We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hosts and beautiful location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Collaven Manor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Collaven Manor Hotel to your Saves list
Collaven Manor Hotel
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   A386, Sourton EX20 4HH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Sourton B&B and Inns
England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
238 helpful votes 238 helpful votes
“Charming hosts and beautiful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

After a disastrous start to our trip at a nearby B&B we found Collaven Manor. We were welcomed by the hosts and told our dog was welcome. Since this was a very late booking as we'd left the Knole Farm B&B after the owner went ballistic about something that waas entirely her fault and not ours, we were grateful for the warm welcome and the no hassels attitude. Our room was small but well formed with comfy beds and a beautiful outlook over the garden. We had dinner just down the road at a lovely inn then returned to Collaven and turned in for the night. What a lovely peaceful place. And a delicious breakfast, everyone smiling and beding over backwards to make our stay enjoyable. I recommend Collaven Manor to anyone wanting a relaxing night's sleep in a beautiful location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    12
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
35
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The hotel may be small, but it feels spacious, and oozes the charm and quality of a baronial hall. The rooms were spotless and well-appointed and the public rooms pleasant and comfortable. The menu was varied and tempting, and the food quality excellent. We felt really welcomed by the owners and staff, and were able to relax in a peaceful location.

One regret: we didn't stay longer! But we'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

no double bed 2 singles zipped together,uncomfortable nights sleep, I complained but no offer to change rooms or bed,but got email on my return home saying id be upgraded next time I return...no good to me now im home and would certainly not go back...rude hostess ,doors locked at 11 musky room however breakfast good ,

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne,Dorset
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I can only agree with previous reviewers, this hotel is an absolute gem. It's situated very conveniently near the A30 but just far enough to be utterly peaceful and isolated from noise, with beautiful grounds and moorland views. The atmosphere is welcoming and tranquil, public rooms and bedrooms very comfortable, tastefully decorated and furnished, and the dinners and breakfasts are truly excellent.The owners are delightful, very friendly but in an unobtrusive way. We found Collaven Manor as an overnight stop on our way to and from Cornwall, but we can't wait to return for a longer stay.

Room Tip: We had rooms 2 & 3 both of which were very spacious with newly fitted bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is a lovely hotel. Hidden away on the outskirts of Okehampton, it offers great access to the Moors. The hotel is family run, quaint and quirky but in a wonderfully comforting way. The rooms are of a high standard, the atmosphere is relaxing and the owners and staff are very welcoming. It is also dog friendly.

The food is tasty but not overly adventurous (this is merely an observation and in no way a criticism), although the cheese board is one of the best we have tasted (and we love our cheese) - and is available without any supplementary charge to the price of the meal.

If you are looking for a relaxing break, away from the every day rush, with good food and all at a very reasonable price then look no further.

Room Tip: There are only around 8 rooms, and we stayed in the one with the four poster (Room 1). The room was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
123 hotel reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

The hotel's 2 star rating does not do it justice. We found the service and room to be of a very high standard. The exposed beams and open fireplaces of the old house making a great atmosphere, and all for a reasonable price. We stayed for dinner which was also excellent. The hotel is conveniently located within a very short distance of the A30, making it a good stopover en route to/from the West Country or for visiting Dartmoor.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester UK
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed here for only one night prior to moving on to a nearby hotel with a large group of friends. What a wonderful choice. We arrived just after dark so couldn't see anything of the wonderful views and sadly because it was pouring with rain when we left, we didn't see much then either!

We were upgraded, as it was a quiet time of year for the business and had a wonderful room with four poster bed, nice furniture including window seat and two armchairs and plenty of room. The bathroom was spacious with the only snag being the lack of a proper shower. ( there is a telephone style attachment to the bath taps but no hook for it or shower curtain/screen) The hospitality tray was very good.

We enjoyed dinner in their restaurant which was very tasty and of a good standard. Bar prices are very reasonable for this type of place.

Breakfast was really delicious with fantastic bread and local produce.

The lounge is very comfortable and we spent a great evening playing chess by a lovely log burner. An added bonus for us were the three gorgeous cats.

All in all a great stay. Lovely owners and staff and a wonderful atmosphere. Fantastic old building with fantastically thick granite walls and fireplaces. If you enjoy a relaxing atmosphere and old quirky buildings you will love it. If you want sanitised glass and chrome then stay away. Will return next year hopefully

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Collaven Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Collaven Manor Hotel

Address: A386, Sourton EX20 4HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sourton
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Sourton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Collaven Manor Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Collaven Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Collaven Manor Hotel Sourton, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Collaven Manor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.