We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B with brilliant food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fern Tor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Molton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fern Tor
Meshaw, South Molton EX36 4NA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 18 South Molton B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely B&B with brilliant food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Fern Tor is a beautiful b and b, clean, modern inside but with a traditional feel. We had the room with the en-suite lounge and the bed was massive! With lovely Faith In Nature smellies provided. The grounds are plentiful and we watched the birds feeding every morning from the dining room.
We chose Fern Tor as we wanted a veggie b&b where veggie food was the norm, rather than an optional extra, and we wern't disappointed! The breakfast had loads of choice and the standard was high. The evening meal was outstanding with huge portions, including home grown veggies. I had mains and pudding, my husband had 3 courses and we'd go back again if only to have another Fernbocker Glory- a must for all visitors!!! We also had homemade scones with homemade jam bought to our room on arrival, the scones were still warm and delicious :)

We didn't explore the grounds as the weather was a bit wet but would love to go back again. We loved it :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
21
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

1 vegan 1 veggie and 3 dogs had a wonderful week here. The food was more than plentiful and delicious. Ranging from a full cooked breakfast, pancakes, 5 different types of cereal to toasted home made bread, there truly is something for everyone.
Our hosts Jane and Cliff, could not have been more welcoming or accomodating. We had the garden room which I'm sure that when the weather is nice would be gorgeous as it leads out on to the lovely garden which is teaming with bird life. Very comfortable accommodation and a very nice en suite bathroom perfect for recovering after a hard days walking.
Location is great, under 3 miles from South Molton and as long as you have transport, can get to all the places with ease.
Would certainly recommend to friends for a peaceful relaxing break.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Near Brighton
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

We have been at Fern Tor a few times as it's so good people often return visit after visit and it's our go to place to relax and unwind. We used to take the upstairs double room with the private lounge because it's a huge room, very large comfy bed and having a separate private lounge was great. Since our last visit the owners (Cliff and Jane) have added a private lounge to the downstairs double and it also now has its own private patio area so this time we took the downstairs room. Having the outside area was perfect in the sunny weather and great to have the extra space with the private lounge. In the winter the downstairs double has a real log fire. There's a dining table too so if you don't fancy eating with the other guests you can have a private meal for two.

The dinners were very tasty and still huge portions. No-one could possibly finish the huge portions Jane cooks in the evening meal. There's a large choice at breakfast ( huge portions again) and the best veggie and vegan fried breakfast anywhere. It's excellent value for money and a great base to see all the sights. Fern Tor is so relaxed it is like staying with friends and we've already booked our next visit before we left.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This place is the best - quiet location, lovely comfortable rooms. Both double rooms are brilliant. The garden room, with its own patio, offers a lovely view of the wildlife and a direct route to the garden. Relaxed, but helpful hosts and the most delicious food. The veggie or vegan breakfasts and evening meals are enough of a reason to stay here on their own. Good portions after a day walking on Exmoor of delicious and interesting home cooking. The desserts (especially the Fernbocker Glory) are worth the trip!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We spent 4 wonderful days at Fern Tor for Easter and had a splendid time. Our Room was lovely, spotless and cozy. The Substantial evening meals were nutritious and delicious. Jane and Cliff are bright and cheerful and very accommodating and attentive.
The animals that they take care of are an absolute joy to see and some are very friendly and curious and like to get some attention. Exmoor is a beautiful part of the world to explore and Fern Tor is an excellent base to make your trips from. I would happily go back.
The cheeky pooches are hilarious and the Fern Bocker is a must.

Room Tip: The ground floor garden room has great access to the garden and animals that hang out on the hill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We spent a fantastic 4 nights at Fern Tor in October 2012. Cliff and Jane are the perfect guest house hosts, always attentive to service and there when you need them, without being pushy and over-bearing as is often the case with guest house owners. We stayed in the garden room which we found to be nice and homely as well as being spotlessly clean.

The food at Fern Tor is simply amazing and you certainly won't go hungry, from delightful scones on arrival to gargantuan veggie/vegan breakfasts, I highly recommend gym membership upon departure for stays of over a week.

A great guest house which I can highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We spent a delightful week at Fern Tor in September 2012. The house is a haven of peace located in beautiful countryside. The squirrels and the birds in the garden provide a riveting show at breakfast. Our comfortable ground-floor, en-suite room came with fresh flowers, books and its own separate sitting room and garden patio in which to relax. There was a TV in the sitting room (good if, as in our case, one person wants to stay up watching TV and the other wants to sleep) and a second TV in the bedroom. Tea and coffee were available in the room. Lots of brochures about places to go in the area, which is one of the most beautiful in the UK (we barely scratched the surface of all the things to see). The food was delicious, imaginative and varied, with very generous portions and attention to detail. Lovely bread. The evening meal is highly recommended and good value for money. Jane and Cliff are the perfect hosts. Very welcoming (we enjoyed the tea and scones on arrival), friendly with a good sense of humour, attentive to our every need and at the same time discreet (nothing like your average B&B owner !) so that one feels well looked after while enjoying total privacy. My husband, who is not completely veggie, was not made to feel uncomfortable (no "vegan police" or third degree about eating habits here !). Ideal for vegetarians and vegans, but non-veggies who would like a restful and healthful break would enjoy and feel at home in this place as well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fern Tor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fern Tor

Address: Meshaw, South Molton EX36 4NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > South Molton
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in South Molton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Fern Tor South Molton, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fern Tor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Fern Tor to your Saves list