We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Thurlestone
|
Rental Home – 
5 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 10

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amanda J
Eye, United Kingdom
1 review
“A really comfortable home from home in beautiful surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Our group was made up of two families, just mums with five children between 12 and 17. The house was cosy and very comfortable and had every utensil known to man in the kitchen ! We even had washing up liquid, dishwasher products, washing powder, salt and pepper etc. So thoughtful.

Plenty of bathrooms and space for everyone. Beds were all clean and comfortable.

Just a 2 - 3 minute walk to the beach and the excellent beach café, and the amazing coastline to explore. Everyone we met on the beach and whilst walking were very friendly and we had lots of lovely long chats.

The views from the house were gorgeous and the highland cattle so beautiful. We would go back in a heartbeat.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 2 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The fact that we were at home as soon as we arrived
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind comments, I am so glad that you and you and your group had such a good time at Thornbrook. We will look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
pingjtr
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unhelpful”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

This property is overpriced, it looks spacious in the brochure, but the dining room is cramped and the kitchen is outdated and lacks storage space. The area outside for al fresco dining looses the sun early in the evening and is sited next to the coal bunkers. It is on several different levels with little steps which kept tripping everybody up. The key safe is far too high and was really awkward to get keys into. There was a ridiculous fuss about laundry and our duvet was too small for the bed, other duvet covers had no closures on them and were marked. On arrival the house was dusty and had cobwebs. Helpful Holidays took no interest in these issues at all! Happy enough to take your money though.

3 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
1 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 2 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 2 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
1 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: pretty area
Liked least: The house is overpriced and needs work
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 26, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with Thornbrook. It is a great shame that you did not let us know that you were unhappy whilst you were on holiday as we would have very much liked to have been given the opportunity to address some of the above issues at the time. Unfortunately it is very difficult for us to comment on such matters after the event, especially in instances such as these where there was damage caused to the property. We will however pass your comments on to the homeowner, as I am sure that they too will be sorry to hear you had cause to be disappointed. Yours sincerely HH.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$1,128
/ Week
Make Inquiry
Talk to the Manager
08431040 730
Manager
Bookings Team at Helpful Holidays (Property Manager Helpful Holidays)
08431040 730
Speaks English
Listed since : Jul 2011
Response Rate: 100 %
Calendar Updated: 42 days ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing