We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average caravan park In beautiful Coastal area” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Coast View Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shaldon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coast View Holiday Park
Save
You added Coast View Holiday Park to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Torquay Rd, Shaldon TQ14 0BG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Shaldon
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Average caravan park In beautiful Coastal area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Good location if you have car ,lovely area out and about easy to get to Torquay , dawlish, brixham lots to see and do out and about. Caravan facilities average, pool open daily club and entertainment poor even if you like bingo , crazy golf on site children's assault course , but beware you arrive before 4pm no keys until four due to cleaning however caravan needed cleaning

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    18
    19
    10
    15
See reviews for
66
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

heya everyone ive been going to coast view for 17 years and never had a bad experiance, all the staff are very warm and welcoming and the views are amazing! This year being 27 i took a trip back with my parents and little brothers and my own daughter and this year by far has been the best year, if u have kids its ideal with the park, pets corner, pool, crazy golf the list goes on! The highlight for my 2 year old daughter was the entertainment team, Leanne, Stu and Lorna (lets not forget Dippy and Dizzy the friendly fun Dinosaurs) the are amazing with the kids with kids club in the morning with arts and crafts and other fun activities and again in the evening with party dances and games (my little loved it) the ents team are not just great with the kids they provide excellant adult time as well at night in the clubhouse with bingo, fun adult games and amazing singing :) I can only hope when we no doubt go back next year it will be the same ents team because they were definately one of the highlights of our stay... :)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

We arrived on 10/06/2011, after a long drive down from Yorkshire. We received a very good welcome from the reception staff. The tent pitch we were allocated was up at the top of the site, just before the casual pitches. This looked great on arrival....but when we started to put up the tent our problems started, the ground was very hard after apparent little rain, but also the pegs only went in a couple of inches before hitting very hard ground and we bent lots of pegs and eventually had to drive round to buy more, after eventually getting the tent up, we started to relax a little after being very stressed. Worse was to come Saturday night when storm force winds and torrential rain started in the night, this continued into Sunday and several other campers packed up and left, despite our utility tent being battered and blown down, we decided to try and weather the storm, but after we were hit by another tent which was blown away whilst the owners were trying to pack up, we started to worry for the safety of ourselves and two children. We went down to the reception and they very quickly sorted out a caravan for the night ( at an extra cost), the staff were very helpful and sympathetic. On Monday we decided to stay on in the caravan as the weather forecast was not too great. Again the staff in reception were very helpfull and sorted this out for us enabling us to stay in the caravan we had used overnight... so we paid up the extra cash to stay on.
We are all glad we stayed on, the entertainment staff, Stu, Lorna and Leanne were excellent with our kids for the all fortnight. Steve the chef at the Captains table and his staff were also very friendly and i can reccomend his meals, especially the breakfast and Sunday roast. The bar staff were good and the bar prices for a holiday site were very reasonable. there is also a photographer in the bar 3 days a week, he is very good. A quick plug for the Funky Giraffe cafe in Teignmouth as well.
I can say after we all eventually settled down after the first few days, the long trip was worth it.....would we return?.....a definite YES, but not to the camping fields... if you do decide to pitch your tent here, rock pegs are definitely needed.
Gary and Dawn

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Been too many parks but this is one of the best ,staff were helpful and polite, nothing was too much trouble pity its on an incline would not recommend for disabled will return

Room Tip: Phone before traveling
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

We came here on a last minute holiday for a long weekend and were very very happily surprised!! We had one of the caravans, which was huge and immaculate. It was kitted out with everything we needed, including extra blankets and pillows. The onsite facilities are clean and in very good condition and the staff were all really friendly and polite. The entertainment and evening events were brilliant and professional. the views are stunning and luckily was pure sunshine so took full advantage of all the local attraction with our daughter. There are plenty of things to do in the surrounding area, as I am pregnant with a toddler, long journeys was the last thing we wanted so it really was the perfect long weekend. We will be returning again and have highly recommended it to friends and family. A hidden gem !

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

We booked a last minute break here for the Easter week (Mon 25th - Fri 29th) and stayed in one of the Starfish chalets. When I say last minute I mean last minute - we didn't actually book it until the morning of the 25th so we got it for a very good price. We had no idea what to expect having never been to this park before but when we arrived we were very pleasantly surprised.

The views from the park were fantastic and our chalet was clean, spacious and had everything we needed including a dishwasher, flat screen tv plus central heating throughout. It even had its own private, decked patio with a stunning view of the sea.

You can walk down into Shaldon from the park which is one of the reasons we chose it, often holiday parks are stuck in the middle of nowhere and you have to drive everywhere. Its a pleasant downhill walk through the golf course opposite and the views are amazing but its a challenge walking back up as the hill is quite steep.

Shaldon is a lovely little place with some good pubs, and a very picturesque village green. I would recommend taking the boat over to Teignmouth which is a also a very nice place to explore.

We didn't try out the pool or club on site but the playarea was great and the pets corner was nice for kids. Fortunately we had fantastic weather all week which only highlighted the stunning scenery but we wouldn't hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

we have just got back today from coast view after having an amazing week after reading some bad reviews about this site we were a little apprehensive about going but as soon as we arrived and we saw our chalet the worries vanished the chalet was immaculate the views were stunning the site was well maintained that night we went to the clubhouse for the family entertainment and the childrens entertainers were fabulous lorna leanne and stuart made our 5 year olds holiday we are definatly going back soon thank you coast view x

Room Tip: get there soon
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coast View Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast View Holiday Park

Address: Torquay Rd, Shaldon TQ14 0BG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Shaldon
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Shaldon
Hotel Class:4 star — Coast View Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Park ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coast View Holiday Park Hotel Shaldon
Coast View Holiday Park Shaldon, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coast View Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.