We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow just wow” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Coast View Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shaldon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coast View Holiday Park
Save
You added Coast View Holiday Park to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Torquay Rd, Shaldon TQ14 0BG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Shaldon
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wow just wow”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

As you could see from my previous reviews I loved this holiday park for my kids but unfortunately we didn't experience the same this time. On arrival at coast view we were "greeted" by the receptionist with a very snotty hello and generally spoken down to which after traveling with two young kids that was the last thing I expected. Then when we got to our chalet it was very tired looking didn't look like any decorating had been done and was very unclean. Was very unhappy about this but didn't feel I could got to reception to say with out being spoken down to again. We tried to visit the animals and dandelion the pony to find it has been all fenced of which upset our youngest cause that was all she had talked about on the way down. The whole site didn't look like anyone took any time to tidy anything up litter everywhere and paint peeling off out side walls. Building materials like a big sheet of wood was left out side the kids indoor play area as well. Generally glad to come home was a huge dissapontment the park has lost it warm friendly family feel and just feels tired and uncared for now. And to top it all off found out at the end of our stay our "welcome" was from the manager so no wonder the staff are all miserable to talk to. We will not be returning to coast view. We are sorry that but it has lost its sparkle

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastViewHolidayPark, Manager at Coast View Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post another review and were naturally sorry to hear you didn’t fully enjoy your stay under our new ownership. We always strive to meet the expectations of our guests and apologise if there were some shortcomings during your recent holiday.

The animals and the area of land they occupy belong to the previous owners and are no longer part of the park - we understand the disappointment this may have brought to your children.

All our staff are fully committed to ensuring guests have an enjoyable holiday and our experienced management team are always on hand to assist with any problems or queries guests may have during their stay. We do hope you will return to us again in the future to experience our ongoing investment and improvements. Please contact us directly if you have any further concerns about booking for next year, and we will be happy to discuss these with you.

With kindest regards, Coast View Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    18
    19
    10
    15
See reviews for
66
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

We've been to Coast View for the last two summers and are booked in for our third this year. We found it to be a great base, not too far to drive from Yorkshire (5/6 hours with caravan in tow) and even makes a great holiday for our teenage daughter (even if you doesn't admit it!!)!

The views are fantastic, staff always helpful and welcoming and the Music Festival in July/August is just great.

Must admit, we've been lucky so far with the weather and it is a little bit of paradise in Sunny Old Blighty!

Plenty of lovely walks and pubs in Shaldon - it is just like a chocolate box village and yet so near to Teignmouth on the ferry and Torquay - all easily accessible via public transport and/or taxi which is not too expensive.

We've had memorable holidays the last two years and hope to repeat the same again this Summer.

Room Tip: We had a tourer but we advise booking in The Triangle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastViewHolidayPark, Manager at Coast View Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate your passion for our park, our staff, our facilities and service - as well as the beauty and attraction of the local area. We look forward to seeing you all again this summer. You are right - it really is the place to go! With kind regards, The Coast View Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Just stayed for a week end break in one of the static caravans , very happy , Caravan itself was new & very clean with 2 very welcome electric fires. Camp site was amazing with loads to do for the kids , Pool , play area indoor , and amazing out doors play areas.
Staff all very polite & eager to help .
View's were as they are in the brochure pictures amazing !
Didn,t sample the evening entertainment so cant comment.

Will be back

Room Tip: Built on the side of the hill , so steep , but all areas seam to have a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastViewHolidayPark, Manager at Coast View Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
We really appreciate your positive feedback. Great to hear you were pleased with the accommodation and facilities as we strive to meet the expectations of our guests. Thank you also for your kind comments about our staff who are all fully committed to ensuring everyone has a great holiday. And yes, our views are amazing, aren’t they! We look forward to seeing you back here soon. Kind regards, the Coast View Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

We visited this park from 26th march til 30th march.We have visited the park several times we were totally disappointed.It was like a building site,the chalet was run down.The shower didn't work,windows didn't lock the shower and toilet leaked onto the floor.When the cold tap was used dirty water came out.Everything was worn out.When we reported the problems they sent a man who ran the shower for 10 minutes and said it was normal his idea of normal was of a poor standard like the rest of the park.When the staff left in the evening there was no contact number should another problem arise.
When we got home we complained by e-mail the first was ignored and they had to be reminded.Eventually they replied this was a total brush off and they did not respond to any of the problems mentioned.On the whole the park is run down so is the accomadation and the staff have very little interest in the problems.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastViewHolidayPark, Manager at Coast View Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. As you are aware, the Park did not re-open fully until 31st March. However, we offered accommodation to guests who wanted to stay with us before that date on the understanding that the Park was undergoing last minute plans & prepartaions before opening fully under new ownership, and that some services and facilities would not be available during the time of their stay. We always respond in a timely manner to correspondence from our guests and we welcome comments and feedback. Although the vast majority of our guests experience a first class holiday at Coast View Holiday Park, we are aware that there are occasions when we do not quite meet expectations, and apologise if this has been the case. Thank you for the time taken with your correspondence. With Kind Regards, The Coast View Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

