We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic 1980's Devon throwback” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Thurlestone Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Thurlestone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thurlestone Hotel
Save
You added Thurlestone Hotel to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Thurlestone | Nr Kingsbridge, Thurlestone TQ7 3NN, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thurlestone
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Classic 1980's Devon throwback”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Clean, well run, large family hotel. Also filled with the diamond paneled sweater brigade and their white Jags, mixed with the young "special weekend with the girlfriend" lot.
We had a large family party for a local wedding and everyone had a great time. It is classically 1980s country club feel. In other words, the decor is REALLY dated, you have to pay for WiFi, they still laughably have jacket and tie dress code in the restaurant, 10 years behind the smartest Mayfair, Knightsbridge and Chelsea fashionista restaurants.
I liked it, it was fun. Would I go back? No, it's too big an ask to get to, I'm not into golf and it was jolly bad value for money.

Room Tip: Go for a balcony room overlooking the sea, not one of the depressing back rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieBaugh, Manager at Thurlestone Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Henry Trafalgar
First and foremost, I am so glad that you and your family party had a great time and that, overall, you liked the hotel and ‘it was fun’. However, I am sorry that we’re not really your style! We don’t claim to emulate the fashionable London establishments but prefer to stick to the traditional values that our guests seem to prefer. That’s not to say that we don’t keep up to date with trends and technology, however, which can be witnessed in our ongoing refurbishment programme throughout the hotel, including our brand new Voyage Spa. The jacket rule (no ties required, by the way) in our main restaurant has been a subject of debate for quite a few years now but we bow to the views of the majority of visitors, who tell us that setting some sort of a dress code adds to their enjoyment of the overall ‘fine dining’ experience. A more relaxed atmosphere can be found in our pub next door, the Village Inn, or in the summer at our Rock Pool al fresco eating area. I am puzzled, however, by your comments about WiFi. There was no charge for use of WiFi while you were here and I am concerned as to how your charges were incurred. Perhaps you would be kind enough to call or email me so that we can try and get to the bottom of this. Incidentally, I am delighted to say that, since your visit in May, we have up-dated our WiFi system for even easier accessibility.
Once again, I am pleased you all had a good time and thank you for your feedback.
Best wishes, Julie Baugh, Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    74
    32
    13
    6
See reviews for
119
157
9
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Had actually booked table but first mistake when correct table was not actually reserved for us however this was sorted out when we arrived .Table looked clean but felt quite sticky. Sat down for food at 8.00 and not served until 9.10 but staff had apologised for delay. Our food when it arrived was absolutely delicious and cooked perfectly but we didn`t feel relaxed with our meal and felt quite rushed as staff appeared to be hurrying around and other tables were complaining about wait and their steak not being cooked correctly .Place appeared quite quiet by the time we were finally served but staff still appeared to be rushing. For 4 of us meal cost about £80 without drinks and so we really wanted to relax with our food . As I said food was really tasty and staff did apologise but probably wouldn`t eat there again unless we booked the early sitting as we didn`t enjoy the tense atmosphere at all and felt quite uncomfortable especially when other tables were complaining. Thought it would be much better service than this as we had previously had excellent service for drinks at the hotel itself but we were proved wrong and left overall quite disappointed. Spend your money elsewhere where the ambience is better and food can be enjoyed!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieBaugh, Manager at Thurlestone Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Cheseamum102,
Thank you for your review and I am so glad you enjoyed the food at the Village Inn, which is a popular alternative dining experience for hotel guests, along with our al fresco Rock Pool restaurant. I am very sorry, however, about the delays you encountered. It is no excuse, but the Village Inn does attract a lively local pub trade, in addition to lots of summer visitors, and I can only apologise on behalf of the staff, who were obviously not coping well that evening. There are lessons to be learnt and I am grateful for your feedback. I do hope you will come back again and give it another try.
Best wishes, Julie Baugh, Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed there a few times, perfect place to relax and be pampered. Fantastic room, a premier suit, with the most amazing view. Lovely pools inside and out. Lovely small spa. The staff can't do enough for you, the food and facilities are fantastic. Beautiful place, wouldn't hesitate to go again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieBaugh, Manager at Thurlestone Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear juliecallaghan69,
Thank you so much for your nice comments and I am delighted you continue to enjoy your visits to the Thurlestone. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best wishes, Julie Baugh, Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We have not long returned from a week stay at this hotel. This was our second visit and I was hoping that it was an improvement on our previous experience . Fortunately it was on the whole.
The location is excellent and this is backed up by lovely gardens and facilities which are excellent. The outdoor pool area was open for business courtesy of the unusually long period of unbroken sun and the indoor spa area is a rival for anywhere else I am sure.
The room we had was sea facing (the view at the rear can be a let down i was to learn so best check first) and the view was worth getting out of bed for , which was very comfortable as it goes. The room was clean as such but not what you would describe as luxury particularly.
The food was better this time around and the restaurant makes good use of the fine views as well. Strangely though , the meals came with minimal vegetables and on a couple of occasions the kids meals were larger than the adults portions. One thing to watch is some of the bizarre supplements on some dishes which in my view seemed harsh especially as the prices are hardly low.
