plump fluffy towels, complimentary toiletries and luxurious toweling dressing gowns are perfect for an indulgent night of pampering. We offer a full breakfast with all our room rates, which can be taken in the conservatory, so you can sip freshly ground coffee in the warmth of Devon sunshine. Why not end your day with a glass of wine in the sitting room, where guests can sit back, relax and enjoy Devon hospitality at its best - Hartnoll style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your The Hartnoll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hartnoll Hotel Tiverton, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hartnoll Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.