This site now has new management. They are currently still improving and updating. We have been coming here a few years and stay on the chalet at the front overlooking the sea. Wonderful views. Swimming pool looks out over the sea too. This site is goin to be great when the changes are done. We can't wait to come back. Great for the kids.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastViewHolidayPark, Manager at Coast View Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 14, 2012
Thank you for your encouraging review. As a guest who has been holidaying at Coast View for a few years we are really pleased to hear that you can already see and appreciate the improvements we are making under the new ownership. We are committed to our long-term development plans and there are exciting times ahead for all our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

My fiancée and I stayed at Coast view from Monday 9th April to Friday 13th April 2012.
The condition of our chalet which was a Cockleshell chalet was unbelievable.
The problems with the chalet are:
• Shaver light hanging off wall in bathroom.
• Toilet seat looks like it’s never been replaced and has a foot missing.
• Toilet cistern is two different colours where it is so old.
• Damp in the bottom corners of the bathroom walls.
• Mould around the shower tray.
• Mould on the shower curtain.
• Shower head is too heavy for the bracket and keeps falling forward and down when the shower is used (this was reported to reception on the Tuesday of our stay, but not rectified).
• Bathroom floor broken.
• Screw holding be framework to the wall not properly fixed / coming away from wall.
• Fridge door rusty on the outside.
• Fridge carcase also rusty where the door closes causing the fridge to leave wet on the kitchen floor as it doesn’t seal properly.
• Gaps in the kitchen floor laminate floor.
• Cooker wiring not fixed to the wall.
• Kettle is not clean inside.
• Broken ceiling lampshades.
• Swimming pool did not look very clean, brown by filter at side of pool.
• Musty smell in the chalet throughout our stay.
• Discovered on the Thursday night before our return home the bottom of the mattress and sheet were soaking wet, on closer inspection the mattress is on a PVC type base, causing the mattress to sweat, which made the bed feel damp (we put it down to the bedding feeling cold initially).
We believe the numerous reasons above make the chalet not fit for purpose and it should not be classed as habitable.
We complained on Friday at the time of checking out, to be advised the manager was in a meeting, so we advised we would not leave until we seen them, the Manager Helen, then came to reception, but sent Paula from Housekeeping to look at the chalet.
The manager did not seem very interested at all in the problems we had to put up with during our stay, all in all Coast View standards fall well below what anyone should expect to have to put up with for a holiday, Coast View should be paying their guests to stay in these chalets and not the guests having to pay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastViewHolidayPark, Manager at Coast View Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. It would appear we were not fully informed about the shortcomings in your accommodation until checking out on departure when you brought to our attention the problem with the mattress which you noticed the previous evening. This being a housekeeping issue, it was indeed assessed and investigated by our Head Housekeeper, as would be our usual practice. We agreed a problem with the mattress had been identified, and I personally apologised to you for any inconvenience this had caused you the previous evening.
Although the vast majority of our customers experience a first class holiday at Coast View Holiday Park, there are occasions when we do not quite meet expectations, and for this we apologise. We will endeavour to meet future expectations and trust you will return to us in the future to experience our ongoing investment and improvements. With Kind Regards, Helen and the Coast View Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torpoint, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Just returned from Coast View Holiday Park on Saturday 7th April, having stayed a week in a 3 bed chalet, named Seahorse? Not sure why these chalets are given silly names - A, B, C etc is simpler.
This was our first visit to Coast View, booked last minute so we have no previous opinion of the previous owners efforts. We were pleasantly surprised with the accomodation and the sea views watching the sunrise from our balcony was a great uplifting experience. The swimming pool was adequete, pity their were'nt any mattresses to go on the sunbeds around the pool though. The clubhouse was very nice and a great improvement on the building site we saw 2 weeks earlier (we came for a quick peek but there was a refit in progress.) The comments by the earlier reviewer regarding the basic seating and cheap looking plastic table and chairs we valid and dissappointing. However, the staff were brilliant and did their best to be helpful. The club Manageress did explain that the owner had been let down by his furniture supplier and the table and chairs were a last minute substitute. Had I arrived a little later in the season, I probably would see a more comfortable seating arrangements.

If you decide to come in the early or late season, I do recommend upgrading to 3 bed chalet. As a family of 4 we did not really need 3 bedrooms. However, the extra space was a bonus and you get a bigger balcony, bigger living space and central heating (which we needed in the cold nights.) If the new management can afford it, possibly a rethink on the dishwasher (which we used once,) to be replaced by a washing machine which is much more practical.
Overall, we had a great time and enjoyed days out at Paignton Zoo, The Paignton and Dartmouth Steam Railway, nearby Teignmouth and beautiful Dawlish. On the one drab day, a shopping and fun park day was had at nearby Trago Mills, Stover near Newton Abbot.

If asked, we would definitely consider coming back again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastViewHolidayPark, Manager at Coast View Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, Great to hear you had a good week with us at Coast View and that you were pleased with the chalet you upgraded to. Your stay with us was the first week of season under new ownership and despite being let down by a couple of suppliers, we had a great start to the season. We have received encouraging and constructive feedback such as your own for which we are grateful. We are committed to our long term plans and developments and really look forward to you coming back to us in the future so you can experience these exciting changes. With kind regards, The Coast View Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coast View Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast View Holiday Park

Address: Torquay Rd, Shaldon TQ14 0BG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Shaldon
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Shaldon
Hotel Class:4 star — Coast View Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Park ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coast View Holiday Park Hotel Shaldon
Coast View Holiday Park Shaldon, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coast View Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.