Service could be a bit random and it seemed that this was down to a lack of supervisory input but I could see that efforts were ongoing to correct this. In fact all staff we encountered were very polite and helpful.
In all an enjoyable stay with all of the family content.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieBaugh, Manager at Thurlestone Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear holidayben,
I am absolutely delighted that you and your family decided to come and stay with us again and so glad you enjoyed the outdoor pool and were impressed by the new Spa. I was also pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food on this visit and please note, for future reference, that extra vegetables are always available on request. Also, you are correct that some main courses on our children’s menu may appear larger than adult portions, but we try and bear in mind that adults like to take advantage of all four courses on our menu and so we assess portion sizes to make sure guests can enjoy the full dining experience.
Thank you so much for your review and we do hope you will consider visiting us again in the future.
Best wishes, Julie Baugh, Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This was a short 3 day stay in June amidst great weather. The hotel was fairly quiet and I actually rather wished there were more people around. This did enable us to get a free room upgrade however - much appreciated. The meals were excellent, the service as good as ever & the time went all too quickly. The par 3 golf course was good fun although two holes were effectively unplayable as they are being refurbished. My only minor gripe is the expensive supplement for certain items on the hotel menu and the rather high prices charged for wines - cheapest now is £22.50 - feel you could source cheaper rather than using expensive merchants.
Overall this is a must visit hotel, one of the best of its kind in the UK so inevitably it cannot be a cheap option. I love it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieBaugh, Manager at Thurlestone Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Gereboy,
I am so pleased you had a good time and thank you very much for your kind review. We have taken on board your comments regarding the supplements and wine prices and will give these issues careful thought. We always listen carefully to feedback from our guests.
We very much look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best wishes, Julie Baugh, Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Just back from the most amazing long weekend at this beautiful hotel. We had stayed there many times - from 23 years ago - when the children were young but this was our first look at the revamped hotel. From the moment we walked in we were treated like old friends - the staff were exceptional, the food truly fine dining, and the hotel itself was just perfect. Refurbished bedrooms were wonderful and the bathrooms were gorgeous. Having stayed at some of the top hotels in the world this one is simply the best. We were there to celebrate my 60th birthday with my son bringing his 2 year old son for the first time. We love the way that generations of families keep on returning. The facilities are so good that you don't even need to leave the hotel - outdoor and indoor pool with poolside bistro. Tennis, golf, badminton, squash, and all overlooking the beautiful beach just a short stroll away. Rockpools to explore and a game of French cricket a must. A real family retreat where nothing is too much trouble. Can't wait to go back and certainly will not wait for a birthday to do so. Missing it already!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieBaugh, Manager at Thurlestone Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear LadyJ147,
Thank you so much for saying such nice things! I am so pleased that you and your family came back to see us again and delighted that you enjoyed your birthday weekend. You are right, we try hard to make a holiday at the Thurlestone enjoyable for all age groups and we, too, love to see generations of the same family come back year after year.
We do hope to see you and your family again very soon.
Best wishes, Julie Baugh, Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, East Sussex
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Wow! We hit upon this hotel by chance while looking for somewhere to stay. You see we never book anywhere when we travel in the UK! In the first instance we wanted to stay in Salcombe however, so pleased Salcombe was full as this hotel is a little gem. We had room 256 which was Sea facing on the second floor with balcony. The views were wonderful. All of the staff could not do enough for us. This was the first hotel ever that we had stayed in around the world where we got a tour of not only our room but the entire complex, what added value. Although we did not eat in the Al la Carte Restaurant in the evening we did eat at the Rockpool Bistro. The chef down there was amazing cooking us giant Prawns and then Steaks which melted in your mouth. Just as an example of Adding Value to an organisation I had noticed that on the Al la Carte Menu that evening they had Toffee Ice Cream. This wasn't mentioned on the Bistro menu but when I asked if it would be possible to have some nothing was too much trouble a young waiter who had only started work there 3 days earlier said leave it with me and I will see what we can do. Yes, you guessed it down came three scoops of Toffee Ice Cream! Thankyou to you all we will definitely be back and would recommend you to all of our friends.

Room Tip: Sea View Rooms are essential for the panoramic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieBaugh, Manager at Thurlestone Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear johnandpauline,
I am so glad Salcombe was busy and you decided to stay with us! As you know, we’re not far away and we hope that our location and leisure facilities make it possible to just stay put if you want to and enjoy a relaxing break! I am so glad you enjoyed yourselves and managed to sample the toffee ice cream, too! We try our utmost to give our guests the best possible holiday and, if there is something you want that you don’t see on offer, please don’t hesitate to ask.
Thank you so much for writing about us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best wishes, Julie Baugh, Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thurlestone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thurlestone Hotel

Address: Thurlestone | Nr Kingsbridge, Thurlestone TQ7 3NN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Thurlestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thurlestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thurlestone Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Also Known As:
Thurlestone Hotel Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thurlestone Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.