We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel for miles” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hartnoll Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Hartnoll Hotel to your Saves list
The Hartnoll Hotel
Bolham, Tiverton EX16 7RA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tiverton
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Best hotel for miles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This is a wonderful little gem in mid-devon. I was given a tour of the hotel by a friendly member
of staff, all the rooms are unique and have been thoughtfully designed. I have recommended to
several friends, no one has been disappointed. The staff are friendly without being overly
patronising, nothing is too much trouble.

Great food, beautifully served. A warm summers evening with a good glass of wine in this lovely
garden is a must.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden are quiet with just the occasional hoot from a passing owl.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hartnollhotel21, Owner at The Hartnoll Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you very much for posting your lovely review for us. So glad you enjoyed your time here at the Hartnoll and let others know about it. It is a special place for guests and also the staff who enjoy working here and this reflects in their attitude when working. Regards to you. Claire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    47
    11
    10
    9
See reviews for
58
90
12
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Uffculme, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I stayed here on 14 September with my now husband, 2 friends and 7 year old daughter. We live about 10 miles away and got married at Tiverton registry office earlier that day. We did not want to travel and living in such a beautiful area we saw no need to. I spent months looking for somewhere that would meet our needs: contemporary but not citified, luxurious rooms, excellent food and a decent bar. We shared the hotel with a large party as there was a wedding on in the function room. We were assured that our small party of 5 would not be affected by this. We were not disappointed. The rooms were small but immaculate and the perfect blend of contemporary (the bathrooms) luxury (the Egyptian cotton sheets) and country (gun lockers!). The food was amazing - one of those rare meals in this country where every mouthful looked and tasted divine. However, the best part of the whole day was the attention to detail by the staff - particularly the waiter/Maitre D from Madeira who made our day the most special day that we will remember for a long time. He offered the kind of service that you rarely see in this country and he made us feel like we were the most important people in the hotel. I am not easily pleased but this hotel certainly ticked all the boxes. I am looking forward to spending my anniversarys here in years to come.

Room Tip: We were a bit hot in our room but we did not think to open the window until the morning. Our room ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hartnollhotel21, Owner at The Hartnoll Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you very much for posting such a lovely review on our Tripadvisor site. I hope too that you will come back for your anniversaries in years to come and that the service will continue to meet your expectation and more. We are due to build more rooms shortly and then our planned spa, so this will be an added bonus for you. Bet wishes to you for a long and happy marriage. Claire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I have never stayed in such a tiny double room - we had to take turns to walk round the bed. It was Room 5. Would have been fine if it had been a single. Also, light switches were such that the bathroom light (with glass door) was by the entry door to the room so one had to walk round the narrow gap at bottom of bed to turn on the bathroom light. Apart from that, the place was OK - maybe other rooms are good & we were unlucky? Just avoid Room 5!

Room Tip: Avoid Room 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hartnollhotel21, Owner at The Hartnoll Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. Yes number 5 is small compared to our other rooms, it would be more inconvenient to have a single bed, as mostly we use this room for single occupancy, but probably once a week we need it as a double and most people are happy with this rather than no room at all. Being an old hotel that has been renovated, in this instance it was impossible to move any walls as there is a back stair/fire escape adjoining it, an outside wall and a holding wall. This is always the last room we let out and hope that when you come back another would be available. Best wishes. Claire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

