We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Pillings' wedding weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Collaven Manor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Collaven Manor Hotel to your Saves list
Collaven Manor Hotel
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   A386, Sourton EX20 4HH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Sourton B&B and Inns
Alcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Pillings' wedding weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

I can only highly recommend a week or weekend stay at this little gem set in the rolling downs of Devon also close to all points of interest. Set your self up with a great breakfast and go exploring.
The owners are pleasant and never spotted, its like having the manor to yourself for a weekend.
Cosy little bar for a night cap and excellent rooms. "Recommend room 8 dual aspect"
Safe off road parking, lovely gardens to stroll too.

Room Tip: "Recommend room 8 dual aspect" over looking the front lawns
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    12
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
35
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rangiora, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Having just got back from this lovely hotel i thought i would share our experience.

What can i say but just perfect....... We arrived slightly earlier than expected but our lovely host showed us to our room and gave us the choice of two. We opted for the one with the views over Dartmoor. The room was tastefully decorated and lovely and large. Everything was immaculately clean and the bed was very comfy.

Our host gave us a lovely walk nearby and we arranged for diner in the evening. Its the perfect location for walks and cycles, big or small.

Our food in the evening was just amazing, as was the service. Venison Strogonoff was to die for, tender meat and just lovely. All cooked on site and with love. Selection of drinks in the bar was perfect as was the choice of food on offer.

Breakfast was lovely but on a Sunday we would have liked to have had a lie in so found it very early, although in hindsight we never asked for it later. Lovely cooked breakfast. Not greasy at all.

All in all i would highly recommend. Perfect hotel, hosts and food. Looking forward to staying again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

We were passing through Dartmoor last night and needed a place to stay, knowing that we wanted to be on the west side of the moor we simply googled hotels and came across the Collaven Manor Hotel which looked ok from the internet.

The net doesn’t do the hotel justice; we arrived at night and were welcomed by the owner who was very hospitable and friendly. He showed us to our room which was warm and comfortable, not too small and in keeping with the style of the hotel. The bed was comfortable and there was plenty of informative information on the local area and the history of the property which was good to find a little more out about.

We choose to eat in the restaurant that was pleasant. I had homemade chicken pate that was very good followed by a traditional home cooked steak and potatoes that left me more than satisfied. Try the local Jail Ale if you stop here brewed by Dartmoor prison, it has a fizz but definitely quenches the thirst.

The kitchen staff were friendly and we enjoyed some time in the lounge after dinner in front of the open fire.

The following morning the shower was powerful, the shower curtain new and the bathroom clean, followed by a true English breakfast we were set for the road and headed to Lydford Gorge well worth a visit although the full walk is not open until April, it is a National Trust walk, 3 miles through the old woods to a waterfall with good birdlife.

All in all I would definitely recommend the hotel and the area.

Room Tip: Due to the position of the hotel set back from the road I would say you are safe in all the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012 via mobile

We stopped here on our way to Cornwall booking it as we left Exeter. The room was small but comfortable with a great view. Both the evening meal and breakfast were excellent with friendly service. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

We found Collaven Manor on Tripadvisor and chose it as it had such good reviews. We weren't disappointed, it was a peaceful, friendly, comfortable hotel. The staff were all friendly and made us very welcome. The food was excellent, it was a well-planned menu, not large but it was changed every day and we had no trouble finding something that we liked. It was all cooked to perfection and very tasty. Many of the vegetables were grown in the hotel gardens so nice and fresh! There was a comfortable bar to have a drink before and after dinner and we enjoyed talking to the other guests. Our room was great and had everything that we needed. The hotel was an easy drive to North Cornwall and we enjoyed a day in St Isaacs (Doc Martin’s home), Tintagel and Boscastle. The hotel is right by Dartmoor if you fancy a beautiful walk. This hotel is highly recommended, we will definitely visit them again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

Following a long drive from Luton Airport which was not helped by the summer weekend traffic, we were glad to see Collaven Manor. Jeff Mitchell, who runs the hotel with his wife Jaqui, took us to our delightful room. A little later while relaxing with two pints of the excellent local brew 'Jail Ale' we took in the atmosphere. And what an atmosphere! Timber beams, four-poster beds and as the light faded we could see the gardens through the quaint windows. Next morning we ordered breakfast from an extensive menu and took our time in the beautiful breakfast room. Jeff was on hand along with Jody and other friendly staff; with the 'inside track' on what to do and see nearby and further afield. We spent three super nights here; the hotel is a great base for exploring Devon/Cornwall on various day trips. On our last night we ate in the hotel's restaurant - a great move, we dined on locally-produced, fresh food, beautifully prepared, all washed washed down with more 'Jail Ale' + a glass or two of vino from their excellent wine list. A great stay, 10 out of 10!
Robert Mullan Liz Russell www.robertmullan.com

Room Tip: Not all the guest bedrooms have wi-fi so check before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croxley Green, Hertfordshire, England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

This is an old farm house that has over the years been turned into a manor house. It looks beautiful from the outside and the surrounding grounds are lovely. Inside the decor is old fashioned but very clean and very comfortable. The rooms are well appointed and are again very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful. This is an old building so there is no lift and the shower water pressure is not great. However there is a real charm about this place and if you are willing to overlook very minor irritations then this is an outstanding place to stay. The breakfast is excellent and we dined in twice and really enjoyed the food. For those who want to explore Dartmoor and return to a quiet comfortable hotel then I can thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Collaven Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Collaven Manor Hotel

Address: A386, Sourton EX20 4HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sourton
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Sourton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Collaven Manor Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Collaven Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Collaven Manor Hotel Sourton, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Collaven Manor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.