We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Blackcock Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Molton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Blackcock Inn
Save
You added The Blackcock Inn to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Molland, South Molton EX36 3NW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 18 South Molton B&B and Inns
Rowley Regis, United Kingdom
1 review
“Enjoyable weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stopped at the Blackcock inn on the bank holiday weekend. We arrived on the Saturday night and received a pleasant welcome. We stopped in the small twin room and couldn't really fault it. Very clean and tidy, towels provided and pleanty tea (different types as well) coffee and also a couple of bottles of water which was a nice touch. Shower was excellent and powerful. We found the locals friendly and always happy to chat and offer some good local knowledge. Breakfast was lovely and was more than adequate for both of us. Beer was excellent and couldn't fault it. Hosts were friendly and made time to talk to us. Overall we were really satisfied and can only recommend that you stop here. We both said that we would come back again in the future. Lovely pub / B&B and lovely area. 10/10

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    6
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Just got back from weekend stay at the Inn and Campsite. We stayed in caravans, static vans, tents, motor homes and the b&b. Special thanks to Mick and Zene and the team for a friendly welcome in the b&b.
Why did we plan the get-together. We wanted all the cousin's together to replicate a family picture taken 50 years ago, only a few missed due to other commitments.
Devon was the chosen location and we are now thinking of making it a yearly event perhaps changing the location and ordering better weather. Great to use the place as a base for exploring other old haunts in North Devon.
Combe Martin, Ilfracombe, Mortehoe and Woolcombe and the little jem hidden away in time, Lee Bay.

Room Tip: walker and dog friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Molland is a beautiful part of the country right on the edge of Exmoor.My wife and I stayed for one night at this very cosy and welcoming inn.Mick and Zene are your hosts and cannot do enough for you.Evening meal was homemade well cooked pub food.Our room was the cheaper smaller twin bed with en-suite shower-room.Plenty of everything---room,towels,tea and coffee and mineral water.TV. and even an iron and board at the end of the hall for personal use.You can have anything you want for breakfast.We had a full English which was superb.Give this place a try you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Pleasant short stay base for walking holiday in Exmoor and North Devon coast. Room as expected small but comfortable with adequate ensuite, plenty of clean towels and tea/coffee/kettle etc provided. Easy to park. Good cooked breakfast with cereal provided. Friendly service. Good beer and tasty pub meals. Pleasant place to have a drink before bedtime. No noise disturbance at night. An all round good experience and good value for money and would stay there again either at the Inn or the adjoining campsite.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Met up with friends in this pub for an evening meal as it was half way between homes for us, and it was quite charming. The menu is basic pub style grub, but there's a good selection of specials and pies and soups in addition to the basic fare. As a couple we paid £36 for the both of us for 3 courses each and a drink each.

I didn't see the rooms, but the landlady and landlord were friendly as were the locals. Nice little pub set in beautiful countryside. There's a pool table in the back room for a bit of a diversion. I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Popped into the Blackcock Inn after a totally random diversion for lunch got there at bout 5 past 2 ( food served 12 till 2 )
We enquired at the bar if the kitchen was open and the Landlord asked the Lady cook and she said no problem
We ordered out food and it was awesome home cooked Cottage Pie and Ham, Egg & Chips the ham was cut real thick was great
Would def go back on our way home from North Devon
Many Thanks

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

What a fantastic find! The Blackcock Inn is a traditional Devon pub in a beautiful setting full of lots of olde worlde charm. Both myself and my wife are very keen walkers and to return after a long trek on the moors to a REAL log fire just topped it for us. Our evening meal was home cooked and very tasty and the staff made us feel very relaxed and welcome.The room was very clean and extremely comfy. Our only complaint was that we needed longer!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Blackcock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blackcock Inn

Address: Molland, South Molton EX36 3NW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > South Molton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in South Molton
Hotel Class:3 star — The Blackcock Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Blackcock Hotel South Molton
The Blackcock Inn South Molton, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blackcock Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.