A work colleague and I stayed here recently during a business trip. We had been told by the company we were visiting that they had reserved rooms in our name, on our behalf, at the Hartnoll Hotel. But, when we got there, we found out that they hadn't (they had forgotten, whoops!). So there we were, two 'strangers' with no reservations at a hotel that was fully booked. Most hotels would simply have turned us away, but not this one. There was what I can only call a 'stately home' on a nearby estate, the owner of which was on holiday. But the hotel owner magically arranged for us to stay there instead (two enormous picturesque bedrooms - think of 'Downton abbey' and you're there), and the hotel staff walked through the rain and mud to prepare our rooms with clean hotel sheets, towels, etc. We had the run of the place and used the hotel bar and restaurant for our drinks and meals, etc. The hotel staff, without exception, were absolutely fantastic and bent over backwards to make us feel welcome. They were even 'concerned' that they could only put us up in a stately home! All I can say is that we experienced a level of service and friendliness that was way beyond the call of duty. Truly amazing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hartnollhotel21, Owner at The Hartnoll Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thanks for the review gents. It was lovely to meet you, such up beat chaps. We could not have turned you out into the night! So glad you enjoyed your exciting stay in the mansion. Hope you get the contract and see you again i'm sure and perhaps this time you will get a hot bath. Regards, Claire - I forgot to tell you that it is haunted!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Country
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is a very pleasant hotel with really friendly and helpful staff. The room we had (room 1) was very comfortable and had a chaise longue and and a comfortable arm chair to relax on. The hotel gardens were very pleasant for a relaxing stroll too.

The choice and quality of the food in the restaurant was first rate at breakfast, lunch and dinner. It was always carefully prepared, nicely served in a very pleasant conservatory. The hotel clearly has a local following because the dining room was fully booked each evening. A good sign fully confirmed by our experience.



We did find the entrance a little off-putting. It was not immediately clear where the check-in desk was and when we found it it was in an area that seemed under-lit. We had initial misgivings. But from then on the hotel performed beyond our expectations. We will visit again!

Room Tip: The rooms at the front do face a busy road. However, the double glazing is very effective. Only a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hartnollhotel21, Owner at The Hartnoll Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thanks for your lovely review, it is so appreciated and good that our potential customers can see what a stay here is like. Best wishes claire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torpoint, Cornwall.
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Had a meal here for my Mother's 70th Birthday and the food was amazing. Ate in the conservatory area and the room was lovely, the seating was very comfortable and the food was faultless. Glad we chose this as our Restaurant of choice as I don't think the food could have been better anywhere else. Hoping to come back to this area next year and would definately want to eat here again.

Room Tip: If you are travelling to this restaurant by taxi, get an up-front price to avoid any mis-understandi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hartnollhotel21, Owner at The Hartnoll Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Many thanks for your review, I am a great fan of tripadvisor and thank you for helping our potential customer decide whether to come here or not. Claire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Our room was charming, the linen was spotless, the bathroom had everything you could possibly need right down to a toothbrush, toothpaste, razor and shaving gel. The food was excellent and the staff were simply superb - nothing was too much trouble. My wife was recuperating and the ease with which we could arrange to have breakfast in our room was most welcome.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hartnollhotel21, Manager at The Hartnoll Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments, I will pass them on to the rest of the team. It was such a pleasure to have you both, and we hope to see you again soon.
Kind Regards, Lorna Tapp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hartnoll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hartnoll Hotel

Address: Bolham, Tiverton EX16 7RA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Tiverton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tiverton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Hartnoll Hotel is nestled on the edge of the Exmoor National Park, in the delightful Exe Valley in Devon. With stunning decor, sumptuous fabrics, plenty of space to relax, eat and drink and exemplary customer service, it is the perfect place to relax with friends and family or meet with colleagues Each of the Hartnoll Hotel's 18 superior double rooms offers elegance and comfort. Our comfortable and spacious bedroom's have en-suite bathroom facilities and are fully equipped to the highest modern standards. Many enjoy spectacular countryside views. Attention to detail is the key at the Hartnoll Hotel, with Egyptian cotton sheets, plush duvets, plump fluffy towels, complimentary toiletries and luxurious toweling dressing gowns are perfect for an indulgent night of pampering. We offer a full breakfast with all our room rates, which can be taken in the conservatory, so you can sip freshly ground coffee in the warmth of Devon sunshine. Why not end your day with a glass of wine in the sitting room, where guests can sit back, relax and enjoy Devon hospitality at its best - Hartnoll style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your The Hartnoll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hartnoll Hotel Tiverton, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hartnoll Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.