We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ashley House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Ashley House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Ashley House Bed and Breakfast
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   3 Paradise Lawn, South Molton EX36 3DJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 South Molton B&B and Inns
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“superb B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Nikkie & Jamie run a most delightful B&B, right in the centre of town. `One would need to be very very picky to find anything amiss, loved the breakfasts (sets you up for the day) with home made jams and marmalade to die for, and a great base from which to explore North Devon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
65
1
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whangamata, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Nicky and Jamie have renovated and created a lovely B&B in this former "gentleman's" residence right in the heart of the little market town of South Molton. Our room was very nice (albeit only a double bed), with good quality furnishings, beautiful bed linen, good facilities (including complimentary water, tea/coffee, biscuits, plus very nice quality shampoo/conditioner and soap and, unusually for any accommodation in the UK facecloths.) The breakfasts were plentiful with a selection of cereals and fruit salad and a full English offered each day. We chose Ashley House rather than South Molton but it turned out that both were excellent choices and we weren't disappointed. A very nice place to stay with friendly hosts.

Room Tip: We had the executive double room which has a nice outlook over the back garden however the Luxury K...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This is by far one of the best B&Bs I have ever stayed in. Nicky and Jamie are such wonderful hosts from the moment you arrive to the farewell. Informative; we were recommended a few options of restaurants on our first night with a taxi and table booked at a great gastro pub in a neighbouring village. Helpful; I lost my watch and it is winging its way back to me after being found in a rather odd place. Warm; Jamie did an excellent job of making us feel welcome at breakfast and told a couple of funny stories to wake us up. Hardworking; they deserve the praise they have received from the other write ups on here as I can’t really fault them.

Our room was immaculately clean, gorgeously decorated with a comfortable bed and Egyptian cotton sheets. The bathroom has a shower big enough for two, fluffy towels and luxurious locally sourced toiletries with smells from the countryside. They have thought of some great little touches; cotton wool pads to remove your make up (I’m sure that would have been Nicky’s idea) fresh milk in a flask on the tea tray, ground coffee and homemade chocolates…yummy!

Breakfast was superb! Fresh fruit salad, the works on the full English, yogurts, homemade jam, and cereals. It’s a feast for a king or queen.

I could not recommend Ashley House highly enough and if I’m in the area again for the weekend this B&B with the fantastic hosts will have a visit from me again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We wanted a good location to see North Devon and we got it. Stayed three nights and really enjoyed it. Nicky and Jamie are great hosts, the guest accommodation is excellent, breakfasts superb and secure parking, what more could you ask for?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Ashley House is a small, superbly run B&B set in a pleasant garden on the main street of South Molton. Jamie and Nicky are friendly, gregarious hosts who made us feel genuinely welcome - and Jamie made us laugh, too. The bedrooms are comfortable and beautifully appointed with care taken to every detail. The shower is LARGE and wonderful, and as a six foot tall American traveling in England that's worth five stars all by itself. The bed is firm and comfortable. And the full breakfast is delicious. There were local sausages and eggs from the chickens in the back garden, plus a fresh fruit salad and jam and marmalade made by Nikki's mother. You can not do better than to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I can confirm all the comments that have been already posted - Ashley House was a true 'find' !
So comfortable, spotlessly clean with superb décor, bed linen etc.
Nicky, our host, went out of her way to ensure our stay was comfortable - she succeeded!
The secure parking was a plus for us - we just parked up and took the bus to wherever we were going.
South Molton is an interesting place and we enjoyed the whole experience very much.
Would certainly recommend Ashley House and will return next time we are down that way.

Room Tip: Upstairs overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Had a fantastic stay at Ashley House. We were met by Nicky who was immediately warm and very welcoming and couldn't do enough to make sure we had a fantastic stay. Nicky and Jamie went out of their way to recommended some great places for us to eat, suggested places we might like to visit and even gave us a map of the area. The B&B itself is decorated beautifully throughout with loads of nice luxury touches and boutiquey furnishings. What I also loved was that everything was locally sourced; from the entire breakfast menu including eggs from their own chickens, to the shower gel and shampoo in the bathroom which really added to the overall experience! Needless to say, the basics that you expect from any good B&B far exceeded our expectations - spotlessly clean, top notch bed (and bedding), first rate shower and the breakfast itself was delicious! Would highly recommend a stay at Ashley House to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ashley House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashley House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 3 Paradise Lawn, South Molton EX36 3DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > South Molton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in South Molton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashley House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury, boutique Bed & Breakfast in the beautiful market town of South Molton, Devon.Set in the heart of the historic market town of South Molton, Ashley House Bed and Breakfast offers guests luxury accommodation whilst being perfectly situated to explore the beautiful countryside of North Devon and Mid Devon, Exmoor and Dartmoor National Parks and the beautiful North Devon coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Ashley House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashley House Bed And Breakfast South Molton, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashley House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.