We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hartnoll Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Hartnoll Hotel to your Saves list
The Hartnoll Hotel
Bolham, Tiverton EX16 7RA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tiverton
Surrey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Charming and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

I loved my two night stay at this hotel. The staff are so efficient and friendly although always so busy. My room was charming with a lovely view of the garden. The bedding is to die for - silky soft Egyptian cotton. Everything was spotlessly clean, the hospitality tray was well stocked, the shower was pefect, the flat screen TV well positioned for easy viewing. Although the hotel was busy over Mothers Day weekend, it was always so quiet and peaceful upstairs. Breakfasts were absolutely perfect, and so was the lunch on Saturday. A 'Boutique' hotel worthy of the title.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hartnollhotel21, Owner at The Hartnoll Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the trouble to post your review and so glad you enjoyed your stay here at the Hartnoll hotel. Our staff are wonderful and go to lots of effort to make your experience here one to remember. It is such a pleasure to read reviews from our happy guests and thank you again. Claire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    47
    11
    10
    9
See reviews for
58
90
12
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Booked into the executive mini suite only to find no fire safety notice, no instructions, no paper, no pen and despite its adverts no chocolates nor fresh flowers. Mind you as I was given a discounted rate I suppose they had to make their savings somewhere. Some advice on how to watch the wall mounted flatscreen tv from the seated area would have helped. Furthermore despite asking not to have a glass bathroom there we were with a great big open window over the loo! The pull down blind did help but not the glass door that neither locks nor seals. You have to be on good relations with your sleeping partner as you can hear everything!! The high point was the food which was good and helped further by the flexibility of the chef - great fish!

Room Tip: Make sure you are ok with the glass bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

I stayed here for a wedding for the weekend. Sparkling clean room. The furniture in my room was mirrored so it really gave the impression of being sparkling. That was my first impression on entering the room. Everything was really clean and spotless. Not a speck of dust in sight! The bed was so comfortable I wanted to stay in it all day!! The tea making facilities were all in a chest type box and so much in there to choose from. The staff were all friendly and very helpful always asking me if I had everything I needed. Since I was staying there on my own this made me feel welcomed. The food was excellent. Most of it locally sourced I believe. I cannot praise this hotel and its staff enough. I highly recommend the Hartnoll and give it a well deserved 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hartnollhotel21, Owner at The Hartnoll Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Many thanks for posting a lovely review for us, it is most appreciated. Regards, Claire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

I chose this hotel as it welcomed dogs. The room was in the Coach House by the main road. A little noisy & rather small. I like a spacious room. For two people I would say these rooms are claustrophobic. Sound proofing from adjacent rooms is non existent.

Breakfast was tasty & staff very friendly.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the Coach House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

Stayed with 7 friends for 2 nights in Jan 2012 . From when we arrived to departure the hotel staff were very helpfull and welcomed our group. The rooms are very good. Food is all so very good and nothing is to much trouble. The hotel is very clean and room have all been modernised. I would have no concerns with recomending this hotel

Room Tip: Room 3 is a litle smaller than the others
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hartnollhotel21, Owner at The Hartnoll Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Many thanks for your lovely posting on Tripadvisor. Claire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon, uk
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

6 of us (3 Couples) spent a night away at the Harnoll Lodge, Great welcome, think we the loudest group in the bar and restaurant - however - it was not a problem, everyone had fun.

Thanks to Nelson and James who kept the drinks flowing!!!

Fantastic meal, so much so, the Chef Steve joined for a glass of wine after the meal - brilliant.

Room Tip: Room 4 - super size and great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hartnollhotel21, Owner at The Hartnoll Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you for posting a lovely review on Tripadvor for us, it is really appreciated. Claire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I visited the Hartnol last night with a group of 8 friends for my 40th birthday, not to stay just to eat. We have been here quite a few times in the last 2 years and always enjoyed the occasion but last night was the best visit yet. We had a dining room to our selfs which was great, the food was as always excellent and we all had such a lovely time. The staff are all very good and make you feel very welcome, especially Nelson ( but don't call him French, he is from Portugal LOL) All of our group aim to make this a regular get together, and I personally will ensure it happens. Cannot recommend The Hartnol enough.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hartnollhotel21, Owner at The Hartnoll Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Many thanks for your review and so glad you enjoyed your evening in the restaurant. The rooms are now very good and you did have the best one! Claire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hartnoll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hartnoll Hotel

Address: Bolham, Tiverton EX16 7RA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Tiverton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tiverton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Hartnoll Hotel is nestled on the edge of the Exmoor National Park, in the delightful Exe Valley in Devon. With stunning decor, sumptuous fabrics, plenty of space to relax, eat and drink and exemplary customer service, it is the perfect place to relax with friends and family or meet with colleagues Each of the Hartnoll Hotel's 18 superior double rooms offers elegance and comfort. Our comfortable and spacious bedroom's have en-suite bathroom facilities and are fully equipped to the highest modern standards. Many enjoy spectacular countryside views. Attention to detail is the key at the Hartnoll Hotel, with Egyptian cotton sheets, plush duvets, plump fluffy towels, complimentary toiletries and luxurious toweling dressing gowns are perfect for an indulgent night of pampering. We offer a full breakfast with all our room rates, which can be taken in the conservatory, so you can sip freshly ground coffee in the warmth of Devon sunshine. Why not end your day with a glass of wine in the sitting room, where guests can sit back, relax and enjoy Devon hospitality at its best - Hartnoll style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your The Hartnoll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hartnoll Hotel Tiverton, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hartnoll Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.