We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an interesting pub.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Highwayman Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sourton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Highwayman Inn
Save
You added The Highwayman Inn to your Saves list
Sourton EX20 8HN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Sourton B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Queensland
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
133 hotel reviews
Reviews in 145 cities Reviews in 145 cities
300 helpful votes 300 helpful votes
“What an interesting pub.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This pub is indescribable; externally and especially internally. It is just bizarre - architecturally and in terms of fittings and furniture. It has all these nooks and crannies, little rooms and hidden holes. It has coins and notes forced into crevices in various bits of furniture and the bar (made from wood recovered from a bog). It has a massive set of bellows with legs converted into a table. It has skulls, stuffed animals, lamps, tools and all sorts of ornaments. And lots more. Indescribable - it has to be seen to be believed!
We had a drink in the bar (a pint for me and a Pimm's and lemonade for the Mrs). I took some photos and dropped some coins in the plate for the privilege. We had a chat to Bruce behind the bar and to the couple of couples that came in. One couple were staying in the pub for a few nights and had stayed before, so obviously enjoyed it, They spoke highly of the breakfasts. Frankly, we had intended to come in just for one drink, and found that we were enjoying ourselves so much that we had a second drink.
I'm looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally T, Owner at The Highwayman Inn, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for nice comments about our inn. Hope to see you again.

Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    13
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
36
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beaworthy, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This is our very favourite pub. We have stayed in the cottage over the road as well as downed many a pint over the years.
You simply have to pop in at least once as I can't imagine that there is any other pub like it.
Sally & Bruce have put on some wicked Halloween events. Look out for them and make sure that you dress appropriately.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally T, Owner at The Highwayman Inn, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for nice comments about our inn. Hope to see you again.

Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This is a place you must go. A 12th century Inn with a difference. Sally and Bruce are so wonderful and ready to serve you. The food there is wonderful, cooked by Bruce and drinks by Sally.

There is history in every area and you must allow yourself time to look around at all the nooks and crannies and feel the atmosphere everywhere you go. Well recommended. When we go down to Devon, this is usually our first stop and we feel like part of the family.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally T, Owner at The Highwayman Inn, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for nice comments about our inn. Hope to see you again.

Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

We found Bruce and Sally very friendly and welcoming. A labour of love to to keep it clean an tidy. We stayed two nights having a meal cooked by Bruce on the evening we arrived which was very good. We will be returning with friends to stay again.
Rosy & Graham.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally T, Owner at The Highwayman Inn, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you for your kind words concerning our inn. Just wanted to show our appreciation for all your positive feed back as it means a lot to Bruce and I. I also hope to see you again.

Sallyx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Just to note I've not stayed here, was just passing and stopped for Lunch on the way back from the moors camping.

What an amazing pub though, a real labour of love and completely original, every corner is stuffed full of strange objects and it's like a small maze to walk around.

Food wise had a Lamb, Chorizo and Chick Pea Pie which was very good, Kids had the same and liked it.

Had a pint of real ale which was v good also.

If you passing, I highly recommend a visit, makes a change from all the bland chain pubs around these days

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally T, Owner at The Highwayman Inn, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you for your kind words concerning our inn. Just wanted to show our appreciation for all your positive feed back as it means a lot to Bruce and I. I also hope to see you again.

Sallyx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The first time we were taken to the Highwayman by friends is over 30 years ago and was owned by Sally's parents Rita and Buster. My first impression (and they are still today) was amazement! You have to see this pub to believe it , pictures do not give you the the whole story.

To the previous owners it was a labour of love to create this unique experience (I do mean unique) , it must be the most unusual pub in the southwest and probably the whole country! With its quirky bars and very friendly hosts and loverly food etc, I have never staid there but the accommodation looks equally unique.

So in summing up if your near by don't hesitate go on in through the front door! a stage coach I kid you not for an experience of a life time.

Ps all the friends I have taken there over the years were amazed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally T, Owner at The Highwayman Inn, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you for your kind words concerning our inn. Just wanted to show our appreciation for all your positive feed back as it means a lot to Bruce and I. I also hope to see you again.

Sallyx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

After a morning walk around a reservoir on Dartmoor we decided to find somewhere for a drink. The Highwayman had been mentioned as "one to see". The website showed they closed at 2pm so I rang them and Bruce said he'd be happy to stay open for us. When we arrived, he greeted us with "Are you the lady that phoned?". We had soft drinks and coffees and spent an hour or so exploring the different bars and chatting to Bruce and one of his locals. We would definitely return as we found a very warm welcome at the Highwayman!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally T, Owner at The Highwayman Inn, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you for your kind words concerning our inn. Just wanted to show our appreciation for all your positive feed back as it means a lot to Bruce and I. I also hope to see you again.

Sallyx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Highwayman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Highwayman Inn

Address: Sourton EX20 8HN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sourton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Sourton
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Highwayman Inn Sourton, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Highwayman Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.