We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Lunch with family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Village Inn

Village Inn
Thurlestone, England
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Pub
Restaurant details
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Birthday Lunch with family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We had a birthday lunch for my son on 21st July. We were a party of 6 and a small child. The bar an was charming especially to our grandaughter, the food was excellent and very nicely presented.Even the the chef came to check everything was okay. Would definitely recommend .

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    14
    6
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great meal, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Evening meal was absolutely first class - from when we first booked all the way through to the end of the meal. I booked by phone and the lady who took the booking (sorry I cannot remember her name) was really pleasant and helpful and introduced herself in the evening when we arrived. The meal was really good - there were four of us and we all had different steak meals, all cooked perfectly and really good cuts of meat. All the puddings were delicious and every aspect of the meal was excellent. Price was also very reasonable for 4 steaks, drinks and puddings. We had a really good evening and will certainly be back again - thank you for a great night out!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Place! Very welcoming and great food! 5*”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Absolutely love the Village of Thurlestone, have been there many times over the years. Always popped into the Pub for a drink or spot of lunch. Cannot believe some of the negative comments on here?? Arrived today for lunch and were greeted with a smile. Yes, the Inn has changed a little but still holds the character it's always had. Enjoyed a chat with the Barmen and head waiter and had a few laughs. Thanks Chris for superb food, and thanks to Danny and Andy for the chat and laughs. Hope to see you again soon.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Dinner at Village Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We are regulars at the Village inn as we have a holiday pad nearby. Last night we had a fantastic dinner , Danni and staff could not be more helpful . The Melton Mobrey chicken is superb.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A pub is all about the staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

A couple of reviews on here were none too complimentary about the staff. Maybe there has been a change because a pub is all about the staff. We eat here twice over our stay this week and had a nightcap every night while watching the footy and what a hoot. Great fun, lively atmosphere and great service and food. A special mention to Andy the trainee chef who should in fact be a stand up comic! Also Megan and Danny who are the nicest couple with a permanent smile on their face, even when Megan had to work on her birthday. We wished we lived closer and could come down more often. Well done, your hard work is much appreciated, by us anyway!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Village Inn also viewed

Thurlestone, Devon
 

Been to Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.